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Texas Public Utility Commission
Central Records

1701 N. Congress Ave.

P.O. Box 13326

Austin, TX 78711

ATTN: Filing Clerk

RE: Complaint by Emma Carbajal against CSC North Austin Reality, LLC for violation of
the non-submetered allocation of water service costs

To the Texas Public Utility Commission:

Emma Carbajal seeks a finding from the Public Utility Commission (Commission) that the
owners of Creeks Edge Apartments (Creeks Edge) violated the Commission’s rules on non-
submetered billing allocation during Ms. Carbajal’s 2018-2019 lease. Ms. Carbajal also seeks
repayment for over-billing by the Creeks Edge owners during her 2018-2019 lease.

L Facts

Ms. Carbajal is a tenant at Creeks Edge in Austin, Texas, which is owned by CSC North Austin
Reality, LLC. CSC North Austin Reality, LLC’s address is 7700 San Felipe St.. Ste. 550
Houston. TX 77063-1618. Creeks Edge utilizes a non-submetered system for allocating water
costs. Ms. Carbajal began her tenancy in 2018. During her initial lease she was charged $129 for
gas, water, sewer, and trash. (Exhibit A - Carbajal 2018 lease). During her tenancy, Ms. Carbajal
became aware that other tenants with similarly sized units were charged only $75 for the same
utilities. Ms. Carbajal and her legal representation disputed Ms. Carbajal’s charges in May of
2019. In response, Creek’s Edge claimed Ms. Carbajal was “undercharged”. It provided no
documentation of its allocation methodologies in response to Ms. Carbajal’s complaint.

On October 11, 2019 Ms. Carbajal signed a new lease which charges $70 for water, sewer, and
gas, with $13 for trash (Exhibit B — Carbajal 2019 lease). However, between May 2019 and
October 2019, Creeks Edge never readjusted its billing practices for Ms. Carbajal, continuing to
overbill her, and never refunded her the amount of her overbilling. Additionally, the current flat
rate utilized does not calculate the monthly amount owed by Ms. Carbajal as required by 16 TX
ADC §24.281.



On December 20th, 2019, an informal complaint was submitted to the Commission disputing
Creeks Edge’s allocation practices for Ms. Carbajal, complaint number CP2019120546. Creeks
Edge received a copy of the complaint on December 30th, 2019. (Exhibit C — Water Complaint
Form 2019). Creeks Edge failed to timely respond to the complaint. (Exhibit D — January 17,
2020 letter from Martin Garcia).

On January 14th, 2020, Creeks Edge emailed a response to the informal complaint (Exhibit E —
January 14, 2020 letter from CSC) to counsel for Ms. Carbajal. It provided no new justification
for the charges, nor any necessary information such as the required lease addendum, invoices
demonstrating the basis for utility costs, or any calculation methodologies.

On January 17th, 2020, a letter from the Customer Protection Division (CPD) Investigator urged
Creeks Edge to resolve the issues identified in the informal complaint, to respond immediately,
and to provide CPD documentation of any actions made to resolve the complaint. (Exhibit D).

A January 23, 2020 letter from the CPD investigator found that Creeks Edge has not acted
consistently with the Commission’s substantive rules §24.279, §24.281, and §24.283, governing

the rental agreement, charges and calculations, and billing, respectively. (Exhibit F — January 23,
2020 letter from Martin Garcia).

II. The Commission has jurisdiction over this complaint

As of the submission of this formal complaint, Ms. Carbajal’s informal complaint have not been
resolved. Creeks Edge has not provided Ms. Carbajal evidence of their billing methodologies nor
have they refunded her for any overbilling. It has been over 35 days since Ms. Carbajal filed her
informal complaint and she is unsatisfied with the results of the informal complaint process. She
therefore files this formal complaint with the Commission. 16 Tex. Admin. Code. §22.242(d),
The Commission has exclusive jurisdiction over this complaint. Tex. Water Code §13.505(b); 16
TAC §24.285(a).

III.  Prayer for Relief

Ms. Carbajal seeks a finding that Creeks Edge violated the substantive rules governing non-
submetered water service cost allocation and overbilled Ms. Carbajal. She further seeks a refund
for any over-billed water and wastewater charges by Creeks Edge during her 2018-2019 and
current lease periods. Tex. Water Code §13.505. Ms. Carbajal also requests the Commission to
impose penalties against Creeks Edge for its continued violation of Texas laws governing water
and wastewater cost allocations, not to exceed $5,000 per day of violation. Tex. Water Code
§13.4151.



Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Jennifer N. Richards

Jennifer N. Richards

State Bar No. 24107975
Texas RioGrande Legal Aid
4920 N. IH 35

Austin, Texas 78751
Telephone: (512) 374-2758
Fax: (512) 447-3940
E-mail: jrichards@trla.org



CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I, Jennifer N. Richards, certify that a true and correct copy of this complaint was served upon the
attorney for CSC North Austin Realty via email and certified mail, return receipt requested:

Lori Daves

3624 North Hills Dr.,

Ste. B-100

Austin, TX 78731
lori@thedaveslawfirm.com

/s/ Jennifer N. Richards
Jennifer N. Richards
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Apartment Lease Contract
Thisis a binding contract. Read carafully before signing.

\
A This Lease Contract is valid only if Iilled out before Jonuary 1, 2020,
M ATEN
TEXAS APARTMENT ASSOCIATION
Date of Lease Contract: August 3, 2018

. ey n\l La;#(.‘antra:ric bllrd out)
e Moving 1 Gerieral Informatictyifeigh
1. Partles. This Lease Contract {"Lease™ is between you, the

resident(s) (st afl peaple signing the L :
Emma Carbajal Bgnig:,tag ¢ Lease

and us, the owner: CSC Cxoss Creek Realty LIC
{name of apartment co.
ity ortitle hold:
ing Apart mmun er]. You are rone-
P;,;, se mentNo., at 1124 Rutland
Gstreet address) in Aushin

{clty), Texas 78758 (zip code) for use as a privat

only. The terms "you” and “your” refer to alf res{d‘:n\g lg{:csfigm
of, in the svent of 3 sofa resident’s death, to someone authorized
10 act for the estate. The terms *we,” “us,” and “our” refer to the
owner listed above and not to property managers or anyone else.
Neither we nor any of our representatives hove made ony oral
promises, rept tations, or agt ts. Thislease is the en-
tire agreement between you and us.

2, Occupants. The apartment will be occupled only by you and (fist

aN other occupants not signing the Lease}:

Litzy Gonzalez

—and no one else. Anyone nat listed here cannot stay in the
apartment for more than _10__ days in one week without our
prior written consent, and no more than twice that many days in
any one month. if the previous space isn't filled in, 2 days total
per week will be the limit.

3. Lease Term. The initial term of the Lease begins onthe _3xd

day of Auqust. {month),
2018 _ fyeaandendsat 1t:39pm.the __ 31st  day
of Octaober . (month),__2019 (year).

After that, this Laase will automatically renew month-ta-month un-
fess either party gives at least 60 __ days’ written notice of termi-
nation orintent fo move out as required by Par. 36./f the number of
days isr't filfedin, notice of at feast 30 days is required.

