
Control Number: 51843 

Item Number: 14 

Addendum StartPage: 0 



DOCKET NO. 51843 
77 ! K Il - 7 F.1 

APPLICATION OF CSWR-TEXAS § PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION 
UTILITY OPERATING COMPANY, LLC § 
FOR TEMPORARY RATES FOR A § OF TEXAS ' ''' 
NONFUNCTIONING UTILITY § 

2.58 

COMMISSION STAFF'S RECOMMENDATION FINAL DISPOSITION 

On February 3, 2021, the Commission appointed CSWR-Texas Utility Operating 

Company, LLC (CSWR-Texas) as the temporary manager for Farrar Water Supply Corporation in 

Limestone County.1 On February 26, 2021, CSWR-Texas filed an application requesting a 

temporary rate under Texas Water Code § 13.046 and 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) 

§ 24.363. 

On April 8,2021, the administrative law judge filed Order No. 2, setting a deadline of May 

7, 2021 for the Staff of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (Staff) to file a recommendation 

on final disposition. Therefore, this pleading is timely filed. 

I. FINAL RECOMMENDATION 

Staffhas reviewed the application, and as supported by the attached memoranda of Patricia 

Garcia of the Infrastructure Division, Frederick Quijano of the Rate Regulation Division, and 

David Hoard ofthe Rate Regulation Division, Staff recommends the following: 

1) The approval of the annual operating expense of approximately $14,734 in order to 

properly operate the water system. This revenue requirement does not include the annual 

amount CSWR-Texas will collect in temporary manager fees. 

2) The approval of a temporary base rate of $48.69 per connection, per month, along with the 

temporary gallonage rate specified below. Staff calculated the rates below using the 

updated connection count of 22 connections provided by CSWR-Texas. 

Customer Meter Size Monthly Base Charge per Customer 
(Includes usage ofthe first 2,000 gallons) 

5/8" x 3/4" $48.69 

Gallonage Charge Monthly Charge per 1,000 gallons 
All Usage $1.80 

\ Petitionfor an Order Appointing a Temporary Managerfor Farrar Water Supply Corporation,Docketl>Ao. 
51551, Order Appointing a Temporary Manager (Feb. 3,2021). 
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3) The approval of a surcharge in the amount of $23.42 per connection per month, to be 

collected for a period of six months, to recover the $3,091.29 needed to reimburse Donna 

Jones for expenses she covered with personal funds. 

4) A requirement that CSWR-Texas provide notice of the $23.42 per month surcharge to 

customers at least one billing cycle prior to the billing cycle in which it begins collecting 

the surcharge 

5) A requirement that CSWR-Texas continue to provide the following documentation on a 

monthly basis, by the last day of the month following the operational month in question, 

until the temporary manager's term is completed: 

a) Summary of monthly revenues and expenses with a detailed list of actual costs for 

operating the system, such as repairs, chlorine, billing, operator costs, electricity, 

laboratory fees, sampling costs, etc.; 

b) Summary of monthly operations, maintenance, administrative, and general 

expenses with a detailed list of actual expenses; 

c) Copies of invoices and receipts to support the actual cost of service; and 

d) The actual number of connections at the beginning and at the end of the month. 

II. CONCLUSION 

For the reasons stated above, Staff respectfully requests the entry of an order approving the 

temporary rates as modified by Staffto reflect the updated and slightly increased connection count. 
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Dated: May 7,2021 

Respectfully Submitted, 

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS 
LEGAL DIVISION 

Rachelle Nicolette Robles 
Division Director 

Eleanor D'Ambrosio 
Managing Attorney 

/s/ Daniel Moore 
Daniel Moore 
State Bar No. 24116782 
1701 N. Congress Avenue 
P.O. Box 13326 
Austin, Texas 78711-3326 
(512) 936-7465 
(512) 936-7268 (facsimile) 
Daniel.Moore@puc.texas.gov 

DOCKET NO. 51843 

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE 

I certify that, unless otherwise ordered by the presiding officer, notice of the filing of this 

document was provided to all parties of record via electronic mail on May 7,2021, in accordance 

with the Order Suspending Rules, issued in Project No. 50664. 

/s/ Daniel Moore 
Daniel Moore 
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Public Utility Commission of Texas 

Memorandum 

TO: Daniel Moore, Attorney 
Legal Division 

FROM: Frederick Quijano, Financial Analyst 
Rate Regulation Division 

DATE: May 7,2021 

RE : DocketNo . 5 \ 843 - Application of CSWR - Texas Utility Operating Company , 
LLC for Temporary Rates for a Nonfunctioning Utility 

On February 26, 2021, CSWR-Texas Utility Operating Company, LLC (CSWR-Texas), 
temporary manager of Farrar Water Supply Corporation (Farrar), filed with the Public Utility 
Commission of Texas (Commission) a request for a temporary rate increase under 16 Texas 
Administrative Code (TAC) §§ 24.363 and 24.43(b). 

Under 16 TAC § 24.363: 

A retail public utility that takes over the provision of services for a 
nonfunctioning retail public water utility may immediately begin charging 
customers of the nonfunctioning system a temporary rate to recover the 
reasonable costs incurred for interconnection or other costs incurred in making 
services available and any other reasonable costs incurred to bring the 
nonfunctioning system into compliance with Commission rules. 

Additionally, under 16 TAC § 24.363, the Commission must issue an order regarding the 
reasonableness of the temporary rates. In making the reasonableness determination, the 
Commission must consider information submitted by the retail public utility taking over the 
provision of service, the customers of the nonfunctioning system, or any other affected person. 

In response to Staff's First Request for Documentation, CSWR-Texas submitted information 
supporting the reasonableness of its requested temporary rates. The discovery responses 
include additional documentation to support out-of-pocket expenditures. 

