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TARIFF CONTROL NO. 55428

APPLICATION OF CONCHO RURAL PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION

WATER CORPORATION FOR
JANUARY 2023-JUNE 2023 TRUE-UP

§

§

§ OF TEXAS
REPORT AND PASS-THROUGH §

§

§

GALLONAGE CHARGE FOR GROUP 2
CUSTOMERS

COMMISSION STAFF’S FINAL RECOMMENDATION

On September 1, 2023, Concho Rural Water Corperation (Concho Rural), Certificate of
Convenience and Necessity (CCN) No. 11361, filed an application to implement a pass-through
gallonage charge (PTGC) for its Group 2 customers under 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC)
§ 24.25(b)(2) regarding the January 2023-June 2023 true-up report filed in compliance with its
approved PTGC adjustment provision in its Water Utility Tarift, approved in the final order of
Docket No. 498921

On March 20, 2024, the administrative law judge (ALJ) filed Order No. 9, requiring Staff
(Staff) of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (Commission) to request a hearing or file its

final recommendation by April 3, 2024, Therefore, this pleading is timely filed.

I. FINAL RECOMMENDATION
Staff has reviewed Concho Rural’s application and supplements, and as detailed in the
attached memorandum of Vonetta Jackson, Rate Regulation Division, recommends that the

requested change to Concho Rural’s true-up calculations and pass-through rate be approved.
II. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, Staft respectfully recommends that Concho Rural’s

application be approved.

Y Application of Concho Rural Water Corporation for Authoritv io Change Rates, Docket No. 49892, Order

(Nov. 16, 2021).
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Public Utility Commission of Texas

Memorandum

TO: Dylan King, Attorney
Legal Division

FROM: Vonetta Jackson, Regulatory Accountant
Rate Regulation Division

DATE: April 3, 2024

RE: Tariff Control No. 55428 — Application of Concho Rural Water Corporation
Jamiary 2023 — June 2023 True-Up Report and Pass-Through Gallonage
Charge for Group 2 Customers

On September 1, 2023, Concho Rural Water Corporation (Concho Rural) filed an application
to implement a pass-through rate change under 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) § 24.25
(b)(2) for its 2022 true-up report and pass-through gallonage charge change. As allowed by the
administrative law judge (ALJ) in Docket No. 52663, Concho Rural supplemented the
application with additional information on October 23, 2023, November 16, 2023, and
December 14, 2023

Concho Rural is providing service under Certificate of Convenience and Necessity (CCN) No.
11361, and the application included a copy of the tariff pages for CCN No. 11361 which
contains the rates that will change if the application is approved. A copy of the notice provided
to customers was also filed with the initial application, and it was also in the revision filed on
November 16, 2023,

Concho Rural requested a pass-through change from $3.50 to $3.34 per thousand gallons for
the Group 2 customers. The application was supported by decumentation from Upper
Colerado River Authority (UCRA) and Concho Rural, which documents the fees charged to it
and amounts collected from customers. The Group 2 customers tariff equation includes
specific line loss figure of 3.5%, which was supported by documentation for the line loss at the
time the pass-through rate was approved in Docket No. 49892 2 Therefore, | recommend that
ALJ not require twelve months of documentation of line loss for this filing,

Y Complianee Dockel for Dockel No. 49892 (Application of Concho Rural Waier Corporaiion for
Authority to Change Rates), Docket No. 52663, Order No. 13, Granting Good Cause Exception (May 235,
2023).

2 Applicaiion of Concho Rural Water Corporation for Authoritv to Change Rares, Docket No. 49892,
Order at Finding Fact 39 (Nov. 18, 2021)



Docket No. 35428 Memorandum of Vonclla Jackson (March 18, 2024) Pagc2ol2

T have reviewed the calculations and assumptions used to determine the requested pass-through
rate. Based upon my review of the underlying calculations and assumptions used to perform
the true-up, along with responses to requests for information, 1 determined that Concho Rural’s
combined pass-through rate is $3.34, as amended in it supplements to the application. As
requested by Statf in previous true-ups, Concho Rural separated he combined pass-through
rate in its tariff to show a pass-through rate of $3.50 along with a true-up fee of ($0.16), which
equals $3.34.

The application meets the requirements of 16 TAC §24.25(b)(2). I recommend that the ALJ
approve the application as supplemented by Concho Rural and that Concho Rural be provided
with a copy of the attached tariff.



WATER UTILITY TARIFF
Tariff Control No. 55428

Concho Rural Water Corporation 8174 US Hwy 87 North
(Utility Name) (Business Address)
San Angelo, Texas 76901 (325) 658-29061
(City. State, Zip Code) {Area Code/Telephone)

This tantt 1s effective for utility operations under the following Certificate of Convenience and
Necessity:

11361

This taniff is effective in the following counties:

Tom Green

This taniff is effective in the following cities or unincorporated towns (1f any):
None

This taniff is effective in the following subdivisions or public water systems:

See attached list

TABLE OF CONTENTS
The above utility lists the following sections of its tariff (if additional pages are needed tor a
section, all pages should be numbered consecutively):

SECTION 1.0 RATE SCHEDULE ... 2
SECTION 2.0 SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES ... 7
SECTION 3.0 EXTENSION POLICY ... 14