4. Security Deposit. The total security deposit for all resi-
dents is $_500,00_, due on ar before the date this Lease
is signed. This amount (check onel: O does or B does not in-
clude an animat deposit. Any animal depasit will be desig-
nated in an animal addendum, Security-teposit refund
check and any deduction itemizations will be by [check one}:

® one check jointly payable ta alf residents and mailed to any
one resident we choose, or
{3 one check payable to and malled to

{specify name of one resident). _
If aeither option is checked here, the firsy option applies. See

Par.40 and 41 for security-deposit return information.
5, Keys, Move-Out, and Furniture. You'lkbegiven 2 _ apart-
ment key(s}, 1 __mailbox key(s) and other accessde-
vices for - .
Before moving out, you must give our representative advance
writtens move-outnotice asstatedinPar. 36, The move-out date
in your notice [eheck onet: 1 must be the last day of the month,
or 8 may be the exact day designated in your notice. ffneltherop-
tion is checked here, the second applies. Anyresident, occupant,or
spouse who, accotding to 3 remaining resident’s affidavit, has per-
manently moved out or is under court arder not to enter the apart-
ment, is (at our option) no lenger entitled to occupancy, keys, or
other access devices, unfess authorized by court otc{en Yourapart-
ment will be [eheck one): £ furnished or & unfurnished.
6. Rentand Charges. Youwili pay § . 1160.00 _ per
toanth for rent, in advance and without demand [check onel:
@ at the onsite manager’s office
% through our online payment site
Oat

2B
Yaur itials b C

Prorated rentof §_1149.71
2149 .71 _is due for the rem,
Icheck one}: R 15t month or O3 2nd month, an the ainder:af;r:;

——e e {mODth)

Yot must pay your rent on or b - lyear),
efore §

{due date). There is no grace periad :'):rm Jay oteach month

::,;’ y;:ui:‘g,m :2:1: r’u;t pay;"ngfre;t onorbefore the 1stof eqch
| reach of this Lease. Cash i
able without our prior writte S
n permission, Y,
:; old or offset rent unfess authorized by faw, W;unfa;n: tat:u‘:’:b
o::,;iq!‘ﬂm at any time that you pay all rent and oth'er sums 5:
qie payment by any mathod we specify. if you don’t pay

ali rent on or befare th
e___4th
the reasonable initial fate charge of Sday:( o th you' i
sonable daiy Jate e s £0.._, plus the rea-
17 charge of 5306, 00
until the ameount due is paid in ) Av;up;;day ahfter that date
3 ree that th,
esg:}::'ea :1 un;znala d;m.:g:?n?\t;
on 8
;Tnen‘: of rent.' Dally late charges cannot ﬂc;e:‘;l:;!::;iaft;my~
thegvh ’ rgc;vawh ‘s rent. We won't impose late charges until at x::;‘;
: ¥ Yy of the month, You'tl also pay a chargeof$ 75,00
or each re.(urned check or rejected electronic payment, p)usﬁﬁ-
tial and daily fate charges, until we receive acteptable payment.
Ifyou don't pay rent on tirne, you'll be in default and subject to alt

remedies unider state law and this Lease.

7. Utilitles and Services. We'll pay for the follawing items, if

checked: Ygas Owater Jwastewater 3 electricity

O trash/recyding 3 cable/satellite (3 master antenna

Ointernet I stormwater/drainage

Q other .
You'll pay for all other utilities and s=rvices, related deposits, and
any charges or fees on such utilities and services during your
Lease term. See Par. 12 for other related provisions regarding util-
itles and secrvices.

8. Insurance, Ourinsurance doesn’t cover the loss of or damage

to your personal property. You are [check onel:

8 required to buy and maintain renter’s or fability insurance

{see attached addendum), or

3 not required to buy renter s or iability insurance.
Ifneither option is checked, insurance fs ot required but{s stifl
strongly recommended. Even if not required, we urge you to
getyour own insurance forlosses due to theft, fire, water, pipe
leaks, and similar occurrences. Renter’s insurance dossn't cover
fosses due to a flaod. Information an renter’s insurance is avail-
able from the Texas Department of insurance.

9. Special Provisions, The following or attached special provisions
and any addenda or written rules furnished to you at o before
signing will become a part of this Lease and will supersede any
conflicting provisians of this printad Lease form,

Resident is responsible to pay $ 129 for

Ga3, Water, Sewer and Trash to CSC
Management;.

10, Unlawful Early Move-Out And Reletting Charge.

10.1 Your Responsibility. You'll be liable for a reletting charge
of 935,00 __(not to exceed 85% of the highest
monthly rent during the Lease term} if you: (A) fall to move
in, or fail to give wntten move-out notice as required ln
Par. 23 or 36; (B) move out without paying rent infull forthe
entire Lease term or renewal period; {C) move out at our de-
rmand because of your default; or (D) are judicially evicted.
The refetting chargeisnota cancellotion fee ond does not
release you from your obligations under this Lease. See

the next section.

lnimlsofﬂurlzpmem\in:___(& Apartment Lease Contract 82017, Texas Apartment Association, inc Pagerofs

" " Y M
- o
> P



FRICISIE FR T Y O FRASST A — & T2 5502 LT

L3

Kot Rkt AN

; i can-
Nota Release.!;f he retl?ttm'gt; iihaaﬁ%i :; gte(:tdhae;; tenatsceover-
cellation nor a buyout fee. o o
r damages—for our time, & ,ar
ingnc;glgjpga?:; ond pmﬁessmg a replacement resuder_t_t:
damages are uncertain and hard to ascertain

Thftsiceuiarty those relating to inconvenience, paperw_ork,
ggvertising. showing apartments, utm_ties for show:?g,
chacking prospects, overhead, marketmg'costs, and_ o-
cator-service fees. You agree that the reletting chargeis a
reasonable estimate of our damages and that the charge
is due whether of not our reletting attempts succeed. If
na amount is stipulated, you must pay our actual refet-
ting costs as far as they can be determined. The reletting
charge doesn't release you from continued liability for fu-
ture or past-due rent; charges for cleaning, repairing, re-
painting, or dealing with unreturned keys; or other sums

due.
11. Security Devices.

11.1 What We Provide, Texas Property Code secs. 92,151,
92.153, and 92.154 require, with some exceptions, that
we provide at no cost to you when occupancy begins: (A}
awindowlatch on each window; (8] adoorviewer (peep-
hole) on each exterior doot: (C) a pits lock on each sliding
daor: (D) either a door-handle latch or a security bar on
each sliding door; (E) a keyless bolting device (deadbolt)

on each exterior door; and (F) either a keyed doorknob

lock or a keyed deadbolt lock on one entry door. Keyed
locks witl be rekeyed after the prior resident mowzs'ouf.

The rekeying will be done either before you move in or
within 7 days after you move in, as required by law. If we
fail to instail or rekey security devices as required by law,
youhave the right to do so and deduct the reasonable
cost from vour noxt rent payment under Texas Proper-
ty Code sec. 92.165(1), We may deactivate or not install
keyless bolting devicas on your doors if (A) you or an oc-
cupuntin the dwelling is aver 55 or disabled, and (B) the
requirements of Texas Property Code sec. 92.153(e) or (f)
are satisfied,

11.2 Who Pays What. We'll pay for missing security devices
that are required by law. You'll pay for: (A) rekeying that
you request {unless we failed to rekey after the previous
resident moved out); and (B) repairs or replacements be-
cayse of misuse or damage by you or your family, your

ts, or your guests. You must pay immediately
after the work is done unless state law authorizes advarnice
payment. You must also pay In advance for any additional
or changed security devices you request.

