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Public Utility Commission of Texas

TO:

FROM:

DATE:

CC:

Memorandum

Central Records
David Skawin, Legal Division
January 10, 2025

Docket No. 56918 — Application of MSEC Enterprises, Inc. for a Pass-through
Rate Change

jmauldin@lglawfirm.com; smiller@lglawfirm.com

As required by the Notice of Approval filed in Docket No. 56918 on January 3, 2025, please find

attached a clean copy of MSEC Enterprises, Inc.’s water tariff for Certificate of Convenience and

Necessity No. 12887. The attached tariff supersedes the previous above-named water tariff, which

may be removed from the tariff book.

All parties to Docket No. 56918 have been copied on this memo.



WATER UTILITY TARIFF
Tariff Control No. 56918

MSEC Enterprises, Inc. P.O. Box 970
{Utility Namc) {Business Address)
Navasota, Texas 77868-0970 (936) 825-5100
(City, State, Zip Code) {Area Code/Telephone)

This tariff ts effective for utility operations under the following Certificate of Convenience and
Necessity:

12887
This tariff is effective in the following counties:

Grimes and Monteomery

This tariff 1s effective in the following cities or unincorporated towns (if any):
None
This tariff is effective in the following subdivisions or systems:

See Attached List

TABLE OF CONTENTS
The above utility lists the following sections of its tariff (if additional pages are needed for a
section, all pages should be numbered consecutively):

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE ....ccooiiiiiiiiiciinncn i 2
SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES......ccccovviviiiiinieieccierine e 5
SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY oot 12

APPENDIX A -- DROUGHT CONTINGENCY PLAN
APPENDIX B -- SAMPLE SERVICE AGREEMENT
APPENDIX C -- APPLICATION FOR SERVICE
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'SUBDIVISION.. ~ | .PWSID
S S ‘NUMBER -
Capitol Hills 1700638
Crown Oaks 1700638
Crown Ranch 1700781
Grand Lakes Estates 1700638
Highland Ranch 1700638
Hills of Montgomery 1700638
Lake Forest Lodge 1700638
Lake Forest Lodge South 1700638
Legacy Creek Estates 1700638
Lakeview 1700638
Oaklawn Estates 1700638
Old Kentucky Farms 1700638
Montgomery Trace 1700638
Ridge Lake Shores 1700638
Stillwater Estates 1700677
Vaileywood Acres 1700638
Woodforest 1700638
Woodforest Golf Course 1700638
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 2
(Utility Namc)

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE

Section 1.01 - Rates

Meter Size Monthly Minimum Charge Gallonage Charge*

5/8” or 3/4” $33.00 (Includes 0 gallons all meters) $3.23 per 1000 gallons, 1% 10,000 gallons
17 $56.00 $3.45 per 1000 gallons, next 10,000 gallons
1" $200.00 $3.70 per 1000 gallons over 20,000 gallons
2” $320.00
3" $375.00

Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District (GCD)uvveiviviiiiiiviiiin i, *$0.09 per 1000 gallons

*(Pass through fees reduced by $0.03, from $0.12 to $0.09 effective January 1, 2020, inclusive of MSEC’s
line loss factor) (Tariff Control No. 50459)

San Jacinto River Authority (STRA) ..o, *$2.50 per 1000 gallons
*(For all subdivisions except Crown Ranch and Stillwater Estates. The pass through fees are
adjusted for line loss and true-up) (Tariff Control No. 56918)

Bluebonnet Groundwater Conservation IDHStHCt ..., *$0.05 per 1000 gallons
*(For Crown Ranch Subdivision only) (Tariff Control No. 48657)

Federal Tax Change Credit Rider

Meter Size Elfective Effective
May 1, 2019 — December 31, 2019 January 1, 2020

5/8” ($2.54) ($1.27)
3/47 ($3.80) ($1.90)

1 ($6.34) ($3.17)

1" ($12.68) ($6.33)

27 ($20.28) ($10.13)

3 ($38.03) ($18.99)

(Docket No, 48872)

FORM OF PAYMENT: The utility will accept the following forms of payment:

Cash X , Check _X , Money Order_X |, Credit Card_X , Other (specify)
THE UTILITY MAY REQUIRE EXACT CHANGE FOR PAYMENTS AND MAY REFUSE TQ ACCEPT PAYMENTS
MADE USING MORE THAN $1.00 IN SMALL COINS. A WRITTEN RECEIPT WILL BE GIVEN FOR CASH
PAYMENTS

REGULATORY ASSESSMENT L. s 1.0%

PUC RULES REQUIRE THE UTILITY TO COLLECT A FEE OF ONE PCRCENT OT THE RETAIL MONTHLY BILL
AND TO REMIT THE FEE TO THE TCEQ.