CSWR-Texas requested a total yearly expense of $14,734 for the temporary rates, including 
$570 in billing expenses. Patricia Garcia in the Infrastructure Division provides an analysis in 
her memo covering the reasonableness of the yearly expenses. My review covers the 
reasonableness of the billing expense included in the temporary rates. 
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Docket No. 51483 Memorandum of Frederick Quijano (May 7,2021) Page 2 of 2 

In the Response to Staff's First Request for Documentation, CSWR-Texas states that they pay 
Nitor Billing Services, LLC for monthly billing services provided to multiple systems owned 
and operated by CSWR-Texas. 1 The portion ofthe monthly billing expense allocated to Farrar 
is $42.75.2 The total annual expense for billing of Farrar water system is $513 ($42.75 x12 
months). Therefore, an adjustment to reduce the annual billing amount by $57 is needed to 
correctly reflect the actual billing expense. Ms. Garcia discusses whether this adjustment 
should be incorporated into the overall amount of annual expenses to be recovered by the 
temporary rates approved in this proceeding. 

Additionally, I recommend that the Commission order CSWR-Texas to provide a summary of 
its monthly operations, maintenance, administrative, and general expenses with a detailed list 
of actual expenses. I recommend that the filing of the monthly summary occur no later than 
the last business day of the month following the operational month in which the expenses were 
incurred. Further, I recommend that the monthly filings continue until completion of CSWR-
Texas's term as temporary manager. Monthly filings must include copies of invoices or 
receipts to support the actual costs. 

' CSWR-Texas Utility Operating Company, LLC's Response to Staff's First Request for 
Documentation, Staff Question 1-31 at 14 (Apr. 21,2021). 

1 Id 
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Public Utility Commission of Texas 

Memorandum 

TO: Daniel Moore, Attorney 
Legal Division 

FROM: Patricia Garcia, Senior Engineering Specialist 
Infrastructure Division 

DATE: May 7,2021 

RE : Docket - No . 5 \% 43 - Application of CSWR - Texas Utility Operating Company , 
LLC for Temporary Rates for a Nonfunctioning Utility 

Background: 

On February 26, 2021, CSWR-Texas Utility Operating Company, LLC (CSWR-Texas), 
temporary manager of Farrar Water Supply Corporation (Farrar), filed with the Public Utility 
Commission of Texas (Commission) an application for a temporary rate in Limestone County, 
Texas, under Texas Water Code (TWC) § 13.046 and 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) 
§ 24.363. 

Analysis 
Under 16 TAC § 24.363(a), an applicant may charge temporary rates "to recover the reasonable 
costs incurred for interconnection or other costs incurred in making services available and any 
other reasonable costs incurred to bring the nonfunctioning system into compliance with 
commission rules." 

CSWR-Texas requested a total yearly expense of $14,734 for the temporary rates, including 
$570 in billing, which is being reviewed by Frederick Ouijano in the Commission's the Rate 
Regulation Division. 

Items that were reviewed in support ofthis temporary rate include a contract with the operating 
company for a monthly fee applicable to this system and another public water system (provided 
confidentially) and invoices provided by the temporary manager for repairs, electricity bills, 
and chlorine. Based on the invoices and contract provided by CSWR-Texas, I calculated that 
CSWR-Texas will need approximately $3,346 per month or $40,150 per year to properly 
operate the system. Therefore, 1 recommend that CSWR-Texas's full request of $14,734 per 
year be approved despite the small adjustment to the $570 for billing identified by Mr. Quijano. 

The cover letter provided by CSWR-Texas includes a statement about payments made by a 
customer, Donna Jones, for system repairs from her own personal funds. In the documentation 
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provided on April 21, 2021 and April 22,2021 CSWR-Texas submitted invoices providing 
proofthat Ms. Jones paid $3,091.29. CSWR-Texas stated this amount should be repaid to Ms. 
Jones through a 6-month surcharge; however, this surcharge was not provided in the notice to 
the customers. I recommend that the Rate Regulation Division calculate what this surcharge 
would be per connection for 6 months. I further recommend that CSWR-Texas provide an 
additional customer notice indicating the amount of the surcharge to be collected from the 
customers prior to including the surcharge in the customer bills. 

CSWR-Texas requests several miscellaneous fees as follows: 

1. New Tap Fee: actual cost of materials and [abor to install a standard residential 5/8" 
or 3/4" Meter. 

2. Turn-On/Turn-Off Requested by the Customer: $27.50,8 am to 5 pm Monday 
through Friday, when scheduled at least 24 hours in advance; $164.00, before 8 am 
and after 5 pm and on Saturday & Sunday, or when scheduled with less than 24 hours' 
notice. 

3. Reconnection Fee Associated with Non-Payment: $25.00. 
4. On-site Collection Charge: $25.00. 
5. Meter Test Fee: $120.00. 
6. Late Charge: 10% of the bill. 
7. Returned Check Charge: $25.00. 

I recommend the miscellaneous fees be approved as listed below: 
1. Tap Fee Actual Cost 

2. Reconnection Fee at the Customer's request... ...................................................... $27.50 
DISCONNECT FEES NOT ALLOWED PER 16 TAC § 24.165(p) 

3. Reconnection Fee Associated with Non-Payment................................................$25.00 

4. On-site Collection Charge $0.00 
FIELD COLLECTION FEES NOT ALLOWED PER 16 TAC § 24.165(p) 

5. Meter Test Fee (Actual cost of testing the meter up to) .......................................$25.00 
PER 16 TAC § 24.169(d)(3), THIS FEE MAY BE CHARGED IF A CUSTOMER REQUESTS A SECOND 
METER TEST WITHIN A TWO-YEAR PERIOD AND THE TEST INDICATES THAT THE METER IS 
RECORDING ACCURATELY. 