12. Other Utilities and Services. Telavision channcls that aie pro-
vided may be changed during the Lease term if the change
applies to all residents. You may use utilitics only for normal
household purposes and must not waste thern, if your electric-
Ity is interrupted, you must use only battery-operated lighting
{no flames). You must not allow any utilities (other than cable
or Internet) to be cut off or switched for any rea<on—including
disconnection for not paying your bifls—until the Lease term
or renewal period ends, if a utility is submetered or prorated by
an allocation formula, we'll attach an addendum to this Lease
in compliance with state-agency rules. If a utility is individual-
ly metered, it must be connected in your name and you must

notify the provider of your move-out date so the meter can be
timely read. If you delay getting it turned on in your name by
the Lease’s start date or cause it to be transferred back Into our
name before you surrender or abandon the apartment, you'll
be liable for a $.50.00 charge {not to exceed $50 per billing
period), plus the actual or estimated cost of the utllities used
while the utility should have been billed to you. If you're in an
area open to competition and your apartment is individually
metered, you may choose or change your retaif electric provid-
er at any time. If you qualify, your provider will be the same as
ours, unless you choose a different provider. If you do choose
or change your pravider, you must give us written notice. You
must pay all applicable provider feas, including any fees to
change service back into our name after you move out,

0.2

™

13,2 Indemnification by You. You'// defend, indemnify and
hold us harmless from all liability arising from your
conduct ar that of your invitees, your occupants, your
guests, or aur representatives who atyour request per-
form services not contemplated in this Lease.

13.3 Damage and Wastewater Stoppage. Unless damage
or wastewater stoppage Is due to our negligence, we're
not Hable for—and you must pay for—repairs, replace-
ments, and damage of the following kind if occurring
during the Lease term or renewal period: (A) damage to
doors, windows, or screens; {B) damage from windows
or doors left open; and (C) damage from wastewater
stoppages caused by improper objects inlines exclusive-
ly serving your apartment.

13.4 No Waiver. We may require payment at any time, includ-
ing advance nayment to repair damage that you are liable
for. Delay in demanding sums you owe is not a waiver,

14. Contractual Lien and Property Left in Apartment, i

14.1 Lien Against Your Property for Rent, Al property in the .
apartment (_unless exempt under Texas Property Code
sec. 54.042}is subject to a contractual lien to secure pay-
ment of delinquent rent fexcept as prohibited by Yexas
Quvernment Code sec. 2306.6738, for owners support- {

ed by h Ing-tax-credit all forns). For this purpose, :
“apartment” excludes commaon areas but includes the in- Xi
terior living areas and exterior patios, balconles, attached 'y
garages, and any storerooms for your exclusive use. i
14.2 Removal After We Exercise Lien for Rent. ifyour rentis §
delinguent, our representative may peacefully enter the i
apartment, and remove and/or store all property sub- i
ject to lien. All property in the apartment is presumed to N
H

£

H

be yours unless proved otherwise, After the property is re-
moved, a written notice of entry must be left in a conspic-

vous place in the apartment—including a list of items re- i
moved, the amount of delinquent rent due, and the name, ¢
address, and phone number of the person to contact. The

notice must also state that the property will be promptly f-'
returned when the delinquent rent is fully paid. ur
14.3 Removal After Surrender, Abandonment, or Eviction. pl-
Wef or law cificers, niay remove or store all property re- /
maining in the apartment or in common areas (including ge
any vehicles you or any occupant or guest owns or uses) if ;
you're judicially evicted or if you surrender or abandon the nce

apartment (see definitions in Par. 41). /

14.4 Storage, H
sstifl

~Special Provisions and“What If“Clauses-&i.
13. Damages and Reimbursement,

13.1 Damage In the A_partment Community, You must
promptly pay or reimburse us for loss, damage, conse-
quential damages, government fines or charges, or rast of
YRPaN3 of service IN the apartment community because of

a Lease or rules violation; improper use; negligence; ather

conduct by you, YOUT invitees, your occupants, of your

guasts; or any other cause Not due ta our negligence ar
fault as allowed by law, except for damages by acts of Goa

10 the extent they couldn't be mitigated by your action or

inaction.

nitlalx of Our Reprazentative: %
Vst tutals:

charges, damages, ete.

(C) Place and payment for return. We may return re-
deemed property at the place of storage, the manage-
mant office, or the apartrent {at sur opTon). We may
require payment by cash, money order, aor certified

check.

14.6 Disposition or Sale.

(A) Our options. Except for animals, we may throw away
or give to a charitable organization all personal prop-

arty thatis:
(1) feft in the apartment after surrender. abandonment

or death of a sole resident; or

Fege 5 oF
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(A) No dnty. We'll store property removed under a con-
tractual lien. We may-—but we have no duty to—store you to
property removad after judicial eviction, surrender, or T, pipe
abandonment of the apartment. -t cover
(8) Nollability, We're not liable for casualty, loss, damage, o -
?r tlh,oi.-ft, except for property removed under a contrac- s aval
uai lien.
(€) Charges you pay. You must pay reasonable charges .
for our packing, ;Yemoving, ,gg,;,’f.g, and selling of any wisions
property. pefore
(D) Our lien. We have a lien on all property removed and ede any
sitore;:l aftﬁr surrender, abandonment, ot judicial evic-
tion for all sums you owe, with one exception: our
fien on property )!,i(s’ted under Texas Property Code Lﬁ‘,
sec, 54.042 Is limited to charges for packing, removing, —
and storing. "
14.5 Redemption. —
(A) Property on which we have o lien. If we've seized and o
stored property under a contractual lien for rent as au- e
thorized by law, you may redeem the property by pay- P e
ing all delinquent rent due at the time of selzure. But if [
notice of sale (see Par. 14.6(C)) is given before you seek —
redemption, you may redeem only by paying the de- J—
linquent rent plus our reasonable charges for packing,
remaoving, and storing. aanan—
(B) Property removed aftersurrender, abandonment, or i
Judicial eviction. if we've removed and stored proper-
ty after surrender, abandonment, or judicial eviction, Ying charg®
you may redeem only by paying afl sums you owe, in- he highest
cluding rent, late charges, reletting charges, storage fil o move

ecquired In

(': f:}!l for the
atat ourde-
ally evicted.
1nd does ot
x Lease. Se€

tnc. Pagelof®




o
‘.,’ (3 left outside more than 1 hour after writ of posses-
# sion is executed, following judicial eviction,

(8) Animals. An animal removed after surrender, abandon-
ment, of eviction may be kenneled of tumed averto a
focal authority, hurmane society, of rescue organization,

() Sale of property. Property not thrown away or given
to charity may be disposed of only by sale, which must
be held no sconer than 30 days after written notice of
the date, time, and place of sale is sert by both regy-
Yar mail and certified mai tretum receipt requested) to
your fast known address, The notice must iternize the

axxuunts You owe and provide the name, address, and
%\ one numier of the herson to contact about tha sale
@ amount owed, and your fight to redeem the prcp'-
eny. The sale may be public or private is subject to any
Tird-party ownerdhip orlien daims; must be tothe high-
estash idder; and may 'be in bulk, in batches, o item-
Yoy-tern. § e proceeds frarathe sale are morethanyou
owe, the excess amount must he mailed ty you at your

last known address within 20 days after sale.

15. Faliling to Pay First Month’s Rent

month's rent when or before the Leas
the Lease term will be automatically
and become immaediately due. We

occupancy and recover damages,
es, attomey’s fees, court costs,

I

If you don't pay the first

@ begins, all future rent for

accelerated without notice

also may end your right of

future rent, relétting charg-

and other lawhil charges. Our

rights, remedies and duties under Par, 10 and 32 apply to accel-
eration under this paragraph.