Section 1.02 - Miscellaneous Fees

TAP FEE o s $1.200.00
TAP FEE COVERS THE UTILITY'S COSTS FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR TO INSTALL A STANDARD
RESIDENTIAL 5/8" or 3/4" METER. AN ADDITIONAL FEE TQO COVER UNIQUE COSTS IS PERMITTED IT

LISTED ONTHIS TARIFE PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS
. APPROVED
Tariff Control No. 56918
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tarift Page No. 3
(Utility Name)

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (CONTINUED)

TAP FEE {UNIQUE COBES) .ooeiiniiiiiiiitiririecitiesciiet st tnanc e niieentsesnearaas stsr e s aesanesaesanrnasnneeaas Actual Cost
FOR EXAMPLE, A ROAD BORE FOR CUSTOMERS OUTSIDE OF SUBDIVISIONS OR RESIDENTIAL AREAS.

TAP FEE (LAIZ8 MELET) ..ottt sttt nnenacsae e nne e Actual Cost
TAP FEE 1S THE UTILITY'S ACTUAL COST FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR FOR METER SIZE INSTALLED.

METER TEST FEE ...t sttt sad s s $25.00
THLS FEE WHICH SHOULD REFLECT THE UTILITY’S COST MAY BE CHARGED IF A CUSTOMER REQUESTS
A SECOND METER TEST WITHIN A TWO-YEAR PERIOD AND THE TEST INDICATES THAT THE METER 18
RECORDING ACCURATELY THL FEE MAY NOT EXCEED $25.

RECONNECTION FEE
THE RECONNECT FEE MUST BE PAID BEFORE SERVICE CAN BE RESTORED TO A CUSTOMER WHO HAS
BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS (OR OTHER REASONS LISTED UNDER SECTION 2 0
OF THIS TARIFF):

a) Non-payment of bill (Maximum $25.00)....cc.occoveiiiiii $25.00
b) Customer's request that service be disconnected .........ocooeviiiininnn $25.00
TRANSFER FEE ..ottt ettt ettt st st e et e e $25.00

THE TRANSFER FEE WILL BE CHARGED FOR CHANGING AN ACCOUNT NAME AT THE SAME SERVICE
LOCATION WHEN THE SERVICE 1S NOT DISCONNECTED.

LATE CHARGE (EITHER $5.00 OR 10% OF THE BILL}........cccocciiinininnin e 10%
PUC RULES ALLOW A ONE-TIME PENALTY TO BE CHARGED ON DELINQUENT BILLS. A LATE CHARGE
MAY NOT BE APPLIED TO ANY BALANCE TO WHICH THE PENALTY WAS APPLIED IN A PREVIOUS

BILLING.

RETURNED CHECK CHARGE ... $25.00
RETURNED CHECK CHARGES MUST BE BASED ON THE UTILITY =S DOCUMENTABLE COST.

CUSTOMER DEPOSIT RESIDENTIAL (Maximum $50) ..o $50.00

COMMERCIAL & NON-RESIDENTIAL DEPOSIT .......... 1/6TH OF ESTIMATED ANNUAL BILL

GOVERNMENTAL TESTING, INSPECTION AND COSTS SURCHARGE:
WHEN AUTHORIZED IN WRITING BY TCEQ AND AFTER NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS, THE UTILITY MAY
INCREASE RATES TO RECOVER INCREASED COSTS FOR INSPECTION FEES AND WATER TESTING [16 TAC
§ 24.25(b)(2)(G)]

LINE EXTENSION AND CONSTRUCTION CHARGES:
REFER TO SECTION 3.0--EXTENSION POLICY FOR TERMS, CONDITIONS, AND CHARGES WHEN NEW
CONSTRUCTION IS NECESSARY TO PROVIDE SERVICE

FUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS
AFPROVED
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MSEC Enterprises. Inc. Water Tarift Page No. 4
{Utility Name)

SECTION 1.0 - RATE SCHEDULE (Continued)
PURCHASED WATER AND/OR DISTRICT FEE PASS THROUGH CLAUSE:

Changes in fees imposed by any non-affiliated third party water supphier or underground water
district having jurisdiction over the Utility shall be passed through as an adjustment to the water
gallonage charge according to the following formula:

R=G/(1-L)

Where:

R = the proposed pass-through rate;

G = the new gallonage charge (per 1,000 gallons) by source supplier;

L = the actual line loss for the preceding 12 months, not to exceed 15%.

