

Control Number: 52553

Item Number: 1



2021 SEP 10 AM 9: 58

Appeal of the Cost of Obtaining Service from a Water Supply Corporation (WSC)

This appeal is pursuant to Texas Water Code §13.043(g) and Public Utility Commission's (PUC or commission) Substantive Rule §24.101(g)

Water Service Provider		
Name: The Consolidate	Water	Supply Corporation
401 NE 600p 304	CROCKEHT 7x 75835	936-549 2986
(Address)	City, State, Zip Code)	(Area Code/Number)
Applicant		•
Name: Brucoskoy & Sk	roman Maxie	
1138 FSR 513 14	ennard 7x 75847	936-240-6349
(Address)	City, State, Zip Code)	(Area Code/Number)
Cost of Obtaining Service		
If a breakdown of the cost is available:	100 00	
Membership Fee \$	400,00	
Tap Fee \$ Z	-362.00	
Extension Charges \$		
Capital Contribution \$		
Other Charges \$		
Total Cost of Obtaining Service \$ 0.0	0	
Additional Information		
Date application for service submitted to	WSC:	
Date written estimate of charges received	: 8-29-2021	
	\mathcal{N}	
	$ \chi$	
	Signature of A	Applicant



Instructions for Appealing the Cost of Obtaining Service from a Water Supply Corporation pursuant to Texas Water Code §13.043(g) and Public Utility Commission's (PUC or commission) Substantive Rule §24.101(g)

- 1. <u>Enclosures</u>:
- Application for service submitted to WSC
- Written estimate received from WSC.
- Map showing exact location of the place of use.
- All related correspondence.
- 2. To obtain service during the appeal process, you must pay the cost required by the WSC. If the commission sets a lower connection cost as a result of your appeal, you will be refunded the difference.

Filing Deadlines

- 3. Your appeal must be filed within 90 days of the date you receive a written estimate of the cost from the WSC, or
- 4. If you paid before receiving a written estimate, your appeal must be filed within 90 days of the date you paid.

Filing Procedure

- 5. Use the form attached to these instructions to provide basic information about your appeal and to see the types of enclosures you should send, if available.
- 6. After completing the form, make a copy for your records and for the WSC.
- 7. To file your appeal, send 10 copies of the completed form, and enclosures (per PUC Procedural Rule §22.71(c)(14)) to:

Filing Clerk
Public Utility Commission of Texas
1701 North Congress Avenue
P.O. Box 13326
Austin, Texas 78711-3326

8. Send a copy of your appeal to the WSC.

The Consolidated Water Supply Corporation

401 NE Loop 304 Crockett, Texas 75835

Phone: 936-544-2986 Fax: 936-544-7712

August 24, 2021

Brocoskey and Shonnah Maxie 376 Walnut Hill Road Lufkin, TX 75904

COST OF METER INSTALLATION

Meter Installation (tap fee and equity buy-in/capital improvement fee)	2362.00
Membership Fee (meter/account deposit, refundable upon voluntary termination)	408.00
Easement Fee (standard Form RUS-TX-442-9)	30.00

Total Amount Due 2800.00

Method of payment on new service is CASH, CHECK or MONEY ORDER. Payment and completed paperwork is due in full before meter is set.

IF THE WATER PRESSURE IS OVER 85 PSI, WE WILL INSTALL A PRESSURE REGULATOR ON YOUR SIDE AND BILL YOU \$95.00 FOR THE COST OF THE REGULATOR. Regulator is owned and maintained by member. Meter and all facilities upstream of meter are owned and maintained by The Consolidated WSC.

Monthly Charges

Service Availability (standard 5/8" x 3/4" meter) \$34.00/month Gallons Used \$5.40/1000 gallons TCEQ Regulatory Fee* 0.5% of bill Late Fee (payments received after the 10th of the month) 10% of past due bill

Quotes are valid for 30 days. PLEASE CALL US IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS.

^{*}This is a required regulatory fee for The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality.

SECTION G. RATES AND SERVICE FEES

Unless specifically defined in this Tariff, all fees, rates, and charges as stated shall be non-refundable.