16. Rent increases and Lease Changes, No rentincreases or Lease
changes are allowed before the initial Lease term ends, except
for those allowed by special provisions in Par. 9, by a written ad-
dendum or amendment signed by you and us, or by reasonable

changes of apartment rules allowed under Par. 18.1f, at least 5

days before the advance-notice deadiine referred to in Par. 3, we

give you written notice of rent increases or Lease changes that
becomae effective when the Lease term or renewal period ends,
this Lease will automatically continue month-to-month with the
increased rent or Lease changes. The new modified Lease will
begin on the date stated in the notice (without needing your
signature} unless you give us written move-out notice under

Par. 36. The written move-out notice under Par, 36 applies only

1o the end of the current Lease or renewal period.

17. Delay of Occupancy.

171 Lease Remalns In Force, We are not responsible for any
delay of your occupancy caused by construction, repairs,
clearing, or a previous resident’s holding over. This Lease
will remain in force subjecttoy

{A) abatement of rent on a daily basis during delay, and

{®) youy right {0 terminate the lease in writing as set forth
helow.

2 Your Termination Rights. Termination notice must be in
172 woflting. After termin'agtion under 17.18), you are entitled
only to refund of any deposti(s) and any rent you paid.
Rent abatement or Lease term

ination does not applyif the
delay is for dleaning or repairs that

don’t preventyou from
moving Into the apartment.

17.3 Notice of Delay, if there Is a delay of your occupancy and
we haven't given notice of

delay as set forth immediatety
Helow, you may terminate this Lease

uptothe ‘gate when

the apartmant is ready for occupancy, hut not later,

@ \fp\:!e give written notice o any of you or your accu-
pants when or after the Lease

pegins—and the notice
states that occupancy has be

en delayed because of
construction ot a previous resident’s holding over, and
that the apartment will be ready ona specific date—
you may terminate th

& Lease within 3 days after you
receive written notice, but ho later.

{) ¥ we give any of you written notice tefore the date the
Lease begins and the notice states that a construction
delay is expected and that the apartment will be ready
for you to otcupy oh a specific date, you may termi-
nate the Lease within 7 days after receiving written no-
tice, but no later. The readiness date stated in the writ~
ten notice becomes the new effective Lease date for alt
purposes. This new date car't be moved to an earlier
date unless we and you agree in writing.

18. Disclosure of Information. if sumeone requests information
about

you of youy rental history for law-enforcement, governmen-
al, or business purposes,

we may provide it. Ay omequest. any\
ity provider may give us information about pending of actual

‘égntr?ccﬁons or disconnections of utility sendce ta your aparnent.

“shmmnwWhile YoureLiving inthesApartmentasss.

ici Rules.
ommunity Policias and ‘ .
e ily. Our rules are considered part of this Lgaseli
19 G r guests must comply with a

You,your occupants, and you
”~
B
NN <% £)

Initials of Qur Representative:

21, Parking.

wvit_ten apartment ryles
Ing mstructions for care
) . We
(é\) thefuse of patios, balconies, and gzrche? &y)rtehgeutm
huct of furniture movers and delivery person Tac
tivitiesin common o

S, and {C) ac-

and community policies ;
of our prope ty policies, incud.

19.2 Some Spacifics
pis ycurp - -Your apartment and other areas reserved
MW € use must be kept clean. Trash must be dis-
Mdmce _at‘l(eﬁ ;‘gekly in appropriate receptacles in accor-
vith local ordi
for entry or exit, Yégaxiiﬁsz balconies w’?taggr: mon%
not overload them. Any swim an
C ming pools, saunas, s
used with care and ¢
apartanent rules and posted signs. inaccordance uith

19.3 Limltations on Con i
e Or m duct. Glass containers are prohib-
ok pools and alf other common areas. Within
partment community, you, YOUT gecupants, and your

gw\g:;ts must not use candias or kecasene tarngs 'or heatecs

o;o otu‘tdour prior WHtten approval, or eook on baleonies

utside. You, your accupants, snd your guests must ney
solitit business or contributions, Conducting any kind of
business (including child-care servicesy n your apartiment,
or in the apartment community is prohibited——except
that any lawful business conducted "at hame” by coraput-
er, mall, or telephone fs permissible if customers, clients,
patients, or other business associates do not come to your
apartment for business purposes.

19.4 Exclusion of Persons. We may exclude from the apant-
ment cormmunity any guests or others who, in dur judg-
ment, have been violating the law, violating this Lease or
our rules, or disturbing other residents, neighbors, visitors,
or ownar representatives. We may also exclude from any
outside area or common area anyone who refuses to show
photo identification or refuses to identify himself or herself
as 2 resident, an occupant, of a guest of a specific resident
in the cormmunity.

19.5 Notice of Convictions and Registration. You must notify
us within 15 days if you or any of your occupants are con-
victed of (A} any felony, or (B) any misdemeanor involving
a controlled substance, violence to ancther person, or de-
struction of property. You must also notify us within 15 days
if you or any of your occupants register as a sex offender. in-
forming us of a criminat conviction or sex-offender registra-
tion doesn't waive any rights we may have against you.

20. Prohibited Conduct. You, your occupants, and your guests

may not engage in the following activites:

(@ criminal conduct, regardiess of whether or where ar-
rest or conwiction accurs, including but not Kimited
10: manufacturing, delivering, or possessing a can-
trolied substance or drug paraphernalia; engaging
In or threatening violence; possessing a weapon pro-
hibited by law; discharging a firearm in the apartment
community; or, except when allowed by 1aw, displaying
oF possessing a gun, knife, or other weapan in the com-
mon area, Gf i 3 way that may alarm others;

{b} behaving in aloud or obnoxious manner;

{c) disturbing or threatening the rights, co_mfott, health,

safety, or convenience of others lincluding our agents

and employees) in ot near the apartment community;

{d} distupting our business operations; .

&) storing anything in closets contairing gas apphances;

i) tampering with utilities or telecormunications;

{g) bringing hazardous materials into the apartment cor-
munity;

) using windows for entry or exit; )

{) heating the apartment with a gas-operated cooking
stove or OVar, oF

( making bad-faith or false allegations against us or our
agentsto others,

We may regulate the time, manner, and place of park-
ing all cars, trucks, motorcycles, bicydles, boats, traiters, and rec-
reational vehicles. Mororeyc

les or motorized bikes must not be
parked inside an apartme!

nt, on sidewalks, under sta\nn{‘e;:h‘;, eoé
in handicapped-parking areas. We may have any unauthoriz
,:;t mega“ypf;nz‘a yehicies towed according to state law at the
oWTET OF OPeIAtor's axpense Ay any tme if the vehicle:
2) hasafiattireoris othenwise inoperable; )
{b) s onjacks, on Blocks, ot ha;kq xvhse:; :;\sslng.
¢) takes up more than one parkng 4
((d\) be\ongps to a resident or ocgupant who has surren-
dered or abandoned the spartment; red
{e) isinahendicapped space without the legally require
handicapped insignia;

ars
Apartment Lesse Contract 2017, Texas Apartment Assoation, ne. Peged
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The Lease will control if there’s a conflict with this summary.