The SJRA pass-through fee is based on blended surface water and ground water at different
costs per 1,000 gallons. MSEC is required to annually true up amounts paid for SIRA charges
to amounts charged to customersover the true up period from June 1 through May 31. The true
up adjustment should be filed by June 30 following the true up period. The resulting over or
under charge shall be rolied into the rates to be charged for the next true up period. In the event
that system line loss exceeds 15% and is not justified as reasonable and necessary by the utility,
recovery of line loss will be limited to 15% and will not be recovered through the true up
process. The true-up must be calculated using the following formula:

AG = [(AGp * p%) + (AGs ¥ s%)] + TU

Where:

AG = adjusted gallonage charge, rounded to nearest one cent

AGp = adjusted gallonage charge for SJRA Pumpage and Import Fee

p% = cumulative total permitted gallns pumped divided by cumulative total permitted gallons
AGs = adjusted gallonage charge for SIRA Surface Water Fee

s% = cumulative total permitted surface water divided by cumulative total permitted gallons
TU = previous true-up amount + § paid to SJRA - § billed to customers) divided by previous
12 months' total cumulative gallons

FEDERAL TAX CHANGE CREDIT RIDER (FTCCR):

The Federal Tax Change Credit Rider gives effect to the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, which
changed the federal corporate tax rate from 35% to 21%, by reducing the cost of service paid by
customers taking service under this rate tariff. The FTCCR will provide credits to customers taking
service under this rate tariff.

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 3
{Utility Name)

SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES

The utility will have the most current Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUC or Commission)
Rules, Chapter 24, available at its office for reference purposes. The Rules and this tarift shall be
available for public inspection and reproduction at a rcasonable cost. The latest Rules or
Commission approved changes to the Rules supersede any rules or requirements in this tariff.

Section 2.01 - Application for Water Service

All applications for service will be made on the utility's standard application or contract form
(attached in the Appendix to this taritf), will be signed by the applicant, any required fees (deposits,
reconnect, tap, extension fees, etc. as applicable) will be paid and easements, if required, will be
granted before service is provided by the utility. A separate application or contract will be made for
each service location.

Section 2.02 - Refusal of Service

The utility may decline to serve an applicant until the applicant has complied with the regulations
of the regulatory agencies (state and municipal regulations) and for the reasons outlined in the PUC
Rules. In the event that the utility refuses to serve an applicant, the utility will inform the applicant
in writing of the basis of its refusal. The utility i1s also required to inform the applicant that a
complaint may be filed with the Commission.

Section 2.03 - Fees and Charees & Easements Required Before Service Can Be Connected

(A) Customer Deposits

If a residential applicant cannot establish credit to the satisfaction of the utility, the applicant may
be required to pay a deposit as provided for in Section 1.02 - Miscellaneous Fees of this tariff. The
utility will keep records of the deposit and credit interest in accordance with PUC Rules.

Residential applicants 65 years of age or older may not be required to pay deposits unless the
applicant has an outstanding account balance with the utility or another water or sewer utility which
accrued within the last two years.

Nonresidential applicants who cannot establish credit to the satisfaction of the utility may be
required to make a deposit that does not exceed an amount equivalent to one-sixth of the estimated
annual billings.

Refund of deposit. I service is not connected, or after disconnection of service, the utility will
promptly refund the customer's deposit plus accrued interest or the balance, if any, in excess of the
unpaid bills for service furnished. The utility may refund the deposit at any time prior to termination
of utility service but must refund the deposit plus interest for any residential customer who has paid
18 consecutive billings without being delinquent.

(B) Tap or Reconnect Fees
A new customer requesting service at a location where service has not previously been provided

FUBLIG WTILATY OOVMESIONCF THERRE
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc., Water Tarniff Page No. 6
{Utihty Name)

SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued)

must pay a tap fec as provided in Section 1. A customer requesting service where service has
previously been provided must pay a reconnect fee as provided in Section 1.

Any applicant or existing customer required to pay for any costs not specifically set forth in the rate
schedule pages of this tariff shall be given a written explanation of such costs prior to request for
payment and/or commencement of construction. If the applicant or existing customer does not
believe that these costs are reasonable or necessary, the applicant or existing customer shall be
informed of their right to appeal such costs to the PUC or such other regulatory authority having
jurisdiction over the utility's rates in that portion of the utility's service area in which the applicant’s
or existing customer's property(ies) is (are) located.

Fees in addition to the regular tap fee may be charged if listed specifically in Section 1 to cover
unique costs not normally incurred as permitted by 16 TAC § 24.163(a)(1)(C). For example, a road
bore for customers outside a subdivision or residential area could be considered a unique cost.