6. Late Charge 10% 

7. Returned Check Charge $25.00 

Attached is a tariff for Farrar WSC with CSWR-Texas as Temporary Manager that reflects the 
temporary rate requested by CSWR-Texas, as recalculated by the Rate Regulation Division 
using the updated connection count provided on April 22, 2021, and the approved 
miscellaneous fees. The tariff is based on the pro forma tariffapproved by the Commission for 
many utilities. 
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Recommendation: 

I recommend the following: 

1) The requested expenses of $14,734 to be recovered through a temporary rate are 

reasonable; 

2) Approval of the attached tari ff; and 

3) That CSWR-Texas provide the following documentation by the last day of the month 

following the month in question, for each month until the term as temporary manager 

for CSWR-Texas is completed: 

a) Summary of monthly revenues and expenses with a detailed list of actual costs 
for operating the system, such as repairs, chlorine, billing, operator costs, 
electricity, laboratory fees, sampling costs, etc.; 

b) Copies of invoices and receipts to support the actual cost of service; and 
c) The actual number of connections at the beginning and at the end of the month. 
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Public Utilitv Commission of Texas 

Memorandum 

To: Daniel Moore, Attorney 
Legal Division 

From: David Hoard, Tariff & Rate Analysis 
Rate Regulation Division 

Date: May 7,2021 

Re : Docket No . 51843 - Application of CSWR - Texas Utility Operating Company , LLC 
for Temporary Rates for a Nonfunctioning Utility 

Procedural Background 

On February 26,2021, CSWR-Texas Utility Operating Company, LLC (CSWR-Texas), temporary 
manager of Farrar Water Supply Corporation (Farrar), filed with the Public Utility Commission of 
Texas (Commission) an application for a temporary rate for Farrar WSC in Limestone County, 
Texas, under Texas Water Code § 13.046 and 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) § 24.363. In 
the application, CSWR-Texas requested a base monthly rate of $48.69 per customer as well as a 
usage charge of $2.58 per 1,000 gallons that were calculated using 19 connections. 

On April 8, 2021, the Staff of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (Staff) filed comments 
regarding administrative completeness and sufficiency of notice (Staff Completeness Filing), 
requiring CSWR-Texas to provide additional information. On April 21,2020, CSWR-Texas filed 
a response to the Staff Completeness Filing (CSWR-Texas' Response). On May 3,2021, CSWR-
Texas filed a supplemental response to Staff Completeness Filing (CSWR-Texas' Supplemental 
Response). 

Discussion 

My review includes an analysis of the proper functional allocation of costs between fixed and 
variable rates, as well as an analysis of the proposed billing determinants used to calculate rates. 
Given the state of the system, and the likeliness of ongoing reassessments of costs to operate the 
system, I recommend approval of the rates requested by CSWR-Texas with a modification to the 
rate per 1,000 gallons to reflect the increase in connections from 19 to 22. 

CSWR-Texas requested a yearly revenue requirement of $14,734. Based on Staff's recommended 
approval of this revenue requirement, my functional split between fixed and variable costs 
(roughly 80% fixed and 20% variable), and the updated number of connections and billing 
determinants provided in CSWR-Texas's Supplemental Response to Staff Completeness Filing, I 
recommend approval ofthe following rates: 
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Customer Meter Size 
5/8" x 3/4" 

Monthly Base Charge per Customer 
$48.69 

Gallonage Charge Monthly Charge per 1,000 gallons 
All Usage $1.80 

In its application, CSWR-Texas also stated that Donna Jones, a customer of Farrar5 is currently 
expending her own funds on behalf of the system. CSWR-Texas stated that Ms. Jones had, at the 
time of the filing of the application, expended $3,091.29. CSWR-Texas proposes repaying Ms. 
Jones and recovering the cost of the repayment through a six-month surcharge in addition to the 
temporary rate. In its application, CSWR-Texas stated that there are currently 19 metered 
connections. CSWR-Texas' Supplemental Response updated the connection count to 22. Given 
this updated figure, a surcharge of $23.42 would be required to recover this amount over a six-
month period. However, the monthly surcharge amount was not included in the notice to customers 
so CSWR-Texas would need to notice this amount before the charge may be applied. 

Recommendation 

I have reviewed CSWR-Texas's application as well as its responses to Staff's request for 
information, and I recommend the following: 

1. The Commission approve CSWR-Texas's requested temporary rates as modified by 
Staff to reflect a connection count of 22. 

2. The Commission approve a six-month surcharge of $23.42 per connection to recover 
$3,091.29. 

3. The Commission require CSWR-Texas to file a copy of its approved tariff consistent 
with the Commission's final order in this docket. 

4. The Commission require CSWR-Texas to file proof of notice of the surcharge before 
the charge is applied. 

5. The approved tariff be stamped "Approved" by the Commission's Central Records 
Division and retained for future reference. 
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WATER UTILITY TARIFF 
Docket Number 51843 

Temporary Rate 

Farrar WSC 
(Utility Name) 

CSWR-Texas Utilitv Operating Company. LLC 
(Temporary Manager Name) 

1011 W. 31St Street 
(Temporary Manager Address) 

Austin, TX 78705 
(City, State, Zip Code) 

(866) 301-7725 
(Area Code/Telephone) 

This tariff is effective for utility operations under the following Certificate of Convenience and Necessity: 

12429 - CCN Cancelled 

This tariff is effective in the following counties: 

Limestone 

This tariff is effective in the following subdivisions or systems: 

Farrar WSC - PWS ID: 1470007 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

The above utility lists the following sections of its tariff (if additional pages are needed for a section, all 
pages should be numbered consecutively): 

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE 2. 
SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES 4 
SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY... 10 
SECTION 4.0 -- DROUGHT CONTINGENCY PLAN 14 

APPENDIX A -- SAMPLE SERVICE AGREEMENT 
APPENDIX B - APPLICATION FOR SERVICE 
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Farrar WSC 
CSWR-Texas Utility Operating Company, LLC Water Utility Tariff Page No. 2 

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE 

The temporary rates and temporary miscellaneous fees will remain in effect until the 
Commission orders otherwise. 