APPENDIX A -- DROUGHT CONTINGENCY PLAN
APPENDIX B -- APPLICATION FOR SERVICE



Concho Rural Water Corporation
This taritf 1s effective in the tollowing Subdivisions or Systems:

System/Subdivision Name PWS ID Number

Alexander Ranches, Allard Est., Arden Road,
Ballard, Big Sky, Buttalo Heights, Coopers,
Copper Mtn., Evergreen Acres, Frontier
Acres, Garden Waters, Grape Creek, Grape
Creek Gardens, Garden Waters, Hughes
Subdivision, Indian Creek, K and A
Development, Lake Concho, Lake Gardens
1&2, Lakewood, Moon Ln., Mountain View,
Northwood, Oak Ln., Paradise Valley,
Pulliam, Rolling Acres, Sun Ln., Sutter
Subdivision, Windmill West Subdivision

2260008

Cactus Lane, Fruitland Farm Ct., Goodland
Loop, HK2 Development, North Concho,
Northview, Northwood Estates

2260020

Caprock Ranches, Door Key Ranches, Door
Key Road, Hiddenview, Highway 584, Line 2260057
Road, Pecan Creek, Stone Key Estates,
Stonewall Reserve, Walling Pecan

Water Valley 2260060
Dear Valley Estates, Iron Spoke Estates 2260067
The Oaks, Oak Mtn. Estates, Oaks North, 760003

Ridge Ln., River Ranch, Stonewall Oaks
Subdivision, Stonewall Valley

Tariff Control No. 55428




Concho Rural Water Corporation Water Utility Tariff Page No. 2

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE

Section 1.01 — Rates

Meter Size Monthly Minimum Charge Gallonage Charge
5/8” or 3/4” $31.75 $1.85 per 1000 gallons up to 4,000 gallons
17 $79.38 $2.87 per 1000 gallons, 4,001 to 9,000 gallons
11/27 $159.75 $3.51 per 1000 gallons, 9.001 to 15,000 gallons
2" $254.00 $4.51 per 1000 gallons, 15,001 to 25,000 gallons
3" $476.25 $5.00 per 1000 gallons, greater than 25,000 gallons
4”7 $793.75
6” $1.587.50
8” $2.540.00
10” $3.615.25
127 $6.826.25

Group 1 Pass-Through Fee.......................... . i, $2.00 per 1,000 gallons

This pass-through ratc is applicable to the following subdivisions: River Ranch, Oak Mountain Estatcs,
Ridge Lane, Stonewall Vallev, Hidden View, Pecan Creck, Stonewall Reserve, Line Rd., Hwy 384, Door
Kev Rd. and Door Kev Ranches, Caprock Ranches, Stone Key Estates, and Walling Pecan.

(Tariff Control No. 534176, effective November 1, 20122)

Group 2 Pass-Through Fee................ ... .. .. ... $3.50 per 1.000 gallons
This pass-through rate is applicable to the following subdivisions: Arden Rd., Buffalo Heights, and K and
A Devclopment.

(Fariff Control No. 53376)

Group 2 Truc-Up Feo......oo i (-80016) per 1,000
sallons

This truc-up ratc is applicablc to the following subdivisions: Arden Rd., Buffalo Heights, and K and A
Development.

(Fariff Control No. 53376)

Group 2 Fixed Pass-Through Fec.. . e ..$12.02 per meter equivalent
This monthly fee 1s applicable to the follomng subdmsmns Arden Rd Bui“falo Heights, and K and A
Development for unrecovered purchased water costs scparate and apart from thosc being colleeted in the
Group 2 pass-through and true up fees above. The fec will be in cffcet for six months starting with meters
read on July 21, 2023 or until a total of $38,073 1s recovered, whichever occurs first,

(Tariff Control No. 33376)

Group 2 Surcharge. .......... ... $15.74 per meter equivalent
This monthly surcharge is applicable to the Arden Rd., Buftalo Heights, and K and A Development
subdivision for water purchased from July 2019 through June 2021 prior to the approval of the
Group 2 pass-through rate. The surcharge will be in effect for 36 months or until a total of $262,368
18 recovered, whichever occurs first.

(Docket No. 49892)

Tariff Control No. 55428



Concho Rural Water Corporation Water Utility Tariff Page No. 3

Rate-Case Expense Surcharge.................... ... $1.46 per connection
To be collected per month, calculated as follows: $150,000 + 2,869 conncctions + 36 months = $1.46.
CRWC may collect the surcharge for 36 consecutive months or until the full $130,000 has been recovered,

whichever occurs first,
(Docket No. 49892)

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (continued)

FORM OF PAYMENT: The utility will accept the following torms of payment:

Cash X, Check X, Money Order X, Online through conchoruralwater.com X, Bank Draft X. Other-
Wire Transfer for Government Agencies X

THE UTILITY MAY REQUIRE EXACT CHANGE FOR PAYMENTS AND MAY RFEFUSE TO  ACCEPT
PAYMUNTS MADL USING MORL THAN $1.00 IN SMALL COINS. A WRITTEN RECUIPT WILL BL GIVLN
FOR CASH PAYMENTS. PAYMENT ONLINE MAY BE ASSESSED A CHARGE BY THE PAYMENT
PROCLSSING COMPANY.