(C) Easement Requirement

Where recorded public utility easements on the service applicant’s property do not exist or public
road right-of-way easements are not available to access the applicant’s property, the Utility may
require the applicant to provide it with a permanent recorded public utility easement on and across
the applicant's real property sufficient to provide service to that applicant. Such easement(s) shall
not be used for the construction of production, storage, transmission or pressure facilities unless they
are needed for adequate service to that applicant.

Section 2.04 - Utility Response to Applications for Service

After the applicant has met all the requirements, conditions and regulations for service, the utility
will install tap, meter and utility cut-off valve and/or take all necessary actions to initiate service.
The utility will serve each qualified applicant for service within 5 working days unless line
extensions or new facilities are required. If construction is required to fill the order and if it cannot
be completed within 30 days, the utility will provide the applicant with a written explanation of the
construction required and an expected date of service.

Except for good cause where service has previously been provided, service will be reconnected
within one working day after the applicant has met the requirements for reconnection.

Section 2.05 - Customer Responsibility

The customer will be responsible for furnishing and laying the necessary customer service pipe from
the meter location to the place of consumption. Customers will not be allowed to use the utility's
cutoff valve on the utility's side of the meter. Existing customers may install cutoff valves on their
side of the meter and are encouraged to do so. All new customers may be required to install and
maintain a cutoff valve on their side of the meter.

No direct connection between a public water supply system and any potential source of
contamination or between a public water supply system and a private water source (ex. private well)
SSION OF TEXAS
pUBLIC UTLITY COMMI
Tariff Control No, 56918 APPROVED
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 7
{Utility Name}

SECTION 2.0 — SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued)

will be allowed. A customer shall not connect, or allow any other person or party to connect, onto
any water lines on his premises.

section 2.06 - Customer Service Inspections

Applicants for ncw service connections or facilities which have undergone extensive plumbing
modifications are required to furnish the utility a completed customer service inspection certificate.
The inspection certificate shall certify that the establishment is in compliance with the Texas
Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems,
30 TAC § 290.46(j). The Utility is not required to perform these inspections for the
applicant/customer, but will assist the applicant/customer in Jocating and obtaining the services of a
certified inspector.

Section 2.07 - Back Flow Prevention Devices

No water connection shall be allowed to any residence or establishment where an actual or potential
contamination hazard exists unless the public water facilities are protected from contamination by
either an approved air gap, backflow prevention assembly, or other approved device. The type of
device or backflow prevention assembly required shall be determined by the specific potential
hazard identified in 30 TAC § 290.47(f) Appendix F, Assessment of Hazards and Selection of
Assemblies of the TCEQ Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems.

The use of a backflow prevention assembly at the service connection shall be considered as
additional backflow protection and shall not negate the use of backflow protection on internal
hazards as outlined and enforced by local plumbing codes. When a customer service inspection
certificate indicates that an adequate internal cross-connection control program is in etfect, backflow
protection at the water service entrance or meter is not required.

At any residence or establishment where it has been determined by a customer service inspection,
that there is no actual or potential contamination hazard, as referenced in 30 TAC § 290.47(f)
Appendix F, Assessment of Hazards and Selection of Assemblies of the TCEQ Rules and
Regulations for Public Water Systems, then a backflow prevention assembly or device is not
required. Outside hose bibs do require, at a minimum, the installation and maintenance of a working
atmospheric vacuum breaker.

All backflow prevention assemblies or devices shall be tested upon installation by a TCEQ certified
backflow prevention assembly tester and certified to be operating within specifications. Backflow
prevention assemblies which are installed to provide protection against health hazards must also be
tested and certified to be operating within specifications at least annually by a certified back{low
prevention assembly tester.

[f the utility determines that a backflow prevention assembly or device is required, the utility will
provide the customer or applicant with a list of TCEQ certified backflow prevention assembly
testers. The customer will be responsible for the cost of installation and testing, if any, of backflow

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tanff Page No. 8
{Utility Namce)

SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued)

prevention assembly or device. The customer should contact several qualified installers to compare
prices before installation. The customer must pay for any required maintenance and annual testing
and must furnish a copy of the test results demonstrating that the assembly is functioning properly
to the utility within 30 days after the anniversary date of the installation unless a different date is
agreed upon.

Section 2.08 - Access to Customer’s Premises

The utility will have the right of access to the customer's premises at all reasonable times for the
purpose of installing, testing, inspecting or repairing water mains or other equipment used in
connection with its provision of water service, or for the purpose of removing its property and
disconnecting lines, and for all other purposes necessary to the operation of the utility system
including inspecting the customer's plumbing for code, plumbing or tariff violations. The customer
shall allow the utility and its personnel access to the customer's property to conduct any water quality
tests or inspections required by law. Unless necessary to respond to equipment failure, leak or other
condition creating an immediate threat to public health and safety or the continued provision of
adequate utility service to others, such entry upon the customer's property shall be during normal
business hours and the utility personnel will attempt to notify the customer that they will be working
on the customer’s property. The customer may require any utility representative, employee,
contractor, or agent seeking to make such entry identify themselves, their affiliation with the utility,
and the purpose of their entry.