- 1. Service Investigation Fee. The Corporation shall conduct a service investigation for each service application submitted at the Corporation office. An initial determination shall be made by the Corporation, without charge, as to whether the service request is Standard or Non-Standard. An investigation shall then be conducted and the results reported under the following terms:
 - a. All Standard Service requests shall be investigated without charge and all applicable costs for providing service shall be quoted in writing to the Applicant within ten (10) working days of application.
 - b. All Non-Standard Service requests shall be subject to a fee, appropriate to each project, of sufficient amount to cover all administrative, legal, and engineering fees associated with investigation of the Corporation's ability to deliver service to the Applicant to;
 - (1) provide cost estimates of the project,
 - (2) to present detailed plans and specifications as per final plat,
 - (3) to advertise and accept bids for the project,
 - (4) to present a Non-Standard Service Contract to the Applicant, and
 - (5) to provide other services as required by the Corporation for such investigation. A Non-Standard Service Contract shall be presented to the Applicant within a suitable amount of time as determined by the complexity of the project. (See Section F.)
- 2. *Membership Fee.* At the time the application for service is approved, a refundable Membership Fee must be paid for each service requested before service shall be provided or reserved for the Applicant by the Corporation.
 - a. The Membership Fee for water service is \$408.00 for each service unit.
 - b. Membership fee for oversized or Master Metered Accounts shall be based on multiples of meter size equivalence or actual connections served.
- 3. Easement Fee. When the Corporation determines that private right-of-way easements and/or facilities sites are necessary to provide service to the Applicant, the Applicant shall be required to make good faith efforts to secure easements in behalf of the Corporation and/or pay all costs incurred by the Corporation in validating, clearing, and retaining such right-of-way in addition to tap fees otherwise required pursuant to the provisions of this Tariff. The costs may include all legal fees and expenses necessary to attempt to secure such right-of-way and/or facilities sites in behalf of the Applicant. (See Section E. 2. c. (2), Section F. 7. a.)
- 4. *Installation Fee.* The Corporation shall charge an installation fee for service as follows:
 - a. **Standard Service** shall include all current labor, materials, engineering, legal, customer service inspection, and administrative costs necessary to provide individual metered water service and shall be charged on a per tap basis as computed immediately prior to such time as metered service is requested and installed.
 - b. **Non-Standard Service** shall include any and all construction labor and materials, inspection, administration, legal, and engineering fees, as determined by the Corporation under the rules of Section F of this Tariff.
 - c. Standard and Non-Standard Service Installations shall include all costs of any pipeline relocations as per Section E.2. (d) (6) of this Tariff or other system improvements.

approved	WSC

5. **Equity Buy-In Fee.** In addition to the Membership Fee, each Applicant shall be required to achieve parity with Members. This fee shall be assessed immediately prior to providing or reserving service on a per service unit basis for each tap/lot and shall be assigned and restricted to the tap/lot for which the service was originally requested. The formula applied to such fee calculated annually after receipt of the system audit is as follows:

Sample Calculation:

Total Contributions and Assets of the Corporation minus (-)
Accumulated Depreciation minus (-)
Outstanding Corporation Debt Principle minus (-)
Developer Contributions minus (-)
Grants received divided by
Total Number of Members / Customers equals =
Average Net Equity Buy-In Fee

a. Water Fee is	

6. Monthly Charges.

- a. Service Availability Charge
 - (1) Water Service The monthly charge for metered water service, which will not include allowable gallonage, is based on demand by meter size. Each charge is assessed based on the number of 5/8" X 3/4" meters (as per American Water Works Association maximum continuous flow specifications (see Miscellaneous) equivalent to the size indicated and is used as a base multiplier for the Service Availability Charge. Rates and equivalents are as follows:

METER SIZE	5/8" X 3/4" METER EQUIVALENTS	MONTHLY RATE
5/8" X 3/4" 3/4" 1" 1 1/2" 2" 3" DISP. 3" CMPD. 3" TURB. 4" CMPD.	1.0 1.5 2.5 5.0 8.0 9.0 16.0 17.5 25.0 30.0	\$34.00 \$51.00 \$85.00 \$170.00 \$272.00
6" CMPD. 6" TURB. 8" CMPD.	50.0 62.5 80.0	

b. Reserved Service Charges -- The monthly charge for each active account at a specific location for which a meter has not been installed but for which the Corporation and the Applicant have entered into agreement and/or contract for reserved service. This monthly charge shall be based on the Corporation's fixed costs to service the Applicant's dedicated facilities on a per Service Unit basis. This charge reserves service to the Applicant's property designated to receive service. This fee is