REGULATORY ASSESSMENT . ... 1.0%
PUC RULLS REQUIRL TTIE UTILITY 1O COLLECT A FEL OF ONL PERCLENT OF T1I RUETALL MONIIILY
BILL AND REMIT TL FEL TO T1IE TCLQ.

Section 1.02 — Miscellaneous Fees

TAP FEE. .. $1,250.00
TADP FEE COVERS THE TITILITY™S COSTS FOR MATERTALS AND LABOR TO INSTALL A STANDARD
RESIDENTTAL 38" or 34" MUTER. AN ADDITIONAL IELTO COVLER  UNIQUL COSTS IS PERMITTTED 1Y
LISTED ON THIS TARIFF.

TAP FEE (Unique CosStS). ... e Actual Cost
I'OR LXAMPLL, A ROAD BORL FOR CUSTOMLRS QUTSIDL OF SUBDIVISIONS OR RESIDENTIAL ARLAS,

TAPFEE (Large Meter). .. ... e e e Actual Cost
TAP FEE TS THE UTILITY'S ACTUAT, COST FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR FOR METFER SI7ZF INSTALLED.

METER RELOCATIONFEE. ........................ Actual Relocation Cost, Not to Exceed Tap Fee
TLUS FEL MAY BL CIIARGED I A CUSTOMLUR REQULESTS TTIAT AN EXISTING MUTER BLE RELOCATLD.

METER CONVERSIONFEE. .. ...................... Actual Conversion Cost, Not to Exceed Tap Fee
THIS FEE MAY BE CHARGED TF A CUSTOMER REQUESTS A CHANGE, IN METFR SIZE

METER TESTFEEE ... ... $25.00
TLIS FEE WILCIISIIOULD REFLECT TTIE UTILITY S COSTMAY BL CIIARGED I A CUSTOMLR REQULSTS
A SECOND METER TEST WITHIN A TWO-YEAR PERIOD AND THE TEST INDICATES THAT THE METER TS
RECORDING ACCURATLLY. THELFELE MAY NOT EXCLLD $25.

LATE CHARGE .. Greater of $5 or 10% of outstanding bill
PUC RULES ALLOW A ONE-TIME PENALTY TO BE CHARGED ON DELINQUENT BILLS. A LATE CHARGE
MAY NOT BL APPLIED TO ANY BALANCL TO WILCLL TLL PUNALTY WAS APPLIED IN A PREVIOUS
BIL.LING.

Tariff Control No. 55428



Concho Rural Water Corporation Water Utility Tariff Page No. 4

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (continued)

RETURNED CHECK CHARGE. ....... ... i, $20.00
RETURNED CHECK CHARGRS MUST BE BASED ON THE UTTLITY 'S DOCTUMENTABLE COST.

RECONNECTION FEE
THE RECONNECT FEE MUST BE. PATD BEFORF SERVICE, CAN BE RESTORED TO A CUSTOMER WHO HAS
BLLN DISCONNECTLD FOR NONPAYMUNT OF BILL (OR OT1IER REASONS LISTED UNDLR SECIION 2.0
OF THIS TARTFF),
a) Reconnect Nonpayment of bill (Maximum $25.00)............................. $25.00

SEASONAL OR TEMPORARY DISCONNECT RECONNECTION FEE:
BASE RATE METER S5T7E TIMES NUMBER OF MONTHS OFF THE SYSTEM WHEN LEAVE AND RETURN
WITIIN A TWLELVE-MON'TTI PERIOD, NOT 'TO EXCEED SIX MONTIIS OR LESS THAN TWO MONTILIS.

TRANSFER FEE. ... . e e e e $25.00
THE TRANSFER FEE WILIL. BE CHARGED FOR CHANGING AN ACCOUNT NAME AT THE SAME SERVICE
LOCATION WHEN THE SERVICE T5 NOT DISCONNECTED.

LATECHARGE. ... i, Greater of $5 or 10% of outstanding bill
PUC RULES ALLOW A ONE-TIME PENALTY TO BE CHARGED ON DELINQUENT BILLS. A LATE CHARGE
MAY NOT BL APPLIED TO ANY BALANCL TO WILCLL TLL PUNALTY WAS APPLIED IN A PREVIOUS

RILLING.
RETURNED CHECK CHARGE. ... ... $20.00
RUETURNLD CLECK CIIARGLS MUST BL BASED ON TLLE UTILITY™S DOCUMENTABLL COST.
CUSTOMER DEPOSIT RESIDENTIAL (Maximum $50)....................... ... $50.00
COMMERCIAL & NON-RESIDENTIAL DEPOSIT. ... ... .. 1/6TH OF ESTIMATED ANNUAL BILL

GOVERNMENTAL TESTING, INSPECTION AND COSTS SURCHARGE:
INCREASLS IN INSPECTION FLELS AND WATER TESTING COSTS IMPOSLD BY SIATLE ORIDIRAL LAW
MAY BL PASSLD THROUGLLAS AN ADJUSTMUNT 1O T1IE MONTIILY BASL RATL CLIARGL UNDUR 1111
TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 16 TAC § 2425(b)¥2)(H AFTER NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS AND TUPON
WRITTEN APPROVAL BY THE PUC.

LINE EXTENSION AND CONSTRUCTION CHARGES:
REFER TO SECTTION 3.0--EXTENSION POLICY FOR TERMS, CONDITIONS, AND CHARGES WHEN
NEW CONSTRUCTION IS NECESSARY IO PROVIDLE SERVICL.