Unit ¥ 4
w Address: 1124 Rutland Bolve w7 W Ending date of Lease (Par. 3 _____10/31/2010
» 569";‘:”9‘ da Escr" ot?ceforte'rminaﬂon a3 __ 60 ® Consent for guests staying morethan__30__days (Par. 2)
: "r“:t:l‘ setr::myaieposit {Par.4) $ 500.00 W Animal deposit (if any) $

sit tPar. 4) ) does OR B0 does not include an animal deposit. )

: ?Eﬁ"zg Sﬁggm (:funci check will be ly (Par. 4) (check one) 8 one check jointly payable to all residents (default),
DR CJ one check payable to and mailed to
 # of keys/access devices (Par. 5} for _2_unit, _1_maltbox, __other . .
® Your move-out notice will terminate Lease on (Par. 5% (check one} (1 fast day of month OR @& exact day designated in notice
B Check here £3if the dwelling is to be furnished (Par. 5) M Check here 3 if there is a concession addendum
- ‘l.‘_.‘en‘ to be paid (Par. 6): (check afi that apply) ® at the onsite manager’s office, 8 through our online payment site, OR
at

» Check hese if included in monthly rent: O garage, O storage, O carport, 0 washer/dryer, or J other

W Total monthly rent (Par. 6) §__1100.00 R Prorated rent {Par. 6} for [check one)

W Late charges if rent is not paid on or before (Par.6) __ 4th @ first month OR I second month § 1145.71
0 Initial late charge (Par. 6) $ 50.00 W Daily late charge (Par. 6) $ 10.00
® Returned-check charge (Par. 6) $ 15.00 W Animal viofation charges (Par. 27)

W Monthly animal rent (if any) $ Initiaf $ 100.00 Dsily $ 10.90
& Monthly pest control (f any) e B Monthly trash / waste (ifany}

1
W Utilities paid by owner (Par. 7). (check all that apply) C elecuicity, £ gas, LJ water, (3 wastewater, L3 trash/recycling,
(7 cable/satellite, 0} master antenna, O3 internet, O stormwater/drainage, (J other

e i ORrR
W Utility connection charge (Par. 12) $.. 5000 W You are: (check one} & required to buy insurance

m Agreed reletting d.afgge (Par.1)  $._. 935.00 03 not required to buy insurance (Par. 8)

& Special provisions (Par, 9): Resident 18 respo. ibl 3 9 _for Gas

Trash. to SC Management,

42. Attachments. We will provide you with a copy of the Lease as 43, Class Action Waiver. You agree that you will not participate in any

required by statute. This may be in paper format, in an elec- class action claims against us or our representatives.
tronic format if you request it, or by e-mall if wa have commuy- 9 presentatives. You must fite

i ¢ t v any claim against usindividually, and you expressly waive your abil-

;:J%zi li)fyaen-n"l;l:! ?g;):;ttahéa é.deisfé &u{ é;’s‘isaiﬁdg?m?:;x ity to bring, represent, jqin or gthervise maintaina claJs,:action,

at signing. When 2n inventory and Condition form is complet- coflective action or similar proceading against us in any forum.

ed, both you and we should retain a copy. The items checked

below are attached to ant become a part of this Lease and are YOU UNDERSTAND TH H VER, YOU COULD

binding even if not initialed or signed, BE.A PARTY WM A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT, BY SIGNING THIS
T Access Gate Addendum LEASE, YOU ACCEPT THIS WAIVER AND CHQQSE TO HAVE ANY
€1 Additional Special Provisions CLAINS DECIDED [NDIVIDUALLY, THE PROVIS!

43 SHALL SUR

’ IONS OF TH)S PAR,
OAllocation Addendum for: 03 electricity 0 water (3 gas RVI TERMINATION ATION OF THIS
3 central system costs Tl trash/recycling O cable/sateltite

LEASE,
O stormwater/drainage 1 services/government fees ,
Dianimal Adder:dunlx "% ices/government fe Resident initials: %CGB

O Apartment Rules or Community Policies You are le

A gally bound by this document. Please read it carefully.
géesge;;gs A@‘zdeen';’%":‘“ (if asbestos is present) A facsimile or electronic signature on this Lease s as binding as an origi-
@tarly Termination Addendurmn ) nalsignature.
JEnclosed Garage, Carport, or Storage Unit Addendum Before submitting a rental application or signing a Lease, you may

Ointrusion Alarm Addendum £ thase documents to raviaw and/or consult an att
Binventory & Condition Form take a copy of these documents to review and/or con: orney.

®\ead Hazard Information and Disclosure Addendum Additional provisions or changes may bemadeintheLeaseif agreedtoin
O3Lease Contract Addendum for Units Participating in writing by afl parties.
ufﬂi’?mg gtegxlaartaend tf(f;%‘g::’\lt? e:(:; 1;2?&!'3;3; Zmn:) You are entitled to receive a copy of thisLeasa afteritis fully signad. Keep

Tl egal Description of Apartment (optional, if rental term  itin a safe place. This lease is the entire agreement batvi2en you and us.

longer than ane year) You are NOT relying on any oral representations.
DIMilitary SCRA Addendum
) Mold information and Prevention Addendum

A Regsidefito, It sign below)
B Move-Out Cleaning Instructions 7
3 Notice of intent to Move Qut Form & og/&? / /
Q1 Parking Permit or Sticker (quantity: ) M O RSt el Date signed
@ Rent Concession Addendum
R Renter’s or Liability Insurance Addendum
0) Repair or Service Request Form {Name of Resident) Date signed

0 Satelhte Dish or Antenina Addendum
3 Security Guidelines Addendum

(3 PUC Tenant Guide to Water Allocation (Name of Resident) Date'signed
a \é,ﬁlity Submetering Addendum; (J electricity (3 water
s ’19:15 {Name of Resident) Oate signed
g Other, :
g gtt}r;:: {Name of Resident] Date signed

Name, address and telephone number of focotor service (if applicable {3 3
—mustbe completed to verify TAA mermbership under Par, 35Y. (Name of Residend oresianed

Owner or Qwner's Repre, signing on behalf of owner

Address and phone numbe)
After-nours phone number (512) 832-17885 1124 rRutiand Drive
{Always calt 911 for police, fire, or medical emergencies) Austin, TX 78758

Date formis filled out (sameas ontopof page 7)_08£03/2018 pEIe) £32-71885
Yourhitals: 7 ’ il Lanse Cortracy, TAAOffcil Scatewkcie Formv 17-N8 18 2/8-3 Reviesd Ociober 2017 Page 8o/
[ S

WNer's representative for notice purposes
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Date of Lease Contract

1.

>

w

“au,

L ehals ﬁb‘é

aAL_dwd

B M » B |3

October 11, 2019
{when this Lease Contract ss filled out}

Moving In — General Information

Parties. This Lease Contract "Lease) is between you, the
residentis} fist all people signing the Lease}
Emma Carbajal

and us, the owner CSC. Czoss. Creek Realty LIC

{ fapartmentc ity or title holder). You are rent-
ing ApartmentNo. ____094  _ at 1124 Rutland = _
Drave

Auatin I

{arty), Texas 78758 {zip code, for use as a private residence
only The terms "you" and “your” refer to all residents listed above
of, 1 the event of a sole resident’s death, to somaone authorized
to act for the estate The terms "we,” “us,” and “our” refer to the
owner isted above and not to property managers ar anyone else
Neither we nor any of our representatives have made any oral

i i This Lease is the en-

{street address) in

p rep orag
tire agreement between you and us.