All customers or service applicants shall provide access to meters and utility cutoff valves at all
times reasonably necessary to conduct ordinary utility business and after normal business hours as

needed to protect and preserve the integrity of the public drinking water supply.

Section 2.09 - Meter Requirements, Readings, and Testing

One meter is required for each residential, commercial, or industrial connection. All water sold by
the utility will be billed based on meter measurements. The utility will provide, install, own and
maintain meters to measure amounts of water consumed by its customers.

Meters will be read at monthly intervals and as nearly as possible on the corresponding day of each
monthly meter reading period unless otherwise authorized by the Commission.

Meter tests. The utility will, upon the request of a customer, and, if the customer so desires, in his
or her presence or in that of his or her authorized representative, make without charge a test of the
accuracy of the customer's meter. If the customer asks to observe the test, the test will be made
during the utility’s normal working hours at a time convenient to the customer. Whenever possible,
the test will be made on the customer's premises, but may, at the utility's discretion, be made at the
utility's testing facility. It within a period of two years the customer requests a new test, the utility
will make the test, but if the meter is found to be within the accuracy standards established by the
American Water Works Association, the utility will charge the customer a fee which reflects the
cost to test the meter up to a maximum $25 for a residential customer, Following the completion of

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 9
{Utility Name)

SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued)

any requested test, the utility will promptly advise the customer of the date of removal of the meter,
the date of the test, the result of the test, and who made the test.

section 2.10 - Billing

(A) Regular Billing

Bills from the utility will be mailed monthly unless otherwise authorized by the Commisston. The
due date of bills for utility service will be at least sixteen (16} days from the date of issuance.
Payment for utility service is delinquent if full payment, including late fees and the regulatory
assessment, is not received at the utility or the utility's authorized payment agency by 5:00 p.m. on
the due date. If the due date falls on a holiday or weekend, the due date for payment purposes will
be the next workday after the due date.

(B) Late Fees

A late penalty of either $5.00 or 10.0% will be charged on bills received after the due date. The
penalty on delinquent bills will not be applied to any balance to which the penalty was applied in a
previous billing. The utility must maintain a record of the date of mailing to charge the late penalty.

(C) Information on Bill

Each bill will provide all information required by the PUC Rules. For each of the systems it operates,
the utility will maintain and note on the monthly bill a local or toll-free telephone number (or
numbers) to which customers can direct questions about their utility service.

(D) Prorated Bills - If service is interrupted or seriously impaired for 24 consecutive hours or more,
the utility will prorate the monthly base bill in proportion to the time service was not available to
reflect this loss of service.

Section 2.11- Payments

All payments for utility service shall be delivered or mailed to the utility's business office. If the
business office fails to receive payment prior to the time of noticed disconnection for non-payment
of a delinquent account, service will be terminated as scheduled. Ultility service crews shall not be
allowed to collect payments on customer accounts in the field.

Payment of an account by any means that has been dishonored and returned by the payor or payee's
bank, shall be deemed to be delinquent. All returned payments must be redeemed with cash or valid
money order. If a customer has two returned payments within a twelve month period, the customer
shall be required to pay a deposit if one has not already been paid.

Section 2.12 - Service Disconnection

(A) With Notice
Utility service may be disconnected if the bill has not been paid in full by the date listed on the
termination notice. The termination date must be at least 10 days after the notice 1s mailed or hand

delivered.
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 10
(Utility Name)

SECTION 2.0 — SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES {Continued)

The utility is encouraged to offer a deferred payment plan to a customer who cannot pay an
outstanding bill in full and is willing to pay the balance in reasonable installments. However, a
customer's utility service may be disconnected if a bill has not been paid or a deferred payment
agreement entered into within 26 days from the date of issuance of a bill and if proper notice of
termination has been given.

Notice of termination must be a separate mailing or hand delivery in accordance with the PUC Rules.

(B) Without Notice
Utility service may also be disconnected without notice for reasons as described in the PUC Rules.

Section 2.13 - Reconnection of Service

Utility personnel must be available during normal business hours to accept payments on the day
service 1s disconnected and the following day unless service was disconnected at the customer's
request or due to a hazardous condition.