Temporary Rates (Effective February 3, 2021) 

Meter Size 
All 

Monthly Minimum Charge 
$48.69 (Includes_Q gallons) 

Gallonage Charge 
$1-:EQ per 1000 gallons 

Temporary Manager's Fee and Surcharge to be charged in addition to the "Monthly 
Minimum Charge" 

Temporary Manager/Receiver's Fee ...$15.00 per connection per month 

Surcharge ......$23.42 per connection per month for 6 months 

FORM OF PAYMENT: The utility will accept the following forms of payment: 
Check _X, Money Order _X 

THE UTILITY MAY REQUIRE EXACT CHANGE FOR PAYMENTS AND MAY REFUSE TO ACCEPT PAYMENTS 
MADE USING MORE THAN $1.00 IN SMALL COINS. 

REGULATORY ASSESSMENT 1.0% 
PUC RULES REQUIRE THE UTILITY TO COLLECT A FEE OF ONE PERCENT OF THE RETAIL MONTHLY BILL, 
AND TO REMIT FEE TO THE TEXAS COMMISSION ON ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY (TCEQ). 

Docket No. 51843 
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Farrar WSC 
CSWR-Texas Utility Operating Company, LLC Water Utility Tariff Page No. 3 

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (Continued) 

Section 1.02 - Temporarv Miscellaneous Fees (EFFECTIVE February 3, 2021) 

TAP FEE Actual Cost 
TAP FEE IS BASED ON THE AVERAGE OF THE UTILITY'S ACTUAL COST FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR FOR 
STANDARD RESIDENTIAL CONNECTION OF 5/8" METER PLUS UNIQUE COSTS AS PERMITTED BY PUC RULE 
AT COST. 

TAP FEE (Unique costs) .........Actual Cost 
FOR EXAMPLE, A ROAD BORE FOR CUSTOMERS OUTSIDE OF SUBDIVISIONS OR RESIDENTIAL AREAS. 

LARGE METER TAP FFF. Actual Cost 
TAP FEE IS BASED ON THE UTILITY'S ACTUAL COST FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR FOR METERS LARGER 
THAN STANDARD 5/8" METERS. 

METER TEST FEE (actual cost of testing the meter up to) ...................................................................$25.00 
THIS FEE MAY BE CHARGED IF A CUSTOMER REQUESTS A SECOND METER TEST WITHIN A TWO-YEAR 
PERIOD AND THE TEST INDICATES THAT THE METER IS RECORDING ACCURATELY. 

RECONNECTION FEE 
THE RECONNECT FEE WILL BE CHARGED BEFORE SERVICE CAN BE RESTORED TO A CUSTOMER WHO HAS 
BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS: 
a) Non-payment ofbill (Maximum $25.00)...... $25.00 
b) Customer's request $77.50 
or other reasons listed under Section 2.0 of this tariff 

LATE CHARGE 10% 
A ONE-TIME PENALTY MAY BE MADE ON DELINQUENT BILLS BUT MAY NOT BE APPLIED TO ANY BALANCE 
TO WHICH THE PENALTY WAS APPLIED IN A PREVIOUS BILLING. 

RETURNED CHECK CHARGF 

CUSTOMER DEPOSIT RESIDENTIAL (Maximum $50)... 

COMMERCIAL & NON-RESIDENTIAL DEPOSIT........... 

$25.00 

................................................................$50.00 

.... 1/6TH OF ESTIMATED ANNUAL BILL 

GOVERNMENTAL TESTING, INSPECTION AND COSTS SURCHARGE CLAUSE: 
WHEN AUTHORIZED IN WRITING BY PUCT AND AFTER NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS, THE UTILITY MAY 
INCREASE RATES TO RECOVER INCREASED COSTS FOR INSPECTION FEES AND WATER TESTING [16 TAC § 
24.25(b)(2)(G)]. 

LINE EXTENSION AND CONSTRUCTION CHARGES: 
REFER TO SECTION 3.0--EXTENSION POLICY FOR TERMS, CONDITIONS, AND CHARGES WHEN NEW 
CONSTRUCTION IS NECESSARY TO PROVIDE SERVICE. 

Docket No. 51843 
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Farrar WSC 
CSWR-Texas Utility Operating Company, LLC Water Utility Tariff Page No. 4 

SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES 

The utility will have the most current Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUC or Commission) Rules, 
Chapter 24, available at its office for reference purposes. The Rules and this tariff shall be available for 
public inspection and reproduction at a reasonable cost. The latest Rules or Commission approved changes 
to the Rules supersede any rules or requirements in this tariff. 

Section 2.01 - Application for Water Service 

All applications for service will be made on the utility's standard application or contract form (attached in the 
Appendix to this tariff), will be signed by the applicant, any required fees (deposits, reconnect, tap, extension 
fees, etc. as applicable) will be paid and easements, if required, will be granted before service is provided by 
the utility. A separate application or contract will be made for each service location. 

Section 2.02 - Refusal of Service 

The utility may decline to serve an applicant until the applicant has complied with the regulations of the 
regulatory agencies (state and municipal regulations) and for the reasons outlined in the PUC Rules. In the 
event that the utility refuses to serve an applicant, the utility will inform the applicant in writing of the basis 
of its refusal. The utility is also required to inform the applicant that a complaint may be filed with the 
Commission. 