Occupants. The apariment will be occupied only by you and (fist
alf other occupants not signing the Lease)
above only .

apartment for more than 3. _days in one week without our
prior written consent, and no more than twice that many days in
any one month. ff the previous space isn‘t filled in, 2 days total
per week will be the limit.

Lease Term, The initial teem of the Lease begins on the 1

dayof _ _ Wovember  month)
2018 (yeanandendsat1159pm the _ 3lst  day

of . January . __ .. fronth) . 2021 (yean

After that, this Lease will automatically renew month-to-month un-
fess erther party quves at least 89 days’ written notice of termy-
naion or ntent to move ou- as required by Par 36 Ifthe number of
days isn'tfilled in, notice of at least 30 days isrequired.

Securrty Deposit. The tatal sacurity deposit for all resi-
dents 15 $_500.00 , dus on or before the date this Lease
15 sigued. This amount {check onei* (J does or @ does not in-
clude an animal deposit. Any animal depesit will be desig-
nated n an ammal addendum. Security-deposit refund
check and any deduction itemizations will be by [check one]
M one check jointly payable to all residents and mailed to any
one resident we choose, or
T one check payable to and mailed to
{speaify name of 3
if neither option 1 checked here, the first option applies. See
Par 40 and 41 for security-deposit retum informatian

Keys, Move-Gut, and Furniture, You'll be given
mentkey(sl, 1. matboxkeyls) and |
vicesforparking N
Before moving out, you must give our representative advance
written move-out natice s stated in Par, 36. The move-out date
n your notice check one] {J must be the last day of the month,
or 0 may be the exact day designated in your notice ifnatther op-
tion 15 checked here, the second applies Any resident, occupant, or
spouse who, according to 4 remaining resident’s affidavit, has per-
manently moved out or is Lnder court order not to enter the apart-
ment, Is fat our optior! no longer entitied to occupancy, keys, or
other access devices, untess authorized by court order. Your apart-
ment will be [check one®, (3 furnishad or 8 unfurnished.

Rent and Charges. You will pay § 1130.00

month for rent, in advance and without demand [cheeck one)
0 at the onsite manager's office
® through our online payment site
B at httpa;//www. CreeksBEdgeAustain com

L2 apart-
other access de-

per

:2

w

]71 Blue Moon eSignature Services Document [D° 194602327 113 “svas apartmert As.ociation, 're

This Lease Contract is valid only if filled out before January 1, 2022

Apartment Lease Contract
This s a binding contract, Read carefully before signing.

Prorated rentof & _____ 15 due for the remainder of the
{check one] W 1st month or 73 2nd month, on the day ot
N {month),  {yeat)

You must pay your rent on or befare the 1st day of each
month (due date). There is no grace period for the payment
of rent, and you agree that net paying rent on or before the
1st of each month is a material breach of this Lease. Cash s
not acceptable without our prior written permission. You
cannat withhold or offset rent unless authorized by law. We
may, at our option, require at any time that you pay all rent and
other sums in one single payment b, any method we specify

We won't impose late charges unt.l at least the fourth day of the
month ifyoudon't pay rent in fullon or beforethe  3zd

day of the month at 1159 p m, you will pay us the following initial
late charges immediately and without derrand in addition to rent

® 10 percentof one month's rert as stated m this paragraph
OR
s

tn addition to the injtial late charges, we may impose daily late
feesof § or % of rent per day thereafter until rent
ard late charges a7e paid in full Daily late charges cannot exceed
. days tmaxarurn of 15 days) for any single month’s rent

You'll also pay a charge of $ 50 00 for each retumed check
or rejected electronic payment, plus inltat and darly late charg-
es, until we racewve acceptable payment If you don't pay rent on
time, you'll be in default and subject to all remedies under state
taw and this Lease

Utilities and Services, We'll pay for the following items, if
checked {Jgas Dlwater {Jwastewater (3 electricity

03 trash/recycling 73 cable/satelite 73 master antenna

O Internet (3 stormwater/drainage

Qother e
You'll ay for all other utilities and services, related deposts, and
any charges or fees on such utilities and services durng your
Leaseterm See Par 12 for ather related provisions regarding uti-
ities and services

Insurance. Our insurance doesn’t cover the foss of or damage
to your personal property. You are 'check one]

&1 required to buy and mairtain renter’s or lability insurance

(see attached addendumj, or

03 not required to buy renter’s or liability nsurance.
i neither option 1s checked, insurance is not required but is still
strongly recommended. Even if not required, we urge you to
getyour own insurance for losses due to theft, fire, water, pipe
leaks, and similar occurrences. Renter's insurance doesn't cover
fosses due to a flood information on renter's insurance 1s avail
able from the Texas Department of Insurance

Special Provisions. The following or attached spetial provisions
and any addendd or written rules furnished to you at or before
sigrung will becorre a part of this Lease and will supersede any
conflicting provisions of this printed Lease form
Refer to the community policy,

Limitations. no BBO grills, trash ox
as i atd,

furniture, plants. bicycles allowed
outside. Water/sewer/gas-ixl $60; 2xl
and 2x2 $70. Trash $13; pest control $5
due with rent. A fee will be charged
upon _payment with money order/check/cc/
debit. After the 3th an Eviction Hold-

non-refundable. First floor amenity fee
18 included in the rent.

. Unlawful Early Move-Out And Reletting Charge.

10.1 Your Responsibility. You'll he hiable for a reletting charge
of §__960.50 ___ (not to exceed 85% of the highest
maonthly rent durng the Lease term) if you. {A) fail to mave
in, or faif to give wnitten move-out notice as reguired In
Par 23 or 36; (B mave out without paying rent in full for the
entire Lease term or ranewal period, {C} move out at our de-
mand because of your default, or (D) are judicially evicted
Thereletting charge is not a cancellation fee and does not
release you from your obligations under this Lease. See

Pagatars




10.2 Not a Release, The reletting charge is nather a Lease can-
celfation nar a buyour fee 1t s a liquidated amount cover-
ing only part of our damages—for our time, effort, and ex-
pense in finding and processing a replacement resident
These damages are uncertan and hard to ascertam—
particularly those relating to incanvenence, paperwork,
advertising, showing apartments, utilittes for showing,
checking prospects, overhead, marketing costs, and lo-
catar-service fees You agrae that the reletting charge is a
reasonable estimate of our darnagas and that the charge
is due whether or not our reletiing attempts succeed, If
no amount Is stipulated, you must pay our actual relet-
fing costs as far as they can be determined. The reletting
charge doesn't release you from continued liabihty for fu-
ture or past due rent; charges for cleaning, repaining, re-
painting, or dealing with unreturned keys, or ather sums
due

11. Security Devices.

1

Yert ntats i(jb

~

11.1 What We Provide. Texas Property Code secs. 92.151,
92,153, and 92.154 require, with some exceptions, that
we provide at no cost to you when occupancy begins: (A}
awindow latch o each window; (B} a doarviewer {peep-
hole) on each extennordoor; (C} a pinlock on each sfiding
door; (D) either a door-handle latch or a security bar on
each sliding door; (E) a keyless bulting device {deadbolt)
on each exterior doar; and (F) esther a keyed doorknob
lock or a keyed deadbolt lock an ane entry door. Keyed
locks wilt be rekeyed after the prior resident maves out.
The rekeying will be done either before you move in or
within 7 days after you move in, as required by law. If we
fail to install or rekey security devices asrequired by law,
you have the right to do so and deduct the reasonable
cost from your next rent payment under Texas Proper-
ty Code sec. 92.165(1). We may deactivate or not instail
keyless bolting devices on your doors if {A) you or an oc-
cupant in the d g is over 55 or disabled, and (B) the
requirements of Texas Property Code sec. 92.153(ej or (f)
are satisfied.

