

Filing Receipt

Received - 2022-03-15 03:34:15 PM Control Number - 53075 ItemNumber - 430 Robert J. Huston, *Chairman*R. B. "Ralph" Marquez, *Commissioner*John M. Baker, *Commissioner*Jeffrey A. Saitas, *Executive Director* 



# TEXAS NATURAL RESOURCE CONSERVATION COMMISSION

Protecting Texas by Reducing and Preventing Pollution

## **CERTIFIED MAIL**

March 10, 1999

Mr. Joe Ridgeway Geronimo Forest Water System P. O. Box 521 Castroville, Texas 78009

Re: Surcharge Request for Recovery of Sampling Fees for Geronimo Forest Water System for recovery of Sampling Fees, Certificate of Convenience and Necessity (CCN) 11700

in Bexar County; Application No. 32462-G

Dear Mr. Ridgeway:

Your request for a sampling surcharge for Geronimo Forest Water System (Geronimo Forest) and related documentation were received by the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission (Commission) on January 25, 1999. Pursuant to 291.21(k)(2) of the Commission's Rules, a \$21.03 per customer surcharge is approved for one (1) month period for a total amount of \$2,818.06 for the existing 134 customers. Geronimo Forest may not charge this surcharge for more than one (1) month. Geronimo Forest should attach this letter to your approved tariff as authorization to charge the sampling surcharge.

The bill that Geronimo Forest sends out that includes the sampling surcharge should include a short statement such as "The sampling surcharge has been approved by the TNRCC to cover sampling fees incurred by the utility and required by the Safe Drinking Water Act." The sampling surcharge must be listed separately on a monthly bill.

If you have any questions, please contact me at 512/239-6960.

Sincerely,

Zhaohui "Josie" Sun, E.I.T.

Zhaohii Sun

Utility Rates and Services Section

Water Utilities Division, MC 153

ZS/mmr

cc: TNRCC Region No. 13

P.O. Box 13087 • Austin, Texas 78711-3087 • 512/239-1000 • Internet address: www.tnrcc.state.tx.us

#### WATER UTILITY TARIFF

FOR

<u>Joe Ridgeway dba Geronimo Forest Water System</u>
(Utility Name)

P.O. Box 521
(Business Address)

Castroville, Texas 78009

(521) 751-3351

This tariff is effective for utility operations under the following Certificate(s) of Convenience and Necessity:

#### 11700

This tariff is effective in the following county(ies):

#### Bexar

This tariff is effective in the following cities or unincorporated towns (if any):

#### None

This tariff is effective in the following subdivisions or systems:

Geronimo Forest

#### TABLE OF CONTENTS

The above utility lists the following sections of its tariff (if additional pages are needed for a section, all pages should be numbered consecutively):

SECTION	PAGE
1.0	RATE SCHEDULE
2.0	SERVICE RULES
3.0	EXTENSION POLICY
4.0	WATER RATIONING PLAN
APPENDIX A	SERVICE AGREEMENTS

## TEXAS WATER COMMISSION

9378-GCCN 11703 JAN 23'92 D.A. APPROVED TARIFF BY BF of

# Geronimo Forest Water Systems

Water Tariff Page No. 2
Revision Date \_\_/\_/

## SECTION 1.0 - RATE SCHEDULE

Sect:	ion 1.01 - Rates		
	<u>Monthly Minimum</u>	<u>Charge</u>	,
<u>Mete</u>	<u>c Size</u>		<u>Gallonage Charge</u>
5/8"	or 3/4" \$19.00_ (INCLUDING _1 1" \$32.00_	,000_ GALLONS)	\$1.40_ per 1000 gallons same for all meter sizes
REGUI	LATORY ASSESSMENT		1.0%_
<u>Secti</u>	ion 1.02 - Miscellaneous Fees		
TAP I	TEE	I .	\$475.00_
RECON	NECTION FEE  THE RECONNECT FEE WILL BE CHARGED BEFORE SERVICE CAN BE F TO A CUSTOMER WHO HAS BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR THE FOLLOWING		
	a) Non payment of bill (Maximum b) Customer's request OR OTHER REASONS LISTED UNDER SECTION 2.0 OF THE		\$25.00_ \$53.00_
TRANS	SFER FEE	NAME AT	\$36.00_
LATE	CHARGE		\$ <u>2.00 OR 5%</u>
RETUF	RNED CHECK CHARGE		\$15.00_
CÜSTO	OMER DEPOSIT (Maximum \$50)		\$50.00_
METEF	R TEST FEE (actual cost of testing this fee may be charged if a customer requests a second may be the test indicates that the meter is	ETER TEST WITHIN A	to) . \$25.00_
	B LISTED ARE EFFECTIVE ONLY IF PAGE HAS TNRCC APPROVAL STAMP	Date 12-23-95	RCE CONSERVATION COMMISSION APPROVED Docket 31044-6 By Dw ah 3-25-90 ARIFF CLERK

#### SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND REGULATIONS

#### Section 2.01 - Texas Water Commission Rules

The utility will have the most current Texas Water Commission Rules, Chapter 291, Water Rates, available at its office for reference purposes. The Rules and this tariff shall be available for public inspection and reproduction at a reasonable cost. The latest Rules or Commission approved changes to the Rules supersede any rules or requirements in this tariff.

## Section 2.02 - Application for and Provision of Water Service

All applications for service will be made on the utility's standard application or contract form (attached in the Appendix to this tariff) and will be signed by the applicant before water service is provided by the utility. A separate application or contract will be made for each service at each separate location.

After the applicant has met all the requirements, conditions and regulations for service, the utility will install tap, meter and utility cut-off valve and/or take all necessary actions to initiate service. The utility will serve each qualified applicant for service within 5 working days unless line extensions or new facilities are required. If construction is required to fill the order and if it cannot be completed within 30 days, the utility will provide the applicant with a written explanation of the construction required and an expected date of service.

Where service has previously been provided, the utility will reconnect the service within one working day after the applicant has met the requirements for reconnection.

The customer will be responsible for furnishing and laying the necessary customer service pipe from the meter location to the place of consumption. Customers may be required to install a customer owned cut-off valve on the customer's side of the meter or connection.

## Section 2.03 - Refusal of Service

The utility may decline to serve an applicant until the applicant has complied with the regulations of the regulatory agencies (state and municipal regulations) and for the reasons outlined in the TWC Rules. In the event that the utility refuses to serve an applicant, the utility will inform the applicant in writing of the basis of its refusal. The utility is also required to inform the applicant that he may file a complaint with the Commission.

#### Section 2.04 - Customer Deposits

If a residential applicant cannot establish credit to the satisfaction of the utility, the applicant will be required to pay a deposit as provided for in Section 1.02 of this tariff. The utility will keep records of the deposit and credit interest in accordance with TWC Rules.

TEXAS WATER COMMISSION

9378-GCCN 11700 JAN 25'92 DA. APPROVED TARIFF BY BF al

#### SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND REGULATIONS (CONT.)

Residential applicants 65 years of age or older may not be required to pay deposits unless the applicant has an outstanding account balance with the utility or another water or sewer utility which accrued within the last two years.

Nonresidential applicants who cannot establish credit to the satisfaction of the utility may be required to make a deposit that does not exceed an amount equivalent to one-sixth of the estimated annual billings.

Refund of deposit - If service is not connected, or after disconnection of service, the utility will promptly refund the customer's deposit plus accrued interest or the balance, if any, in excess of the unpaid bills for service furnished. The utility may refund the deposit at any time prior to termination of utility service but must refund the deposit plus interest for any customer who has paid 18 consecutive billings without being delinquent.

## Section 2.05 - Meter Requirements, Readings, and Testing

All water sold by the utility will be billed based on meter measurements. The utility will provide, install, own and maintain meters to measure amounts of water consumed by its customers. One meter is required for each residential, commercial or industrial facility in accordance with the TWC Rules.

Service meters will be read at monthly intervals and as nearly as possible on the corresponding day of each monthly meter reading period unless otherwise authorized by the Commission.

The utility will, upon the request of a customer, and, Meter tests. if the customer so desires, in his presence or in that of his authorized representative, make without charge a test of the accuracy of the customer's meter. The test will be made during the utility's normal working hours at a time convenient to the customer if he desires to observe the test. The test will be made preferably on the customer's premises, but may, at the utility's discretion, be made at the utility's test laboratory. If within a period of two years the customer requests a new test, the utility will make the test, but if the meter is found to be within the accuracy standards established by the American Water Works Association, the utility will charge the customer a fee which reflects the cost to test the meter up to a maximum \$25 for a residential customer. Following the completion of any requested test, the utility will promptly advise the customer of the date of removal of the meter, the date of the test, the result of the test, and who made the test.