Tariff Control No, 55428
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SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (continued)

PURCHASE WATER PASS THROUGH CLAUSE:

Changes in costs imposed by any non-affiliated third party provider of purchased water or a
groundwater conservation district having jurisdiction over the utility, will be passed through as an
additional gallonage charge according to the formulas below.

Group 1
R1I=G/(1- L)+ TU

$2.38 =(2.87 * 0.80)/(1-0.033)
Where:

R1 = the new pass-through rate per 1,000 gallons
( = the pass-through cntity’s new rate per 1,000 gallons times N
N = the amount of purchased water expressed as a percent of all water produced
(currcntly 80%)
L = historical annual linc loss
TU = True up rate calculated annually and approved by PUC

*The Group 1 pass-through is subject to true-up every 12 months, To implement or modify the pass through
provision, the utility must comply with all notice and other requirements in 16 TAC § 24.25(b)(2).

Group 2.
R2 = (RWL + TRL)

$3.34 =$1.17 + $2.33 + (-$0.16) or R2= RWL+ TRL

Where:
R2 = the new pass-through rate per 1,000 gallons for Group 2
RWL = raw water ratc adjusted for loss or RW/(1-L)
RW = raw water rate or TP$/TPK
TP$ = take or pay contract $ amount six months
TPK =takc or pay contract per 1,000 gallons six months
TRL = contract treatment rate adjusted for loss or TR/(1-L)
TR = contract trcatment ratc per 1,000 gallons
L= Historical linc loss of 3.5%
FV = forecasted billed volumes by 1,000 gallons for the upcoming six months

Where:
UOR = under/over recovery or APP-PWC
APP =INV + TPO$%
INV = six months of corresponding amounts paid to contract holder
TPO$ = (total gallons billed per invoices to Rural Concho by
UCRA - TPK) * RW
PWC = 6 months of purchase water costs collected from Group 2 customers
TPC = take or pay credit or (RW — RWL) * TPK
FV = forecasted billed volumes by 1,000 gallons for the upcoming six months

Tariff Control No. 55428
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SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (continued)

*Rural Concho must hold the TPO$ amounts collected but not yet billed 1n an account and apply
them to the annual “Fiscal Year end Reconciliation of Water Usage over Take or Pay” from
UCRA. Rural Concho must also account for these amounts in the 6-month true-up for which the
UCRA reconciliation bill is included.

**The Group 2 pass-through is subject to true-up every 6 months. To implement or modify the
pass through provision, the utility must comply with all notice and other requirements in 16 TAC
§ 24.25(b)(2).

TEMPORARY WATER RATE:

Unless otherwise superseded by PUC order or rule, if the utility is ordered by a court or
governmental body of competent jurisdiction to reduce 1ts pumpage or water sales, the utility may
increase the water rates according to the following formula:

TGC = AGC/(1-R)
Where:
TGC = Temporary Gallonage Charge per Tier
AGC = Approved Gallonage Charge per Tier
R = water use reduction percentage specitied in CRWCs approved Drought
Contingency Plan

TGC tormula will be applied as follows:
Stage 1. Applied to tiers 3 through 5
Stage 2: Applied to tiers 2 through 5
Stage 3: Applied to tiers 2 though 5

To implement or modify the Temporary Water Rate, the utility must comply with all notice and
other requirements in 16 TAC § 24 25()).

Tariff Control No. 55428
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES

Section 2.01 - Rules

The utility will have the most current Public Utility Commission of Texas (Commission) rules
relating to Water and Wastewater Utility regulations, available at its office for reference purposes.
The rules and this tariff shall be available for public inspection and repreduction at a reasonable
cost. The latest rules or Commission approved changes to the rules supersede any rules or
requirements in this tariff.

Section 2.02 - Application for Water Service

All applications for service will be made on the Utility’s standard application or contract form
(attached in the Appendix to this tariff) and will be signed by the applicant. Any required fees
(deposits, reconnect, tap, extension fees, etc. as applicable) will be paid and easements, if required,
will be granted before service is provided by the utility. A separate application or contract will be
made for each service location.

Section 2.03 - Refusal of Service

The utility may decline to serve an applicant until the applicant has complied with the regulations
of the regulatory agencies (state and municipal regulations) and for the reasons outlined in the PUC
Rules. In the event that the utility refuses to serve an applicant, the utility will inform the applicant
In writing of the basis of its refusal. The utility is also required to inform the applicant that a
complaint may be filed with the commission.

Section 2.04 - Fees and Charges & Easements Required Before Service Can Be Connected

(A) Customer Deposits

If a residential applicant cannot establish credit to the satisfaction of the utility, the applicant may
be required to pay a deposit as provided for in Section 1.02 - Miscellaneous Fees of this tariff. The
utility will keep records of the deposit and credit interest in accordance with PUC Rules.

Residential applicants 65 years of age or older may not be required to pay deposits unless the
applicant has an outstanding account balance with the utility or another water or sewer utility which
accrued within the last two years.

Nonresidential applicants who cannot establish credit to the satisfaction of the utility may be
required to make a deposit that does not exceed an amount equivalent to one-sixth of the estimated
annual billings.