11.2 Who Pays What. We'll pay for missing security devices
+hat are required by law You'll pay for: (A) rekeying thgt
yourequest {unless we failed to rekey after the previays
resident mggj Qut); and (B) regqinorreglgggmgnts be-
tause of misuse or damage by yoy or your family, your
oscupants, or your guests, You Tust pay immediately
after the work is done unless state law authorizes advancs
payment, You must also pay in advance for any additional
or changed security devices you request

Gther Utilities and Sarvices. Telewision channels that are pro-
vided may be changed during the Lease term if the change
applies to afl residents You may use utiities only for normat
~ousehold purposes and must not waste them If your electric-
ity 1s interrupted, you must use only battery-operated lighting
{no flames! You must not allow any utdities (other than cable
or internet) to be cut off or switched for any reason-- including
disconnection for not paying your bills—untii the Lease term
of renewal period ends I a utility ts submetered or prorated oy
an affocation formula, we' | attach an addendum to this Lease
in compliance with state-agency rules If a utilny 1s Individual

ly metered, t must be cornected n your name and you mast
notify the provider of your move-out date so the meter car be
wmely read. If you delay getting it turned on in your name by
the Lease’s start date or cause it to be transferred back into cur
name befare you surrender or ahandon the apartment, you'lt
be hable fora 5.75_00 charge (not to exceed $50 per bifling
period), plus the actual or estirmated cost of the utilities used
while the utihty should have been billed to you. if you're in an
area open to competition and your apartment is individually
metered, you mdy choose or change your retal electnic provid-
er at any *ime 1f you qua’fy, your provider will be the same as
aurs, uniless you choase a different provider If you do choose
or chahge your provider, you must give us written notice You
must pay ali applicable provider fees, mcluding any fees to
change service back into our name after you move out

Special Provisions and “What If” Clauses

13. D

and Reimb "

13.1 Damage in the Apartment Community. You must
proraptly pay or reimburse us for loss, damage, conse-
quential damages, government fines o charges, or costof
repairs or service in the aparintent community because of
a Lease or rules violaton; improper use, negligence, other
corduct by you, your tvitees, your occupants or your
quests, or any other cause not due to our negligence or
fault as allowed by law, except for damages by acts of God
ta the extent they couldn’t be mitigated by your action or
inaction

9

13.2 Indemnification by You. You'li defend, indemnify and
hold us harmliess from all liability arising from your
conduct or that of your invitees, your occupants, your
guasts, or our representatives who at your request per-
form services not contemplated in this Lease.

133D and W 3 Unless di g
or wastewater stoppage Is due ta our negligence, we're
riot liable for—and you must pay for—repairs, replace-
maents, and damage of the following kind if occurring
during the Lease term or renewal period: (A} damage to
doors, windows, or screens; (8] damage from windows
or doors left open; and (C) damage from wastewater
stoppages caused by impraper objects in lines exclusive-
ly serving your apartment.

13.4 No Waiver. We may require payment at any time, includ-
ng advance payment to resar damage that you are liable
for Delay in demanding sums you owe 1s 1ot a waiver

14. Contractual Lien and Property Leftin Apartment.

14,1 Lien Against Your Property for Rent. All property in the
apartment (unless exempt under Texas Praperty Code
sec. 54.042) is subjectto a contractuat lien to secure pay-
ment of delinquent rent (except as prohibited by Texas
Government Code sec, 2306.6738, for owners support-
ed by h tax-credit affuci For this purpose,
“apartment” excludes common areas but inciudes the -
teriar lving areas and exterlor patios, balcones, attached
garages, and any storerooms for your exclusive use

14.2 Removal After We Exercise Lien for Rent. if your rent is
our e may peacefully enter the
apartmenl. and rzmow and/or store all property sub-
Ject to fien, All property in the apartment 's prasumed ‘o
be yours unless proved otherw se After the property 1sra-
moved, a written notice of entry must be laft in a eonspic-
Lous place in the apartment—nciuding a list of items re-
moved, the amount of delinquent rent dus, and the name,
address, and phone number of the person to contact. The
notice must a'so state that the property will be promptly
raturned when the delinguent rent 1s “ully vaid

14.3 Remaoval After Surrender, Abandonment, or Eviction.
We, of law officers, may remove or store ali property re-
maining in the apartment or in commen areas (ncluding
any vehicles you or any accupant or guest owns or uses) if
you're judicially evicted or if yau surrender or abandon the
apartment (see defintions in Par 41)

14.4 Storage,

{A} No duty. We'll store property removed under a con-
tractuat hen We may—but we have no dutyto  store
property removed after judicial eviction, surrender, or
abandonment of the apartment

(B) No liability. We're not hable for casualty, loss, damage,
or theft, except for property removed under a contrac-
tuallien

{C} Charges you pay. You must pay reasonable charges
for our packing, removing, storing, and seling of ary
property

(D) Our lien. We have & lien on all property removed arc
stored after surrender, abandonment, or judicial evec-
tior for all sums you owe, with one exception our
hen on property listed under Texas Property Code
sec 54 042 s imited to charyes for packing removing,
and stonng

14.5 Redemption.

{A} Property on which we have a lien. if we've seized and
stared property under 2 contractual sen for rent as au-
thonzed by law, you may redaem the property by pay-
ng all delinquent rent due at the ume of seizure Butif
notice of sale (see Par 14 6(C))1s qiven before you seek
redemptron, you may redeem only by npaying the de-
linquent rent pius our reasonabie charges for packing,
removing, and stormg

(B) Property d after der, aband or
Jjudicial eviction. if we've removed and stored proper
ty after surrender, abandonment, or judiciat eviction,
you may redeem only by paying ali sums you owe, in
cluding rent, late charges, reletting charges, storage
charges, damages, etc.

{C) Ptace and payment for retern. We may raturn re-
deemed property at the place of storage, the manage-
ment office, o the apartment {at aur option) We may
requre payment by cash, money order, or certified
check

14.6 Disposition or Sale,

{A) Our options. Except far arumals, we may throw away
or give to a chartable organization all personat prop-
erty thatis
{1) left in the apartmenrt after surrender, abandonment

ordeath of 2 sole rasident, or

D Blue Moon eSignature Services Bocurment 1D, 194602327 fiy waxa. Apzrtmant Assount on 'ne
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(2) left outside rrore than 1 hour after writ of posses-
sion 15 executed, following judicial eviction.

(B) Animals, An anumal removed after surrander, abandon-
ment, or eviction may be kenneled or tumed overto a
local authenty, humane society, or rescue organization,

(€} Sale of property. Property not thrown away or given
to charity may be disposed of only by sale, which must
be heid no sooner than 30 days after written notice of
the date, time, and place of sale is sent by both requ-
far mail and certrhed mar' lreturn recerpt requested) to
your fast known address. The notice must temize the
amounts you owe and provide the name, address, and
phone number of the oerson to contact about the sal,
the amour t owed, and your right to redeem the prop-
erty The sale may be publie or private, 15 subject to any
thid-party awnership or ien cfaims: must be to the high-
est cash bidder; and may beon bulk, In batches, or item-
by-item ff the procecds from the sale arg more than you
owe, the excess amount must be mailed to you at your
tast known address within 30 days after sale

15. Failing to Pay First Month’s Rent. If you don't pay the first

1

S

~

month’s rent when or before the Lease begins, all future rent for
the Lease term wil be automatically accelerated without notice
and becom= immediately due. We also may end your right of
occupancy and recover damages, future rert, relettng charg
o, attorney's faes, Court costs, and other lawful charges. Our
rights, remedies and cuties under Par 10 and 3.2 apply to accel-
araunn undar this paragraph.