Service will be reconnected within 36 hours after the past due bill, reconnect fees and any other
outstanding charges are paid or the conditions which caused service to be disconnected are corrected.

Section 2.14 - Service Interruptions

The utility will make all reasonable efforts to prevent interruptions of service. If interruptions occur,
the utility will re-establish service within the shortest possible time. Except for momentary
interruptions due to automatic equipment operations, the utility will keep a complete record of all
interruptions, both emergency and scheduled and will notify the Commission in writing of any
service interruptions affecting the entire system or any major division of the system lasting more
than four hours. The notice will explain the cause of the interruptions.

Section 2.15 - Quality of Service

The utility will plan, furnish, and maintain production, treatment, storage, transmission, and
distribution facilities of sufficient size and capacity to provide a continuous and adequate supply of
water for all reasonable consumer uses. Unless otherwise authorized by the Commission, the utility
will maintain facilities as described in the TCEQ Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems.

Section 2.16 - Customer Complaints and Disputes

If a customer or applicant for service lodges a complaint, the utility will promptly make a suitable
investigation and advise the complainant of the results. Service will not be disconnected pending
completion of the investigation. If the complainant is dissatisfied with the utility's response, the
utility must advise the complainant that he has recourse through the PUC complaint process.
Pending resolution of a complaint, the commission may require continuation or restoration of
SCrvice.
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 11
{Utility Namg)

SECTION 2.0 — SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued)

The utility will maintain a record of all complaints which shows the name and address of the
complainant, the date and nature of the complaint and the adjustment or disposition thereof, for a
period of two years after the final settlement of the complaint.

In the event of a dispute between a customer and a utility regarding any bill for utility service, the
utility will conduct an investigation and report the results to the customer. If the dispute is not
resolved, the utility will inform the customer that a complaint may be filed with the Commission.

Section 2.17 - Customer Liability
Customer shali be liable for any damage or injury to utility-owned property shown to be caused by
the customer.
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 12
{(Utility Namu)

SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY

Section 3.01 - Standard Extension Requirements

Line Extension and Construction Charges: No Contribution in Aid of Construction may be required
of any customer except as provided for in this approved extension policy.

The Utility is not required to extend service to any applicant outside of its certified service area and
will only do so under terms and conditions mutually agreeable to the Utility and the applicant, in
comphance with PUC rules and policies, and upon extension of the Utility's certified service area
boundaries by the PUC.

The applicant for service will be given an itemized statement of the costs, options such as rebates to
the customer, sharing of construction costs between the utility and the customer, or sharing of costs

between the costomer and other applicants prior to beginning construction.

Section 3.02 - Costs Utilities and Service Applicants Shall Bear

Within its certified area, the utility will pay the cost of the first 200 feet of any water main or
distribution line necessary to extend service to an individual residential customer within a platted
subdivision.

However, if the residential customer requesting service purchased the property after the developer
was notified in writing of the need to provide facilities to the utility, the utility may charge for the
first 200 feet. The utility must also be able to document that the developer of the subdivision refused
to provide facilities compatible with the utility's facilities in accordance with the utility's approved
extension policy after receiving a written request from the utility.

Residential customers will be charged the cquivalent of the costs of extending service to their
property from the nearest transmission or distribution line even if that line does not have adequate
capacity to serve the customer. However, if the customer places unique, non-standard service
demands upon the system, the customer may be charged the additional cost of extending service to
and throughout their property, including the cost of ali necessary transmission and storage facilities
necessary to meet the service demands anticipated to be created by that property.

Unless an exception is granted by the PUC, the residential service applicant shall not be required to
pay for costs of main extensions greater than 2" in diameter for water distribution and pressure
wastewater collection lines and 6" in diameter for gravity wastewater lines.

Exceptions may be granted by the PUC if:

s adequate service cannot be provided to the applicant using the maximum line sizes Jisted due
to distance or elevation, in which case, it shall be the utility's burden to justify that a larger
diameter pipe 1s required for adequate service;

» or larger minimum line sizes are required under subdivision platting requirements or building
codes of municipalities within whose corporate limits or extraterritorial jurisdiction the point
of use 1s located; or the residential service applicant is located outside the CCN service area.
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 13
(Utility Namg)

SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (Continued)

[f an exception is granted, the Utility shall establish a proportional cost plan for the specific extension
or a rebate plan which may be limited to seven years to return the portion of the applicant’s costs for
oversizing as new customers are added to ensure that future applicants for service on the line pay at
least as much as the initial service applicant.

For purposes of determining the costs that service applicants shall pay, commercial customers with
service demands greater than residential customer demands in the certified area, industrial, and
wholesale customers shall be treated as developers. A service applicant requesting a one inch meter
for a lawn sprinkler system to service a residential lot is not considered nonstandard service.