#### Section 2.06 - Billing

Bills from the utility will be mailed monthly unless otherwise authorized by the Commission. Payment is considered late if not received by 5:00 PM at the utility's office or postal address within sixteen (16) days of the billing date. The postmark on the envelope TEXAS WATER COMMISSION

9378-GCCN 11709 JAN 25'92 DA. APPROVED TARIFF BY BF at

#### SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND REGULATIONS (CONT.)

of the bill or the recorded date of mailing by the utility, if there is no postmark on the envelope, will constitute proof of the date of issuance. If the due date falls on a holiday or weekend, the due date for payment purposes will be the next work day after the due date.

A late penalty of either \$2.00 or 5.0% will be charged on bills received after the due date. The penalty on delinquent bills will not be applied to any balance to which the penalty was applied in a previous billing. The utility must maintain a record of the date of mailing to charge the late penalty.

Each bill will provide all information required by the TWC Rules. The utility will maintain and note on the monthly billing a telephone number (or numbers) which may be reached by a local call by customers of each of the systems it operates. At the utility's option, a toll-free telephone number or the equivalent may be provided.

In the event of a dispute between a customer and a utility regarding any bill for utility service, the utility will conduct an investigation and report the results to the customer. If the dispute is not resolved, the utility will inform the customer that a complaint may be filed with the Commission.

## Section 2.07 - Service Disconnection

Utility service may be disconnected if the bill has not been paid in full by the date listed on the termination notice. The termination date must be at least 10 days after the notice is mailed or hand delivered.

The utility is encouraged to offer a deferred payment plan to a customer who cannot pay an outstanding bill in full and is willing to pay the balance in reasonable installments. However, a customer's utility service may be disconnected if a bill has not been paid or a deferred payment agreement entered into within 26 days from the date of issuance of a bill and if proper notice of termination has been given.

Notice of termination must be a separate mailing or hand delivery in accordance with the TWC Rules.

Utility service may also be disconnected without notice for reasons as described in the TWC Rules.

Utility personnel must be available to collect payments and to reconnect service on the day of and the day after any disconnection of service unless service was disconnected at the customer's request or because of a hazardous condition.

TEXAS WATER COMMISSION

9378-GCCN 11700 JAN 25'92

D.A. APPROVED TARIFF BY BF at

## SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND REGULATIONS (CONT.)

#### Section 2.08 - Reconnection of Service

Service will be reconnected within 24 hours after the past due bill and any other outstanding charges are paid or correction of the conditions which caused service to be disconnected.

## Section 2.09 - Service Interruptions

The utility will make all reasonable efforts to prevent interruptions of service. If interruptions occur, the utility will re-establish service within the shortest possible time. Except for momentary interruptions due to automatic equipment operations, the utility will keep a complete record of all interruptions, both emergency and scheduled and will notify the Commission in writing of any service interruptions affecting the entire system or any major division of the system lasting more than four hours. The notice will explain the cause of the interruptions.

Prorated Bills - If service is interrupted or seriously impaired for 24 consecutive hours or more, the utility will prorate the monthly base bill in proportion to the time service was not available to reflect this loss of service.

## Section 2.10 - Quality of Service

The utility will plan, furnish, and maintain production, treatment, storage, transmission, and distribution facilities of sufficient size and capacity to provide a continuous and adequate supply of water for all reasonable consumer uses. Unless otherwise authorized by the Commission, the utility will maintain facilities as described in the TWC Rules or in the Texas Department of Health's "Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems."

#### Section 2.11 - Customer Complaints and Disputes

If a customer or applicant for service lodges a complaint, the utility will promptly make a suitable investigation and advise the complainant of the results. Service will not be disconnected pending completion of the investigation. If the complainant is dissatisfied with the utility's response, the utility must advise the complainant that he has recourse through the Texas Water Commission complaint process. Pending resolution of a complaint, the commission may require continuation or restoration of service.

The utility will maintain a record of all complaints which shows the name and address of the complainant, the date and nature of the complaint and the adjustment or disposition thereof, for a period of two years after the final settlement of the complaint.