Section 2.03 - Fees and Charges & Easements Required Before Service Can Be Connected 

(A) Customer Deposits 
lf a residential applicant cannot establish credit to the satisfaction of the utility, the applicant may be required 
to pay a deposit as provided for in Section 1.02 - Miscellaneous Fees of this tariff. The utility will keep 
records of the deposit and credit interest in accordance with PUC Rules. 

Residential applicants 65 years of age or older may not be required to pay deposits unless the applicant has 
an outstanding account balance with the utility or another water or sewer utility which accrued within the last 
two years. 

Nonresidential applicants who cannot establish credit to the satisfaction ofthe utility may be required to make 
a deposit that does not exceed an amount equivalent to one-sixth of the estimated annual billings. 

Refund of deposit - If service is not connected, or after disconnection of service, the utility will promptly 
refund the customer's deposit plus accrued interest or the balance, if any, in excess of the unpaid bills for 
service furnished. The utility may refund the deposit at any time prior to termination of utility service but 
must refund the deposit plus interest for any residential customer who has paid 18 consecutive billings without 
being delinquent. 

(B) Tap or Reconnect Fees 
A new customer requesting service at a location where service has not previously been provided must pay a 
tap fee as provided in Section 1. A customer requesting service where service has previously been provided 
must pay a reconnect fee as provided in Section 1. Any applicant or existing customer required to pay for 
any costs not specifically set forth in the rate schedule pages of this tariffshall be given a written explanation 
of such costs prior to request for payment and/or commencement of construction. 

Docket No. 51843 
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Farrar WSC 
CSWR-Texas Utilitv Operating Company. LLC Water Utility Tariff Page No. 5 

SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued) 

If the applicant or existing customer does not believe that these costs are reasonable or necessary, the 
applicant or existing customer shall be informed of their right to appeal such costs to the PUC or such other 
regulatory authority having jurisdiction over the utility's rates ill that portion of the utility's service area in 
which the applicant's or existing customer's property(ies) is located. 

Fees in addition to the regular tap fee may be charged if listed specifically in Section 1 to cover unique costs 
not normally incurred as permitted by 16 TAC § 24.163(a)(1)(C). For example, a road bore for customers 
outside a subdivision or residential area could be considered a unique cost. 

(C) Easement Requirement 
Where recorded public utility easements on the service applicant's property do not exist or public road right-
of-way easements are not available to access the applicant's property, the Utility may require the applicant to 
provide it with a permanent recorded public utility easement on and across the applicant's real property 
sufficient to provide service to that applicant. Such easement(s) shall not be used for the construction of 
production, storage, transmission or pressure facilities unless they are needed for adequate service to that 
applicant. 

Section 2.04 - Utility Response to Applications for Service 

After the applicant has met all the requirements, conditions and regulations for service, the utility will install 
tap, meter and utility cut-off valve and/or take all necessary actions to initiate service. The utility will serve 
each qualified applicant for service within 5 working days unless line extensions or new facilities are required. 
If construction is required to fill the order and if it cannot be completed within 30 days, the utility will provide 
the applicant with a written explanation of the construction required and an expected date of service. 

Except for good cause where service has previously been provided, service will be reconnected within one 
working day after the applicant has met the requirements for reconnection. 

Section 2.05 - Customer Responsibilitv 

The customer will be responsible for furnishing and laying the necessary customer service pipe from the 
meter location to the place of consumption. Customers will not be allowed to use the utility's cutoff valve on 
the utility's side ofthe meter. Existing customers may install cutoff valves on their side ofthe meter and are 
encouraged to do so. All new customers may be required to install and maintain a cutoff valve on their side 
of the meter. 

No direct connection between a public water supply system and any potential source of contamination or 
between a public water supply system and a private water source (ex. private well) will be allowed. A 
customer shall not connect, or allow any other person or party to connect, onto any water lines on his premises. 

Section 2.06 - Customer Service Inspections 

Applicants for new service connections or facilities which have undergone extensive plumbing modifications 
are required to furnish the utility a completed customer service inspection certificate. The inspection 
certificate shall certify that the establishment is in compliance with the Texas Commission on Environmental 
Quality (TCEQ) Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems, 30 TAC § 290.46*. The Utility is not 
required to perform these inspections for the applicant/customer, but will assist the applicant/customer in 
locating and obtaining the services of a certified inspector. 
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Farrar WSC 
CSWR-Texas Utilitv Operating Company, LLC Water Utility Tariff Page No. 6 

SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued) 

Section 2.07 - Back Flow Prevention Devices 

No water connection shall be allowed to any residence or establishment where an actual or potential 
contamination hazard exists unless the public water facilities are protected from contamination by either an 
approved air gap, backflow prevention assembly, or other approved device. The type of device or backtlow 
prevention assembly required shall be determined by the specific potential hazard identified in 30 
TAC § 290.47(f) Appendix F, Assessment of Hazards and Selection ofAssemblies of the TCEQ Rules and 
Regulations for Public Water Systems. 

The use of a backflow prevention assembly at the service connection shall be considered as additional 
backflow protection and shall not negate the use of backflow protection on internal hazards as outlined and 
enforced by local plumbing codes. When a customer service inspection certificate indicates that an adequate 
internal cross-connection control program is in effect, backflow protection at the water service entrance or 
meter is not required. 

At any residence or establishment where it has been determined by a customer service inspection, that there 
is no actual or potential contamination hazard, as referenced in 30 TAC § 290.47(f) Appendix F, 
Assessment of Hazards and Selection of Assemblies of the TCEQ Rules and Regulations for Public Water 
Systems, then a backflow prevention assembly or device is not required. Outside hose bibs do require, at a 
minimum, the installation and maintenance of a working atmospheric vacuum breaker. 