If an applicant requires service other than the standard service provided by the utility, such applicant
will be required to pay all expenses incurred by the utility in excess of the expenses that would be
incurred in providing the standard service and connection beyond 200 feet and throughout his
property including the cost of all necessary transmission facilities.

The utility will bear the full cost of any over-sizing of water mains necessary to serve other
customers in the immediate area. The individual residential customer shall not be charged for any
additional production, storage, or treatment facilities. Contributions in aid of construction may not
be required of individual residential customers for production, storage, treatment or transmission
facilities unless otherwise approved by the Commission under this specific extension policy.

Section 3.03 - Contributions in Aid of Construction

Developers may be required to provide contributions in aid of construction in amounts sufficient to
furnish the development with all facilities necessary to provide for reasonable local demand
requirements and to comply with TCEQ minimum design criteria for facilities used in the
production, transmission, pumping, or treatment of water or TCEQ minimum requirements. For
purposes of this subsection, a developer is one who subdivides or requests more than two meters on
a piece of property. Commercial, industrial, and wholesale customers will be treated as developers.

Any applicant who places unique or non-standard service demands on the system may be required
to provide contributions in aid of construction for the actual costs of any additional facilities required
to maintain compliance with the TCEQ minimum design criteria for water production, treatment,
pumping, storage and transmission.

Any service extension to a subdivision (recorded or unrecorded} may be subject to the provisions
and restrictions of 16 TAC § 24.163(d). When a developer wishes to extend the system to prepare
to service multiple new connections, the charge shall be the cost of such extension, plus a pro-rata
charge for facilities which must be committed to such extension compiiant with the TCEQ minimum
design criteria. As provided by 16 TAC § 24.161(d}(4), for purposes of this section, commercial,
industrial, and wholesale customers shall be treated as developers.
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MSEC Enterprises, Inc. Water Tariff Page No. 14
{(Utility Name)

SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (Continued)

A utility may only charge a developer standby fees for unrecovered costs of facilities committed to
a developer’s property under the following circumstances:
. Under a contract and only in accordance with the terms of the contract; or
) if service is not being provided to a lot or lots within two years after installation of
facilities necessary to provide service to the lots has been completed and if the
standby fees are included on the utility’s approved tariff after a rate change
application has been filed. The fees cannot be billed to the developer or collected
until the standby fees have been approved by the commission or executive director.
. For purposes of this section, a manufactured housing rental community can only be
charged standby fees under a contract or if the utility installs the facilities necessary
to provide individually metered service to each of the rental lots or spaces in the
community.

Section 3.04 - Appealing Connection Costs

The imposition of additional extension costs or charges as provided by Sections 3.0 - Extension
Policy of this tariff shall be subject to appeal as provided in this tariff, PUC rules, or the rules of
such other regulatory authority as may have jurisdiction over the utility's rates and services. Any
applicant required to pay for any costs not specifically set forth in the rate schedule pages of this
tariff shall be given a written explanation of such costs prior to payment and/or commencement of
construction. If the applicant does not believe that these costs are reasonable or necessary, the
applicant shall be informed of the right to appeal such costs to the PUC or such other regulatory
authority having jurisdiction over the utility's rates in that portion of the utility's service area in which
the applicant's property(ies) is (are) located.

Section 3.05 - Applying for Service

The Utility will provide a written service application form to the applicant for each request for
service received by the Utility's business offices. A separate application shall be required for each
potential service location if more than one service connection is desired by any individual applicant.
Service application forms will be available at the Utility's business office during normal weekday
business houts.

Service applications will be sent by prepaid first class United States mail to the address provided by
the applicant upon request. Completed applications should be refurned by hand delivery in case
there are questions which might delay fulfilling the service request. Completed service applications
may be submitted by mail if hand delivery is not possible,

Where a new tap or service connection is required, the service applicant shall be required to submit
a written service application and request that a tap be made. A diagram, map, plat, or written metes
and bounds description of precisely where the applicant desires each tap or service connection is to
be made and, if necessary, where the meter is to be installed, along the applicant’s property line may
also be required with the tap request.
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MSEC Enterprises, inc. Water Tarift Page No. 15
(Utility Name)

SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (Continued)

The actual point of connection and meter installation must be readily accessible to Utility personnel
for inspection, servicing, and meter reading while being reasonably secure from damage by vehicles
and mowers, If the Utility has more than one main adjacent to the service applicant's property, the
tap or service connection will be made to the Utility's nearest service main with adequate capacity
to service the applicant's full potential service demand. Beyond the initial 200 feet, the customer
shall bear only the equivalent cost of extending from the nearest main. If the tap or service
connection cannot be made at the applicant’s desired location, it will be made at another location
mutually acceptable to the applicant and the Utility. If no agreement on location can be made, the
applicant may refer the matter to the PUC for resolution.