Refund of deposit. If service 1s not connected, or after disconnection of service, the utility will
promptly refund the customer’s deposit plus accrued interest or the balance, if any, in excess of the
unpaid bills for service furnished. The utility may refund the deposit at any time prior to
termination of utility service but must refund the deposit plus interest for any residential customer
who has paid 18 consecutive billings without being delinquent.

Tariff Control No. 55428
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (continued)

(B) Tap or Reconnect Fees

A new customer requesting service at a location where service has not previously been provided
must pay a tap fee as provided in Section 1. A customer requesting service where service has
previously been provided must pay a reconnect fee as provided in Section 1. Any applicant or
existing customer required to pay for any costs not specifically set forth in the rate schedule pages
of this tarift shall be given a written explanation of such costs prior to request tor payment and/or
commencement of construction. If the applicant or existing customer does not believe that these
costs are reasonable or necessary, the applicant or existing customer shall be informed of their right
to appeal such costs to the PUC or such other regulatory authority having jurisdiction over the
utility's rates in that portion of the utility's service area in which the applicant's or existing
customer's property(ies) 1s located.

Fees in addition to the regular tap fee may be charged if listed specifically in Section 1 to cover
unique costs not normally incurred as permitted by 16 TAC § 24.163(a)(1)(C). Forexample, aroad
bore for customers outside a subdivision or residential area could be considered a unique cost.

(C) Easement Requirement

Where recorded public utility easements on the service applicant’s property do not exist or public
road right-of-way easements are not available to access the applicant’s property, the utility may
require the applicant to provide it with a permanent recorded public utility easement on and across
the applicant's real property sufficient to provide service to that applicant. Such easement(s) shall
not be used for the construction of production, storage, transmission or pressure facilities unless
they are needed for adequate service to that applicant.

Section 2.05 - Utility Response to Applications for Service

After the applicant has met all the requirements, conditions and regulations for service, the utility
will install tap, meter and utility cut-off valve and/or take all necessary actions to initiate service.
The utility will serve each qualified applicant for service within 5 working days unless line
extensions or new tacilities are required. If construction is required to fill the order and if it cannot
be completed within 30 days, the utility will provide the applicant with a written explanation of
the construction required and an expected date of service.

Except for good cause where service has previously been provided, service will be reconnected
within one working day atter the applicant has met the requirements for reconnection.

Section 2.06 - Customer Responsibility

The customer will be responsible for turnishing and laying the necessary customer service pipe
from the meter location to the place of consumption. Customers will not be allowed to use the
utility’s cuteff valve on the utility's side of the meter. Existing customers may install cutoff valves
on their side of the meter and are encouraged to do so. All new customers may be required to
install and maintain a cutoff valve on their side of the meter.

Tariff Control No. 55428
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (continued)

No direct connection between a public water supply system and any potential source of
contamination or between a public water supply system and a private water source (ex. private
well) will be allowed. A customer shall not connect, or allow any other person or party to connect,
onto any water lines on his premises.

Section 2.07 - Customer Service Inspections

Applicants for new service connections or facilities which have undergone extensive plumbing
modifications are required to furnish the utility a completed customer service inspection certificate.
The inspection certificate shall certify that the establishment 1s in compliance with the Texas
Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems,
Section 290.46(j). The utility is not required to perform these inspections for the
applicant/customer, but will assist the applicant/customer in locating and obtaining the services of
a certified inspector.

Section 2.08 - Back Flow Prevention Devices

No water connection shall be allowed to any residence or establishment where an actual or potential
contamination hazard exists unless the public water facilities are protected from contamination by
either an approved air gap, backflow prevention assembly, or other approved device. The type of
device or backflow prevention assembly required shall be determined by the specific potential
hazard identified in 30 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) § 290.47(f) Appendix F, Assessment of
Hazards and Selection of Assemblies of the TCEQ Rules and Regulations for Public Water
Systems.

The use of a backtflow prevention assembly at the service connection shall be considered as
additional backtlow protection and shall not negate the use of backtlow protection on internal
hazards as outlined and enforced by local plumbing codes. When a customer service inspection
certificate indicates that an adequate internal cross-connection control program 1s in effect,
backtlow protection at the water service entrance or meter is not required.

At any residence or establishment where it has been determined by a customer service inspection,
that there is no actual or potential contamination hazard, as referenced in 30 TAC § 290.47(f)
Appendix F, Assessment of Hazards and Selection of Assemblies of the TCEQ Rules and
Regulations for Public Water Systems, then a backflow prevention assembly or device is not
required. Qutside hose bibs do require, at a minimum, the installation and maintenance of a
working atmospheric vacuum breaker.

All backflow prevention assemblies or devices shall be tested upon installation by a TCEQ certitied
backflow prevention assembly tester and certified to be operating within specifications. Backflow
prevention assemblies which are installed to provide protection against health hazards must alsc
be tested and certified to be operating within specifications at least annually by a certified backflow
prevention assembly tester.

Tariff Control No. 55428
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (continued)

If the utility determines that a backflow prevention assembly or device is required, the utility will
provide the customer or applicant with a list of TCEQ certified backflow prevention assembly
testers. The customer will be responsible for the cost of installation and testing, it any, of backflow
prevention assembly or device. The customer should contact several qualified installers to compare
prices before installation. The customer must pay for any required maintenance and annual testing
and must furnish a copy of the test results demonstrating that the assembly is functioning properly
to the utility within 30 days after the anniversary date of the installation unless a difterent date 1s
agreed upon.