TEXAS WATER COMMISSION

9378-GCCN 11700 JAN 25'92 D.A. APPROVED TARIFF BY SF OF

Joe Ridgeway dba Geronimo Forest Water System

SECTION 2.20 - SPECIFIC UTILITY SERVICE RULES AND REGULATIONS

This section contains specific utility service rules in addition to the rules previously listed under Section 2.0. It must be reviewed and approved by the Commission and in compliance with TWC Rules to be effective.

TEXAS WATER COMMISSION

9378-GCCN 11700 JAN 27 92

D.A. APPROVED TARIFF BY BF AL

#### SECTION 3.0 - EXTENSION POLICY

### Section 3.01 - Standard Extension Requirements

LINE EXTENSION AND CONSTRUCTION CHARGES. No contribution in aid of construction may be required of any customer except as provided for in this approved extension policy.

The customer will be given an itemized statement of the costs, options such as rebates to the customer, sharing of construction costs between the utility and the customer, or sharing of costs between the customer and other applicants prior to beginning construction.

The utility will bear the full cost of any oversizing of water mains necessary to serve other customers in the immediate area. individual residential customer shall not be charged for any additional production, storage, or treatment facilities. Contributions in aid of construction may not be required of individual residential customers for production, storage, treatment or transmission facilities unless otherwise approved by the Commission under this specific extension policy.

COST UTILITIES SHALL BEAR. Within its certificate area, the utility will pay the cost of the first 200 feet of any water main or sewer collection line necessary to extend service to an individual residential customer within a platted subdivision. However, if the residential customer requesting service purchased the property after the developer was notified of the need to provide facilities to the utility, the utility may charge for the first 200 feet. The utility must also be able to document that the developer of the subdivision refused to provide facilities compatible with the utility's facilities in accordance with the utility's approved extension policy after receiving a written request from the utility.

Developers may be required to provide contributions in aid of construction in amounts to furnish the system with all facilities necessary to comply with the Texas Department of Health's "Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems."

TEXAS WATER COMMISSION

9378-GCN 11700 JAN 25192

D.A. APPROVED TARIFF BY BE al

#### SECTION 3.20 - SPECIFIC UTILITY EXTENSION POLICY

This section contains the utility's specific extension policy which complies with the requirements already stated under Section 3.01. It must be reviewed and approved by the Commission and in compliance with TWC Rules to be effective.

Residential customers not covered under Section 3.01 will be charged the equivalent of the costs of extending service to their property from the nearest transmission or distribution line even if that line does not have adequate capacity to serve the customer. However, if the customer places unique, non-standard service demands upon the system, the customer may be charged the full cost of extending service to and throughout their property, including the cost of all necessary transmission and storage facilities necessary to meet the service demands anticipated to be created by that property.

Developers will be required to provide contributions in aid of construction in amounts sufficient to furnish the development with all facilities necessary to provide for reasonable local demand requirements and to comply with Texas Department of Health minimum design criteria for facilities used in the production, transmission, pumping, or treatment of water or Texas Water Commission minimum requirements. For purposes of this subsection, a developer is one who subdivides or requests more than two meters on a piece of property. Commercial, industrial, and wholesale customers will be treated as developers.

9378-GCN 11703 JAN 2582
D.A. APPROVED TARIFF BY BF of

#### SECTION 4.0 - WATER RATIONING PROGRAM

In cases of extreme drought, periods of abnormally high usage, or extended reduction in ability to supply water due to equipment failure, temporary restrictions may be instituted to limit water usage. The purpose of the Water Rationing Program is to limit the total amount of water demanded from the utility and to encourage customer conservation.

Water rationing is not a legitimate alternative when water systems are deficient in meeting the Texas Department of Health's "Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems" and the Commission Rules during normal use periods, or when the utility is not making all immediate and necessary efforts to replace or repair malfunctioning equipment.

## Section 4.01 - General Provisions

DECLARATION OF WATER RATIONING: When there is an acute water supply shortage to such an extent that normal use patterns will no longer be possible, the utility may implement a water rationing program in the following manner.

NOTICE REQUIREMENTS: Written notice must be provided to each customer prior to implementing the rationing program. Mailed notice must be given 72 hours prior to the start of rationing. If notice is hand delivered, the utility cannot enforce the provisions of the plan for 24 hours after notice is provided.