All backflow prevention assemblies or devices shall be tested upon installation by a TCEQ certified backflow 
prevention assembly tester and certified to be operating within specifications. Backflow prevention 
assemblies which are installed to provide protection against health hazards must also be tested and certified 
to be operating within specifications at least annually by a certified backflow prevention assembly tester. 

Ifthe utility determines that a backflow prevention assembly or device is required, the utility will provide the 
customer or applicant with a list of TCEQ certified backflow prevention assembly testers. The customer will 
be responsible for the cost of installation and testing, if any, of backflow prevention assembly or device. The 
customer should contact several qualified installers to compare prices before installation. The customer must 
pay for any required maintenance and annual testing and must furnish a copy ofthe test results demonstrating 
that the assembly is functioning properly to the utility within 30 days after the anniversary date of the 
installation unless a different date is agreed upon. 

Section 2.08 - Access to Customer's Premises 

The utility will have the right of access to the customer's premises at all reasonable times for the purpose of 
installing, testing, inspecting or repairing water mains or other equipment used in connection with its 
provision of water service, or for the purpose of removing its property and disconnecting lines, and for all 
other purposes necessary to the operation of the utility system including inspecting the customer's plumbing 
for code, plumbing or tariff violations. The customer shall allow the utility and its personnel access to the 
customer's property to conduct any water quality tests or inspections required by law. Unless necessary to 
respond to equipment failure, leak or other condition creating an immediate threat to public health and safety 
or the continued provision of adequate utility service to others, such entry upon the customer's property shall 
be during normal business hours and the utility personnel will attempt to notify the customer that they will 
be working on the customer's property. The customer may require any utility representative, employee, 
contractor, or agent seeking to make such entry identify themselves, their affiliation with the utility, and the 
purpose oftheir entry. 
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued) 

All customers or service applicants shall provide access to meters and utility cutoff valves at all times 
reasonably necessary to conduct ordinary utility business and after normal business hours as needed to protect 
and preserve the integrity of the public drinking water supply. 

Section 2.09 - Meter Requirements. Readings. and Testing 

One meter is required for each residential, commercial, or industrial connection. All water sold by the utility 
will be billed based on meter measurements. The utility will provide, install, own and maintain meters to 
measure amounts of water consumed by its customers. 

Meters will be read at monthly intervals and as nearly as possible on the corresponding day of each monthly 
meter reading period unless otherwise authorized by the Commission. 

Meter tests. The utility will, upon the request of a customer, and, if the customer so desires, in his or her 
presence or in that of his or her authorized representative, make without charge a test of the accuracy of the 
customer's meter. I f the customer asks to observe the test, the test will be made during the utility's normal 
working hours at a time convenient to the customer. Whenever possible, the test will be made on the 
customer's premises, but may, at the utility's discretion, be made at the utility's testing facility. If within a 
period of two years the customer requests a new test, the utility will make the test, but if the meter is found 
to be within the accuracy standards established by the American Water Works Association, the utility will 
charge the customer a fee which reflects the cost to test the meter up to a maximum $25 for a residential 
customer. Following the completion of any requested test, the utility will promptly advise the customer of 
the date of removal of the meter, the date of the test, the result of the test, and who made the test. 

Section 2.10 - Billing 

(A) Regular Billing 
Bills from the utility will be mailed monthly unless otherwise authorized by the Commission. The due date 
of bills for utility service will be at least sixteen (16) days from the date of issuance. 

The postmark on the bill or, if there is no postmark on the bill, the recorded date of mailing by the utility will 
constitute proof of the date of issuance. Payment for utility service is delinquent if full payment, including 
late fees and the regulatory assessment, is not received at the utility or the utility's authorized payment agency 
by 5:00 p.m. on the due date. Ifthe due date falls on a holiday or weekend, the due date for payment purposes 
will be the next workday after the due date. 

(B) Late Fees 
A late penalty of either $5.00 or 10.0% will be charged on bills received after the due date. The penalty on 
delinquent bills will not be applied to any balance to which the penalty was applied in a previous billing. The 
utility must maintain a record of the date of mailing to charge the late penalty. 

(C) Information on Bill 
Each bill will provide all information required by the PUC Rules. For each of the systems it operates, the 
utility will maintain and note on the monthly bill a local or toll-free telephone number (or numbers) to which 
customers can direct questions about their utility service. 
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued) 

(D) Prorated Bills 
If service is interrupted or seriously impaired for 24 consecutive hours or more, the utility will prorate the 
monthly base bill in proportion to the time service was not available to reflect this loss of service. 

Section 2.11- Payments 

All payments for utility service shall be delivered or mailed to the utility's business office. If the business 
office fails to receive payment prior to the time of noticed disconnection for non-payment of a delinquent 
account, service will be terminated as scheduled. Utility service crews shall not be allowed to collect 
payments on customer accounts in the field. 

Payment of an account by any means that has been dishonored and returned by the payor or payee's bank, 
shall be deemed to be delinquent. All returned payments must be redeemed with cash or valid money order. 
Ifa customer has two returned payments within a twelve month period, the customer shall be required to pay 
a deposit if one has not already been paid. 

Section 2.12 - Service Disconnection 

(A) With Notice 
Utility service may be disconnected if the bill has not been paid in full by the date listed on the termination 
notice. The termination date must be at least 10 days after the notice is mailed or hand delivered. 

The utility is encouraged to offer a deferred payment plan to a customer who cannot pay an outstanding bill 
in full and is willing to pay the balance in reasonable installments. However, a customer's utility service may 
be disconnected ifa bill has not been paid or a deferred payment agreement entered into within 26 days from 
the date of issuance of a bill and if proper notice of termination has been given. 