Section 2.09 - Access to Customer’s Premises

The utility will have the right of access to the customer's premises at all reasonable times tor the
purpose of installing, testing, inspecting or repairing water mains or other equipment used in
connection with 1ts provision of water service, or for the purpose of removing its property and
disconnecting lines, and for all other purposes necessary to the operation of the utility system
including inspecting the customer's plumbing for code, plumbing or tariff violations. The customer
shall allow the utility and its personnel access to the customer's property to conduct any water
quality tests or inspections required by law. Unless necessary to respond to equipment failure,
leak or other condition creating an immediate threat to public health and safety or the continued
provision of adequate utility service to others, such entry upon the customer's property shall be
during normal business hours and the utility personnel will attempt to notify the customer that they
will be working on the customer’s property. The customer may require any utility representative,
employee, contractor, or agent seeking to make such entry 1dentify themselves, their affiliation with
the utility, and the purpose of their entry.

All customers or service applicants shall provide access to meters and utility cutoff valves at all
times reasonably necessary to conduct ordinary utility business and after normal business hours as

needed to protect and preserve the integrity of the public drinking water supply.

Section 2.10 - Meter Requirements, Readings, and Testing

One meter 1s required for each residential, commercial, or industrial connection. All water sold by
the utility will be billed based on meter measurements. The utility will provide, install, own and
maintain meters to measure amounts of water consumed by its customers.

Meters will be read at monthly intervals and as nearly as possible on the corresponding day of each
monthly meter reading period unless otherwise authorized by the Commission.

Tariff Control No. 55428
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (continued)

Meter tests. The utility will, upon the request of a customer, and, if the customer so desires, in his
or her presence or in that of his or her authorized representative, make without charge a test of the
accuracy of the customer's meter. If the customer asks to observe the test, the test will be made
during the utility's normal working hours at a time convenient to the customer. Whenever possible,
the test will be made on the customer's premises, but may, at the utility's discretion, be made at the
utility's testing facility. If within a period of two years the customer requests a new test, the utility
will make the test, but if the meter is found to be within the accuracy standards established by the
American Water Works Association, the utility will charge the customer a fee which reflects the
cost to test the meter up to a maximum $25 for a residential customer.

Following the completion of any requested test, the utility will promptly advise the customer of
the date of removal of the meter, the date of the test, the result of the test, and who made the test.

Section 2.11 — Billing

(A) Regcular Billing

Bills from the utility will be mailed monthly unless otherwise authorized by the Commission. The
due date of bills tor utility service will be at least sixteen (16) days from the date of issuance. The
postmark on the bill or, if there is no postmark on the bill, the recorded date of mailing by the utility
will constitute proof of the date of issuance. Payment for utility service 1s delinquent if full
payment, including late fees and the regulatory assessment, 1s not received at the utility or the
utility's authorized payment agency by 5:00 p.m. on the due date. If the due date falls on a holiday
or weekend, the due date for payment purposes will be the next workday after the due date.

(B) Late Fees
A late penalty of either $5.00 or 10.0% will be charged on bills received atter the due date. The

penalty on delinquent bills will not be applied to any balance to which the penalty was applied in
a previous billing. The utility must maintain a record of the date of mailing to charge the late

penalty.

(C) Information on Bill

Each bill will provide all information required by the PUC Rules. For each of the systems it
operates, the utility will maintain and note on the monthly bill a local or toll-free telephone number
(or numbers) to which customers can direct questions about their utility service.

(D) Prorated Bills

If service is interrupted or seriously impaired for 24 consecutive hours or more, the utility will
prorate the monthly base bill in proportion to the time service was not available to reflect this loss
of service.

Section 2.12 - Payments

All payments for utility service shall be delivered or mailed to the utility's business oftice. If the
business office fails to receive payment prior to the time of noticed disconnection for non-payment
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (continued)

of a delinquent account, service will be terminated as scheduled. Utility service crews shall not be
allowed to collect payments on customer accounts in the field.

Payment of an account by any means that has been dishonored and returned by the payor or payee’s
bank, shall be deemed to be delinquent. All returned payments must be redeemed with cash or
valid money order. It a customer has two returned payments within a twelve month period, the
customer shall be required to pay a deposit it one has not already been paid.

Section 2.13 - Service Disconnection

(A) With Notice

Utility service may be disconnected 1f the bill has not been paid in full by the date listed on the
termination notice. The termination date must be at least 10 days after the notice 1s mailed or hand
delivered.

The utility 18 encouraged to offer a deferred payment plan to a customer who cannot pay an
outstanding bill in full and is willing to pay the balance in reasonable installments. However, a
customer's utility service may be disconnected it a bill has not been paid or a deterred payment
agreement entered into within 26 days trom the date of issuance of a bill and if proper notice of
termination has been given,

Notice of termination must be a separate mailing or hand delivery in accordance with the PUC
Rules.

(B) Without Notice
Utility service may also be disconnected without notice for reasons as described in the PUC Rules.

Section 2.14 - Reconnection of Service

Utility personnel must be available during normal business hours to accept payments on the day
service is disconnected and the following day unless service was disconnected at the customer's
request or due to a hazardous condition.

Service will be reconnected within 36 hours after the past due bill, reconnect tees and any other
outstanding charges are paid or the conditions which caused service to be disconnected are

corrected.