App	roved	WSC

- determined on a case by case basis but shall never exceed the Service Availability Charge for Metered Service on a per Service Unit basis.
- c. Gallonage Charge In addition to the Service Availability Charge, a gallonage charge shall be added at the following rates for usage during any one (1) billing period.
 - (1) Water \$5.40 per 1,000 gallons.
 - (2) The Corporation shall, as required by Section 5.235, Water Code of the State of Texas, collect from each of its retail customers a regulatory assessment equal to one-half of one percent of the charge for retail water or wastewater service. This charge shall be collected in addition to other charges for utility service. This fee is collected on all charges pertaining to Section G.6. Monthly Charges of this tariff. (30 TAC 291.76 d.(3) (i)
- d. *Customer Notice Provisions*. The Corporation shall give written notice of monthly rate changes by mail or hand delivery to all consumers at least 30 days prior to the effective date of the new rate. The notice shall contain the old rates, new rates, effective date of the new rate, date of Board authorization, and the name and phone number of the Corporation's contact person designated to address inquiries about the rate change.
- 7. **Assessments** If at the end of the fiscal year, or in the event of emergency repairs, the Board of Directors determines the total amount derived from the collection of water charges to be insufficient for the payment of all costs incident to the operation of the Corporation's system during the year in which such charges are collected, the Board shall make and levy an assessment against each Member of the Corporation as the Board may determine or as may be required by Rural Development, so that the sum of such assessments and the amount collected from water and other charges is sufficient to fully pay all costs of the operation, maintenance, replacement and repayment on indebtedness for the year's operations. (Article XVIII of Bylaws, Section 1.)
- 8. Late Payment Fee. Once per billing period, a penalty of 10%, shall be applied to delinquent bills. This late payment penalty shall not be applied to any balance to which the penalty was applied in a previous billing, but shall be applied to any unpaid balance during the current billing period.
- 9. *Owner Notification Fee.* The Corporation may, at the expense of the Member, notify said Member of a renter/lessee delinquent account status prior to disconnection of service. The Owner Notification Fee shall be \$50.00 per notification. (See Miscellaneous Transaction Forms.)
- 10. *Mortgagee/Guarantor Notification Fee.* The Corporation shall assess a fee of \$50.00 for each notification to a Membership lien-holder under agreement prior to Membership cancellation. (See Miscellaneous Transaction Forms.)
- 11. **Returned Check Fee.** In the event a check, draft, or any other similar instrument is given by a person, firm, corporation, or partnership to the Corporation for payment of services provided for in this Tariff, and the instrument is returned by the bank or other similar institution as insufficient or non-negotiable for any reason, the account for which the instrument was issued shall be assessed a return check charge of \$35.00 (see Miscellaneous Transaction Forms)
- 12. **Reconnect Fee.** The Corporation shall charge a fee of \$150.00 for reconnecting service before 2:00 pm on a normal business day and no reconnecting service after normal business hours, after the Corporation has previously disconnected the service for any reason provided for in this Tariff except for activation of service under Section E.3.b. Re-Service.
- 13. Service Trip Fee. The Corporation shall charge a trip fee of \$150.00 for any service call or trip to the Member's tap as a result of a request by the Member or resident (unless the service call is in response to

	TITOO
Approved	WSC

damage of the Corporation's or another Member's facilities) or for the purpose of disconnecting or collecting payment for services during normal business hours and \$150.00 after normal business hours.

- 14. *Equipment Damage Fee.* If the Corporation's facilities or equipment have been damaged by tampering, by-passing, installing unauthorized taps, reconnecting service without authority, or other service diversion, a fee shall be charged equal to the actual costs for all labor, material, and equipment necessary for repair, replacement, and other Corporation actions. This fee shall be charged and paid before service is re-established. If the Corporation's equipment has not been damaged, a fee equal to the actual costs for all labor, material, equipment, and other actions necessary to correct service diversions, unauthorized taps, or reconnection of service without authority shall be charged. All components of this fee will be itemized, and a statement shall be provided to the Member. If the Corporation's facilities or equipment have been damaged due to negligence or unauthorized use of the Corporation's equipment, right-of-way, or meter shut-off valve, or due to other acts for which the Corporation incurs losses or damages, the Member shall be liable for all labor and material charges incurred as a result of said acts or negligence.
- 15. Customer History Report Fee. A fee of \$5.00 shall be charged to provide a copy of the Members record of past water purchases in response to a Member's request for such a record.
- 16. *Meter Test Fee.* The Corporation shall test a Member's meter upon written request of the Member. Under the terms of Section E of this Tariff, a charge of \$150.00 plus cost of meter test shall be imposed on the affected account.
- 17. *Transfer Fee.* An Applicant for service who is a Transferee shall complete all required application forms, etc., and pay a Transfer Fee of \$50.00.
- 18. *Non-Disclosure Fee.* A fee of \$5.00 shall be assessed any customer requesting in writing that personal information under the terms of this tariff not be disclosed to the public.
- 19. *Information Disclosure Fee.* All public information except that which has been individually requested as confidential shall be available to the public for a fee to be determined by the Corporation based on the level of service and costs to provide such information, but not to be inconsistent with the terms of the Texas Publication Information_Act: Chapter 552, Texas Government Code.
- 20. Customer Service Inspection Fee. A fee of cost incurred plus 10% will be assessed each Applicant before permanent continuous service is provided to new construction.
 21. Franchise Fee Assessment. A fee of ______% of the amount billed for water service will be assessed each customer whose meter is located inside the corporate limits of the City of ______, Texas, as required by the City's ordinance requiring a franchise fee.
 22. Regulatory Assessment. A fee of 0.5% of the amount billed for water service will be assessed each
- 22. **Regulatory Assessment.** A fee of 0.5% of the amount billed for water service will be assessed each customer; this assessment is required under Texas law and TCEQ regulations.
- 23. *Additional Assessments*. In the event any federal, state or local government imposes on the Corporation a "per meter" fee or an assessment based on a percent of water charges, this fee or assessment will be billed and collected as a "pass through" charge to the customer.
- 24. *Groundwater District Production Fee.* A fee of ___per thousand gallons of water used by each customer; this fee is collected to pay a portion of the annual fee charged the Corporation by

	,	r	<i>G</i>	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
Approved					WSC

_____ WSC

	Groundwater Conservation District based on the amount of water pumped from the Corporation's wells located within the boundaries of the District.		
25.	Other Fees. All services outside the normal scope of utility operations that the Corporation may be compelled to provide at the request of a customer or Member shall be charged to the recipient based on the cost of providing such service.		

Approved _____