Notice of termination must be a separate mailing or hand delivery in accordance with the PUC Rules. 

B) Without Notice 
Utility service may also be disconnected without notice for reasons as described in the PUC Rules. 

Section 2.13 - Reconnection of Service 

Utility personnel must be available during normal business hours to accept payments on the day service is 
disconnected and the following day unless service was disconnected at the customer's request or due to a 
hazardous condition. 

Service will be reconnected within 36 hours after the past due bill, reconnect fees and any other outstanding 
charges are paid or the conditions which caused service to be disconnected are corrected. 

Section 2.14 - Service Interruptions 

The utility will make all reasonable efforts to prevent interruptions of service. If interruptions occur, the 
utility will re-establish service within the shortest possible time. Except for momentary interruptions due to 
automatic equipment operations, the utility will keep a complete record of all interruptions, both emergency 
and scheduled and will notify the Commission in writing of any service interruptions affecting the entire 
system or any major division of the system lasting more than four hours. The notice will explain the cause 
of the interruptions. 
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SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES (Continued) 

Section 2.15 - Quality of Service 

The utility will plan, furnish, and maintain production, treatment, storage, transmission, and distribution 
facilities of sufficient size and capacity to provide a continuous and adequate supply of water for all 
reasonable consumer uses. Unless otherwise authorized by the Commission, the utility will maintain facilities 
as described in the TCEQ Rules and Regulations for Public Water Systems. 

Section 2.16 - Customer Complaints and Disputes 

If a customer or applicant for service lodges a complaint, the utility will promptly make a suitable 
investigation and advise the complainant ofthe results. Service will not be disconnected pending completion 
of the investigation. If the complainant is dissatisfied with the utility's response, the utility must advise the 
complainant that he has recourse through the PUC complaint process. Pending resolution of a complaint, the 
commission may require continuation or restoration of service. 

The utility will maintain a record of all complaints which shows the name and address of the complainant, 
the date and nature of the complaint and the adjustment or disposition thereof, for a period of two years after 
the final settlement ofthe complaint. 

In the event of a dispute between a customer and a utility regarding any bill for utility service, the utility will 
conduct an investigation and report the results to the customer. If the dispute is not resolved, the utility will 
inform the customer that a complaint may be filed with the Commission. 

Section 2.17 - Customer Liability 

Customer shall be liable for any damage or injury to utility-owned property shown to be caused by the 
customer. 
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SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY 

Section 3.01 - Standard Extension Requirements 

Line Extension and Construction Charges: No Contribution in Aid of Construction may be required of any 
customer except as provided for in this approved extension policy. 

The Utility is not required to extend service to any applicant outside of its certified service area and will only 
do so under terms and conditions mutually agreeable to the Utility and the applicant, in compliance with PUC 
rules and policies, and upon extension of the Utility's certified service area boundaries by the PUC. 

The applicant for service will be given an itemized statement of the costs, options such as rebates to the 
customer, sharing of construction costs between the utility and the customer, or sharing of costs between the 
customer and other applicants prior to beginning construction. 

Section 3.02 - Costs Utilities and Service Applicants Shall Bear 

Within its certified area, the utility will pay the cost ofthe first 200 feet of any water main or distribution line 
necessary to extend service to an individual residential customer within a platted subdivision. 

However, if the residential customer requesting service purchased the property after the developer was 
notified in writing of the need to provide facilities to the utility, the utility may charge for the first 200 feet. 
The utility must also be able to document that the developer of the subdivision refused to provide facilities 
compatible with the utility's facilities in accordance with the utility's approved extension policy after receiving 
a written request from the utility. 

Residential customers will be charged the equivalent of the costs of extending service to their property from 
the nearest transmission or distribution line even if that line does not have adequate capacity to serve the 
customer. However, if the customer places unique, non-standard service demands upon the system, the 
customer may be charged the additional cost of extending service to and throughout their property, including 
the cost of all necessary transmission and storage facilities necessary to meet the service demands anticipated 
to be created by that property. 

Unless an exception is granted by the PUC, the residential service applicant shall not be required to pay for 
costs of main extensions greater than 2" in diameter for water distribution and pressure wastewater collection 
lines and 6" in diameter for gravity wastewater lines. 

Exceptions may be granted by the Commission if: 
• adequate service cannot be provided to the applicant using the maximum line sizes listed due to 

distance or elevation, in which case, it shall be the utility's burden to justify that a larger diameter 
pipe is required for adequate service; 

• or larger minimum line sizes are required under subdivision platting requirements or building codes 
of municipalities within whose corporate limits or extraterritorial jurisdiction the point of use is 
located; or the residential service applicant is located outside the CCN service area. 

If an exception is granted, the Utility shall establish a proportional cost plan for the specific extension or a 
rebate plan which may be limited to seven years to return the portion of the applicant's costs for oversizing 
as new customers are added to ensure that future applicants for service on the line pay at least as much as the 
initial service applicant. 
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SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (Continued) 

For purposes of determining the costs that service applicants shall pay, commercial customers with service 
demands greater than residential customer demands in the certified area, industrial, and wholesale customers 
shall be treated as developers. A service applicant requesting a one inch meter for a lawn sprinkler system to 
service a residential lot is not considered nonstandard service. 

I f an applicant requires service other than the standard service provided by the utility, such applicant will be 
required to pay all expenses incurred by the utility in excess of the expenses that would be incurred in 
providing the standard service and connection beyond 200 feet and throughout his property including the cost 
of all necessary transmission facilities. 

The utility will bear the full cost ofany over-sizing of water mains necessary to serve other customers in the 
immediate area. The individual residential customer shall not be charged for any additional production, 
storage, or treatment facilities. Contributions in aid of construction may ogt bg required of individual 
residential customers for production, storage, treatment or transmission facilities unless otherwise approved 
by the Commission under this specific extension policy. 