Section 2.15 - Service Interruptions

The utility will make all reasonable efforts to prevent interruptions of service. If interruptions
occur, the utility will re-establish service within the shortest possible time. Except for momentary
interruptions due to automatic equipment operations, the utility will keep a complete record of all
interruptions, both emergency and scheduled and will notify the commission in writing of any
service interruptions affecting the entire system or any major division of the system lasting more
than four hours. The notice will explain the cause of the interruptions.
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (continued)

Section 2.16 - Quality of Service

The utility will plan, furnish, and maintain production, treatment, storage, transmission, and
distribution facilities of sufficient size and capacity to provide a continuous and adequate supply
of water for all reasonable consumer uses. Unless otherwise authorized by the TCEQ, the utility
will maintain facilities as described in the TCEQ Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems.

Section 2.17 - Customer Complaints and Disputes

It a customer or applicant for service lodges a complaint, the utility will promptly make a suitable
investigation and advise the complainant of the results. Service will not be disconnected pending
completion of the investigation. If the complainant 1s dissatistfied with the utility's response, the
utility must advise the complainant that he has recourse through either the TCEQ or PUC complaint
process, depending on the nature of the complaint. Pending resolution of a complaint, the
commission may require continuation or restoration of service.

The utility will maintain a record of all complaints which shows the name and address of the
complainant, the date and nature of the complaint and the adjustment or disposition thereof, tor a
period of two years after the final settlement of the complaint.

In the event of a dispute between a customer and a utility regarding any bill for utility service, the
utility will conduct an investigation and report the results to the customer. It the dispute is not

resolved, the utility will inform the customer that a complaint may be filed with the commission.

Section 2.18 - Customer Liability

Customer shall be liable for any damage or injury to utility-owned property shown to be caused by
the customer.
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SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY

Section 3.01 - Standard Extension Requirements

Line Extension and Construction Charges: No Contribution in Aid of Construction may be required
of any customer except as provided for in this approved extension policy.

The utility is not required to extend service to any applicant outside of its certified service area and
will only do so under terms and conditions mutually agreeable to the utility and the applicant, in
compliance with PUC rules and policies, and upon extension of the utility's certified service area
boundaries by the PUC.

The applicant for service will be given an itemized statement of the costs, options such as rebates
to the customer, sharing of construction costs between the utility and the customer, or sharing of
costs between the customer and other applicants prior to beginning construction.

The utility is not required to extend service to any applicant outside of its certificated service area
and will only do so under terms and conditions mutually agreeable to the utility and the applicant,
in compliance with PUC rules and policies, and upon extension of the utility's certificated service
area boundaries by the PUC.

Section 3.02 - Costs Utilities and Service Applicants Shall Bear

Within its certitied area, the utility will pay the cost of the first 200 feet of any water main or
distribution line necessary to extend service to an individual residential customer within a platted
subdivision,

However, if the residential customer requesting service purchased the property atter the developer
was notified in writing of the need to provide facilities to the utility, the utility may charge for the
first 200 feet. The utility must also be able to document that the developer of the subdivision
refused to provide facilities compatible with the utility's facilities in accordance with the utility's
approved extension policy after receiving a written request from the utility.

Residential customers will be charged the equivalent of the costs of extending service to their
property from the nearest transmission or distribution line even if that line does not have adequate
capacity to serve the customer. However, if the customer places unique, non-standard service
demands upon the system, the customer may be charged the additional cost of extending service to
and throughout their property, including the cost of all necessary transmission and storage facilities
necessary to meet the service demands anticipated to be created by that property.
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SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (continued)

Unless an exception 18 granted by the TCEQ), the residential service applicant shall not be required
to pay for costs of main extensions greater than 2" in diameter for water distribution and pressure
wastewater collection lines and 6" in diameter for gravity wastewater lines.

Exceptions may be granted by the TCEQ if:

s adequate service cannot be provided to the applicant using the maximum line sizes
listed due to distance or elevation, in which case, it shall be the utility's burden to justity
that a larger diameter pipe is required for adequate service;

s or larger minimum line sizes are required under subdivision platting requirements or
building codes of municipalities within whose corporate limits or extraterritorial
jurisdiction the point of use is located; or the residential service applicant is located
outside the CCN service area.

If an exception is granted by the TCEQ), the utility shall establish a proportional cost plan for the
specific extension or a rebate plan which may be limited to seven years to return the portion of the
applicant's costs for oversizing as new customers are added to ensure that future applicants for
service on the line pay at least as much as the initial service applicant.

For purposes of determining the costs that service applicants shall pay, commercial customers with
service demands greater than residential customer demands in the certified area, industrial, and
wholesale customers shall be treated as developers. A service applicant requesting a one inch meter
for a lawn sprinkler system to service a residential lot is not considered nonstandard service.

It an applicant requires service other than the standard service provided by the utility, such applicant
will be required to pay all expenses incurred by the utility in excess of the expenses that would be
incurred 1n providing the standard service and connection beyond 200 feet and throughout his
property including the cost of all necessary transmission facilities.

The utility will bear the full cost of any over-sizing of water mains necessary to serve other
customers in the immediate area. The individual residential customer shall not be charged for any
additional production, storage, or treatment facilities. Contributions 1n aid of construction may not
be required of individual residential customers for production, storage, treatment or transmission
facilities unless otherwise approved by the Commission under this specific extension policy.