Notice will be provided by telephone to the Commission prior to implementing the program and will be followed within 10 days with a copy of the utility's rationing notice. The customer's written notice will contain the following information:

- 1. the date rationing will begin;
- 2. the date rationing will end;
- the stage of rationing and explanation of the restrictions to be 3. implemented; and,
- explanation of penalties for violations.

The utility must file a status report of its rationing program with the Commission every 30 days that rationing continues.

#### VIOLATION OF RATIONING RULES:

- First violation the customer will be notified by written notice 1. of their specific violation.
- Second violation after written notice the utility may install 2. a flow restricter in the line to limit the amount of water which will pass through the meter in a 24 hour period. The cost to be charged to the customer's account will be the actual installed cost to the utility, not to exceed \$50.00.
- Subsequent violations the utility may terminate service at the 3. meter for a period of seven (7) days, or until the end of the calendar month, whichever is LESS. The normal reconnect fee of the utility will apply for restoration of service.

TEXAS WATER COMMISSION

9378-GCCN 11700 JAN 25 82 D.A. APPROVED TARIFF BY BF al SECTION 4.0 - WATER RATIONING PROGRAM (CONT.)

## Section 4.01 - General Provisions (cont.)

EXEMPTIONS OR VARIANCES FROM RATIONING RULES: The utility may grant any customer an exemption or variance from the uniform rationing program for good cause. A customer who is refused an exemption or variance may appeal such action of the utility by <u>written</u> appeal to the Texas Water Commission. The utility will treat all customers equally concerning exemptions and variances, and shall not discriminate in granting exemptions and variances.

RATES: All existing rates schedules will remain in effect during the rationing period, and no charges may be levied against a customer which are not contained in the approved tariff of the utility as filed with the Commission.

#### Section 4.02 - Stages of Rationing

Unless there is an immediate extreme reduction in water production, to declare an emergency or severe condition the Utility must initially declare Stage I rationing. If, after a reasonable period of time, demand is not reduced enough to alleviate outages, Stage II may be declared with Stage III to follow if necessary.

STAGE I (MILD RATIONING CONDITIONS): Under Stage I (Mild Rationing Conditions) the Utility may select only one of the alternatives listed below. Usage of water for outdoor purposes such as lawns, gardens, car washing, etc. will be restricted to:

- 1. <u>Alternate Day Use</u> Customers with even numbered addresses may use water outdoors on even numbered days and customers with odd numbered addresses may water outdoors on odd numbered days. (When there are no addresses, North and West sides of streets: even days; South and East sides of streets: odd days.)
- 2. <u>Restricted Hours of Use</u> Outside watering is allowed daily only during periods described in the customer notices.
- 3. Every Five Day Use Customers whose addresses end in 0 and 1 may use water outdoors on the 1st day of the month; 2 and 3--on the 2nd; 4 and 5--3rd; 6 and 7--4th; 8 and 9--5th; 0 and 1--6th... and so on. The utility must provide a calendar noting the respective watering days and the order should remain consecutive as new months begin.

STAGE II (MODERATE RATIONING CONDITIONS): All outdoor water usage is prohibited except by hand held hoses with manual turn-on/off nozzles. Water usage for livestock is exempt.

9378-GCN 11700 JAN 2582 D.A. APPROVED TARIFF BY BE AL SECTION 4.0 - WATER RATIONING PROGRAM (CONT.)

## Section 4.02 - Stages of Rationing (cont.)

STAGE III (SEVERE RATIONING CONDITIONS): All outdoor water usage is prohibited; livestock may be exempted by the utility. All consumption may also be limited to each customer in one of the following ways:

- An average of the customer's winter months' average to be uniformly applied on a systemwide basis, each customer being notified of this average amount;
- 2. Based upon technical data of the utility's facilities, a maximum number of gallons per meter (customer) per month, with notice to each customer of this number. Approval of the Commission must be obtained prior to implementing this restriction.

All meters shall be read as often as necessary to insure compliance with this program for the benefit of all the customers.

SECTION 4.20 - SPECIFIC UTILITY WATER RATIONING PROGRAM

This section contains a specific utility water rationing program in addition to the one stated under Section 4.0. It must be reviewed and approved by the Commission and in compliance with the TWC Rules to be effective.

TEXAS WATER COMMISSION
9378-GCN 1170) JAN 27182
D.A. APPROVED TARIFF DY BEAL