Section 3.06 - Qualified Service Applicant

A "qualified service applicant” is an applicant who has; (1) met all of the Ultility's requirements for
service contained in this tariff, PUC rules and/or PUC order, (2) has made payment or made
arrangement for payment of tap fees, (3) has provided all easements and rights-of-way required to
provide service to the requested location, (4) delivered an executed customer service inspection
certificate to the Utility, if applicable, and (5) has executed a customer service application for each
location to which service is being requested.

The Utility shall serve each qualified service applicant within its certified service area as soon as
practical after receiving a completed service application. All service requests will be fulfilled within
the time limits prescribed by PUC rules once the applicant has met all conditions precedent to
achieving "qualified service applicant” status. If a service request cannot be fulfilled within the
required period, the applicant shall be notified in writing of the delay, its cause and the anticipated
date that service will be available. The PUC service dates shall not become applicable until the
service applicant has met all conditions precedent to becoming a qualified service applicant as
defined by PUC rules.

section 3.07 - Developer Requirements

As a condition of service to a new subdivision, the Utility shall require a developer (as defined by
PUC rule} to provide permanent recorded public utility casements as a condition of service to any
location within the developer's property.
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APPENDIX A -- DROUGHT CONTINGENCY PLAN
(Utility must attach copy of TCEQ approved Drought Contingency Plan)
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APPENDIX B -- SAMPLE SERVICE AGREEMENT
From 30 TAC § 290.47(b), Appendix B
SERVICE AGREEMENT

I. PURPOSE. The NAME OF WATER SYSTEM is responsible for protecting the drinking water
supply from contamination or pollution which could result from improper private water
distribution system construction or configuration. The purpose of this service agreement 1s to
notity each customer of the restrictions which are in place to provide this protection. The utility
enforces these restrictions to ensure the public health and welfare. Each customer must sign this
agreement before the NAME OF WATER SYSTEM will begin service. In addition, when
service to an existing connection has been suspended or terminated, the water system will not
re-establish service unless it has a signed copy of this agreement.

[I. RESTRICTIONS. The following unacceptable practices are prohibited by State regulations.

A. No direct connection between the public drinking water supply and a potential source of
contamination is permitted. Potential sources of contamination shall be isolated from the
public water system by an air-gap or an appropriate backflow prevention device.

B. No cross-connection between the public drinking water supply and a private water system 1s
permitted. These potential threats to the public drinking water supply shall be ¢liminated at
the service connection by the installation of an air-gap or a reduced pressure-zone backtlow
prevention device.

C. No connection which allows water to be returned to the public drinking water supply is
permitted.

D. No pipe or pipe fitting which contains more than 8.0% lead may be used for the installation
or repair of plumbing at any connection which provides water for human use.

E. No solder or flux which contains more than 0.2% lead can be used for the installation or
repair of plumbing at any connection which provides water for human use.

HI. SERVICE AGREEMENT. The following are the terms of the service agreement between the
NAME OF WATER SYSTEM (the Water System) and NAME OF CUSTOMER (ihe
Customer).

A. The Water System will maintain a copy of this agreement as long as the Customer and/or the
premises are connected to the Water System.

B. The Customer shall allow his property to be inspected for possible cross-connections and
other potential contamination hazards. These inspections shall be conducted by the Water
System or its designated agent prior to initiating new water service; when there is reason to
believe that cross-connections or other potential contamination hazards exist; or after any
major changes to the private water distribution facilities. The inspections shall be conducted
during the Water System's normal business hours.

C. The Water System shall notify the Customer in writing of any cross-connection or other
potential contamination hazard which has been identitied during the initial inspection or the
periodic reinspection.

D. The Customer shall immediately remove or adequately isolate any potential cross-
connections or other potential contamination hazards on his premises.

E. The Customer shall, at his expense, properly install, test, and maintain any backflow
prevention device required by the Water System. Copies of all testing and maintenance
records shall be provided to the Water System.

Iv. ENFORCEMENT. Ifthe Customer fails to comply with the terms of the Service Agreement,
the Water System shall, at its option, either terminate service or properly install, test, and
maintain an appropriate backflow prevention device at the service connection. Any expenses
associated with the enforcement of this agreement shall be billed toptl‘glaeugld%gwegwmss,m OF TEXAS
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APPENDIX C -- APPLICATION FOR SERVICE
(Utility Must Attach Blank Copy}
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