Section 3.03 - Contributions in Aid of Construction

Developers may be required to provide contributions in aid of construction in amounts sutficient
to furnish the development with all facilities necessary to provide for reasonable local demand
requirements and to comply with TCEQ minimum design criteria for facilities used in the
production, transmission, pumping, or treatment of water or TCEQ minimum requirements. For
purposes of this subsection, a developer is one who subdivides or requests more than two meters
on a piece of property. Commercial, industrial, and wholesale customers will be treated as
developers.
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SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (continued)

Any applicant who places unique or non-standard service demands on the system may be required
to provide contributions in aid of construction for the actual costs of any additional facilities
required to maintain compliance with the TCEQ minimum design criteria for water production,
treatment, pumping, storage and transmission.

Any service extension to a subdivision (recorded or unrecorded) may be subject to the provisions
and restrictions of 16 TAC § 24.163(d). When a developer wishes to extend the system to prepare
to service multiple new connections, the charge shall be the cost of such extension, plus a pro-rata
charge for facilities which must be committed to such extension compliant with the TCEQ
minimum design criteria. As provided by 16 TAC § 24.163(d}4), for purposes of this section,
commercial, industrial, and wholesale customers shall be treated as developers.

A utility may only charge a developer standby fees for unrecovered costs of facilities committed
to a developer’s property under the following circumstances:
¢ Under a contract and only in accordance with the terms of the contract; or
» if service is not being provided to a lot or lots within two years after installation of
facilities necessary to provide service to the lots has been completed and if the standby
fees are included on the utilities approved taritt after a rate change application has been
filed. The fees cannot be billed to the developer or collected until the standby tees have
been approved by the commission or executive director.
for purposes of this section, a manufactured housing rental community can only be
charged standby tees under a contract or if the utility installs the facilities necessary to
provide individually metered service to each of the rental lots or spaces in the
community.

Section 3.04 - Appealing Connection Costs

The imposition of additional extension costs or charges as provided by Sections 3.0 - Extension
Pclicy of this tariff shall be subject to appeal as provided in this taniff, PUC rules, or the rules of
such other regulatory authority as may have jurisdiction over the utility's rates and services. Any
applicant required to pay for any costs not specitically set forth in the rate schedule pages of this
taritf shall be given a written explanation of such costs prior to payment and/or commencement of
construction. If the applicant does not believe that these costs are reasonable or necessary, the
applicant shall be informed of the right to appeal such costs to the PUC or such other regulatory
authority having jurisdiction over the utility's rates in that portion of the utility's service area in
which the applicant's property(ies) is located.

Section 3.05 - Applving for Service

The utility will provide a written service application form to the applicant for each request tor
service received by the utility's business offices. A separate application shall be required for each
potential service location if more than one service connection is desired by any individual applicant,
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SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (continued)

Service application forms will be available at the utility's business office during normal weekday
business hours. Service applications will be sent by prepaid first class United States mail to the
address provided by the applicant upon request. Completed applications should be returned by
hand delivery in case there are questions which might delay fulfilling the service request.
Completed service applications may be submitted by mail if hand delivery is not possible.

Where a new tap or service connection is required, the service applicant shall be required to submit
a written service application and request that a tap be made. A diagram, map, plat, or written metes
and bounds description of precisely where the applicant desires each tap or service connection is
to be made and, if necessary, where the meter is to be installed, along the applicant's property line
may also be required with the tap request. The actual point of connection and meter installation
must be readily accessible to utility personnel for inspection, servicing, and meter reading while
being reascnably secure from damage by vehicles and mowers. If the utility has more than one
main adjacent to the service applicant's property, the tap or service connection will be made to the
utility's nearest service main with adequate capacity to service the applicant's full potential service
demand. Beyond the initial 200 feet, the customer shall bear only the equivalent cost of extending
from the nearest main. 1f the tap or service connection cannot be made at the applicant's desired
location, it will be made at another location mutually acceptable to the applicant and the utility. If
no agreement on location can be made, the applicant may refer the matter to the PUC tor resolution.

Section 3.06 - Qualified Service Applicant

A "qualified service applicant” 1s an applicant who has: (1) met all of the utility's requirements for
service contained in this tanff, PUC rules and/or PUC order, (2) has made payment or made
arrangement for payment of tap fees, (3) has provided all easements and rights-of-way required to
provide service to the requested location, (4) delivered an executed customer service inspection
certificate to the utility, it applicable, and (5) has executed a customer service application tor each
location to which service is being requested.

The utility shall serve each qualified service applicant within its certified service area as soon as
practical after receiving a completed service application. All service requests will be fulfilled
within the time limits prescribed by PUC rules once the applicant has met all conditions precedent
to achieving "qualified service applicant” status. If a service request cannot be fultilled within the
required period, the applicant shall be notitied in writing of the delay, its cause and the anticipated
date that service will be available. The PUC service dates shall not become applicable until the
service applicant has met all conditions precedent to becoming a qualified service applicant as
defined by PUC rules.

Section 3.07 - Developer Requirements
As a condition of service to a new subdivision, the utility shall require a developer (as defined by
PUC rule) to provide permanent recorded public utility easements as a condition of service to any
location within the developer's property.
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