Section 3.03 - Contributions in Aid of Construction 

Developers may be required to provide contributions in aid of construction in amounts sufficient to furnish 
the development with all facilities necessary to provide for reasonable local demand requirements and to 
comply with TCEQ minimum design criteria for facilities used in the production, transmission, pumping, or 
treatment of water or TCEQ minimum requirements. For purposes ofthis subsection, a developer is one who 
subdivides or requests more than two meters on a piece of property. Commercial, industrial, and wholesale 
customers will be treated as developers. 

Any applicant who places unique or non-standard service demands on the system may be required to provide 
contributions in aid of construction for the actual costs of any additional facilities required to maintain 
compliance with the TCEQ minimum design criteria for water production, treatment, pumping, storage and 
transmission. 

Any service extension to a subdivision (recorded or unrecorded) may be subject to the provisions and 
restrictions of 16 TAC § 24.163(d). When a developer wishes to extend the system to prepare to service 
multiple new connections, the charge shall be the cost of such extension, plus a pro-rata charge for facilities 
which must be committed to such extension compliant with the TCEQ minimum design criteria. As provided 
by 16 TAC § 24.163(d)(4), for purposes of this section, commercial, industrial, and wholesale customers 
shall be treated as developers. 

A utility may only charge a developer standby fees for unrecovered costs of facilities committed to a 
developer's property under the following circumstances: 

• Under a contract and only in accordance with the terms of the contract; or 
• if service is not being provided to a lot or lots within two years after installation of facilities necessary 

to provide service to the lots has been completed and if the standby fees are included on the utilities 
approved tariff after a rate change application has been filed. The fees cannot be billed to the 
developer or collected until the standby fees have been approved by the commission or executive 
director. 

• for purposes of this section, a manufactured housing rental community can only be charged standby 
fees under a contract or if the utility installs the facilities necessary to provide individually metered 
service to each of the rental lots or spaces in the community. 
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SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (Continued) 

Section 3.04 - Appealing Connection Costs 

The imposition of additional extension costs or charges as provided by Sections 3.0 - Extension Policy ofthis 
tariff shall be subject to appeal as provided ill this tariff, PUC rules, or the rules of such other regulatory 
authority as may have jurisdiction over the utility's rates and services. Any applicant required to pay for any 
costs not specifically set forth in the rate schedule pages of this tariff shall be given a written explanation of 
such costs prior to payment and/or commencement of construction. If the applicant does not believe that 
these costs are reasonable or necessary, the applicant shall be informed ofthe right to appeal such costs to the 
PUC or such other regulatory authority having jurisdiction over the utility's rates in that portion ofthe utility's 
service area in which the applicant's property(ies) is located. 

Section 3.05 - Applying for Service 

The Utility will provide a written service application form to the applicant for each request for service received 
by the Utility's business offices. A separate application shall be required for each potential service location if 
more than one service connection is desired by any individual applicant. Service application forms will be 
available at the Utility's business office during normal weekday business hours. Service applications will be 
sent by prepaid first class United States mail to the address provided by the applicant upon request. Completed 
applications should be returned by hand delivery in case there are questions which might delay fulfilling the 
service request. Completed service applications may be submitted by mail if hand delivery is not possible. 

Where a new tap or service connection is required, the service applicant shall be required to submit a written 
service application and request that a tap be made. A diagram, map, plat, or written metes and bounds 
description of precisely where the applicant desires each tap or service connection is to be made and, if 
necessary, where the meter is to be installed, along the applicant's property line may also be required with the 
tap reg uest. 

The actual point of connection and meter installation must be readily accessible to Utility personnel for 
inspection, servicing, and meter reading while being reasonably secure from damage by vehicles and mowers. 
Ifthe Utility has more than one main adjacent to the service applicant's property, the tap or service connection 
will be made to the Utility's nearest service main with adequate capacity to service the applicant's full potential 
service demand. Beyond the initial 200 feet, the customer shall bear only the equivalent cost of extending 
from the nearest main. If the tap or service connection cannot be made at the applicant's desired location, it 
will be made at another location mutually acceptable to the applicant and the Utility. If no agreement on 
location can be made, the applicant may refer the matter to the PUC for resolution. 

Section 3.06 - Qualified Service Applicant 

A "qualified service applicant" is an applicant who has: (1) met all of the Utility's requirements for service 
contained in this tariff, PUC rules and/or PUC order, (2) has made payment or made arrangement for payment 
of tap fees, (3) has provided all easements and rights-of-way required to provide service to the requested 
location, (4) delivered an executed customer service inspection certificate to the Utility, if applicable, and (5) 
has executed a customer service application for each location to which service is being requested. 
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SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY (Continued) 

The Utility shall serve each qualified service applicant within its certified service area as soon as practical 
after receiving a completed service application. All service requests will be fulfilled within the time limits 
prescribed by PUC rules once the applicant has met all conditions precedent to achieving "qualified service 
applicant" status. If a service request cannot be fulfilled within the required period, the applicant shall be 
notified in writing of the delay, its cause and the anticipated date that service will be available. The PUC 
service dates shall not become applicable until the service applicant has met all conditions precedent to 
becoming a qualified service applicant as defined by PUC rules. 

Section 3.07 - Developer Requirements 
As a condition of service to a new subdivision, the Utility shall require a developer (as defined by PUC rule) 
to provide permanent recorded public utility easements as a condition of service to any location within the 
developer's property. 
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SECTION 4.0 - DROUGHT CONTINGENCY PLAN 
(Utility must attach copy of TCEQ approved Drought Contingency Plan) 
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