. Rentincreases and Lease Changes. No rentincreases or Lease

changes are at'owed before the jritial Lease term ends, except
for those allowed by special provisions in Par 9, by a written ad-
dendum or amendment signed by you and us, or by reasonable
changes of apartment rules allowed under Par, 15, if at least 5
days before the advance-notice deadime referrad to in Par. 3, we
give you written notice of rent increases or Lease changes that
become effective when the Lsase term or renewal period ends,
this Lease will autormatically continue month-to-month with the
increased rert or Lease changes The new modified Leasas will
begin on the date stated in the notice (without needing your
signature) unless you give us written move-out notice under
Par 36 The writter move-out notice under Par 36 apphes orly
to the end of the current Lease or renewal peniod

Detay of Occupancy.

17.1 Lease Remains in Forca, We are not responsible for any
delay of your occupancy caused by construction, repais,
deaning, ar a previous resident’s holding over This Lease
will remain in force subject to
(A) abatement of reat on a dady basis during delay, and
{B) your night to terminata the .ease in wriung as set forth

below

17.2 Your Terminatlon Rights. Termination notice must be n
writing After termination under 17 1(R), you are entitied
only to refund of any deposit{s) and any rent you pard
Rert abatement or Lease termination does not apply if the
delay s for cleaning or repairs that don't prevent you from
moving into the apartment.

17.3 Notice of Delay. if there is a delay of your occupancy and
we haven't qiven notice of defay as set forth immediately
Below, you may terminate this Lease up to the date when
the apartment is ready for occupancy, but not later
@ i we gve wntten notice to any of you or your occu-

pants when or after the Lease begins— and the notice
statas that occupancy has peen defayed because of
construction or a previous rasident’s holding over, and
that the apartment will be ready on a specific date—
you may terninate the Lease within 3 days after you
recewve written notice, but no later,

If we give any of you wrltten notice before the date the

Lease begins and the natice states that a construction

delay is expected and that the apartment wi be ready

for you to octupy on a specrfic date, you may termi
nate the Lease within 7 days after recerving wrikten no-
tice, but no later The readiness date stated i the writ-
ten notice becomes the new effective Lease date *or alt
purposes. This rew date can't be moved to an earlier
date unless we and you agree in wnting

g

18 Disclosure of Information. If someone requests information

about you or your rental hustory for law enforcement, governmen-
tal, or business purposas, we may provide |t At our request, any
utility provider may grve Ly information about pending or actual
connections or disconnectians of utility setvie to your apartment

While Yo

@ Living in the Apartment

19. Community Policies and Rules.

oo e (Y

131 Generally. Qur rules are considered part of this Lease.
You your occupants, and your gugsts must comply with all

written apartment rules and communidy po icies, nclud-
ng instructions for care of our property We may regulate.
(A) the use of patias, balcamies, and porches, (B) the con
duct of furn ture movers and delivery persans, and {() ac-
tvities In common areas. We may make reascnable chang-
s to written rules, and those rules can become effective
immedsately if the rules are distributed and applicakle to
all umits in the apartment community and do not change
the dollar amoeunts on dages 1 or 2 of this Lease

19.2 Some Specifics. Your apartment and other areas reserved
for your privale use must be kept clean Trash must be dis-
posed of at least wackly in appropoate receptades in accor-
dance with local ordinances Passageways may be used crly
for entry or exit. You will use halcones with care and will
not overload them Any swirnrmirg pools, saunas, spas, tan-
ning beds, exerase rooms, starewcorms, laundry rooms andg
sirmular areas must be used with care and in accordance with
apartment rules and posted signs

19.3 Limitations on Conduct. Glass containers are prohib-
sted 1n or near pools and all other common areas. Within
the apartment community, you, your octupants, and your
guests must not use candles or kerosene lamps or heaters
without our prior written approval, ot couk on balcomss
or outside You, your occupants, aad your guests must rot
sohot business or contnbutions. Conduct ng any kind of
business finduding chila care servicasj in your apartment
or n the apartment commumty is prohinited—except
that any lawful busiress conducred “athome” by comput-
er, mai, or telaghone is permissible if customars, chents,
patierts, of other business associates do not come to your
apariment for business purposes

19.4 Exclusion of Persans. We may exclude from the apart-
ment commumty any guests or others wha, in o judg-
ment, have been vinlating the law, violating this .ease or
our rules, or disturbing other rasidents, netghbors, visitors,
or awner reprasentatives, We may also exclude from any
outside area of common area anyone who refuses 1o show
photo entficatian or refuses to identify limse!f or herself
as aresident, an occupant, or a guest of a spexific resident
in the commun.ty

19.5 Notice of Convictions and Registration. You must notify
us within 15 days if you or any of your otcupants are con-
victed of (A, any fefony, or (B} any misdemeanor involang
a controlled substance, violence to another person, or de-
struction of property You must also notify us within 15 days
if you or any of yaur occupants register as a sex offender, In-
forming us of a comunal conviction or sex-offender registra
Tion doesn’t waive any nights wa may have agamst you

20. Prohiblted Conduct. You, your occunants, and your quests

may not engage in the following activities

@ cnmunal conduct, ragardiess of whether or where ar-
rest or conviction occurs, ncduding but not himited
to manufacturing, delivering, or possessing a cor-
t-olfed substance or drug paraphernalia, engaging
in or threatening violerce, possessing a weapon pro-
tubited by law, discharging a firearm in the apartment
commuruty, or, except when allowed by law, displaying
or possessing a gun. knife, ot ather weapan i the com-
non area, of In a way *hat may alarm others,

b} behaving in a loud or chnoxious manner;

i<t disturbing or threatening the rights, comfort, health,
safety, or convenience of othes {including our agents
and employees) N or near the apartment community,

{d) disrupting our business operations,

{e} storing anything in closets conta ring gas apphiances,

, tampering with utiities or telecommurucatiors,

{g) bringing nazardous matenals into tre apariment com-
munity,

th) usmg windows for entry or exit,

i, hearing the apartment with a gas-operatad cooking
stove or oven; or

()} making bad-fath or false allegations agaizst us or our

agents W others

21. Parking. We may ragulate the trme, manner, and place of park-

Ing all cars, trucks, motorcycles, bicycles, boats, tralers, and rec-
reational veleles dlatarcycles or motanzed okes must not be
parked wnside an apartment, on sidewalks, under stairwels, or
n handicapped-par<ing arcas We may have any unauthonzed
or ittagally parked vehicies towed according to state law at the
owneT or operator's 2xpense at any time if the vehicle

{a) hasaflat tre oris otherwise inoperable,

(b) 15 on jacks, on blocks, or has a wheel missg;

(] takes up more than one parking space,

(d) belongs to a resident ot occupant who has surren-
dered or abandoned the apartment,
is in a handheapped space without the legally required
handwapped Insigua;

e
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{f) 151 a space marked for office visitors, managers, or
staff,

{g) blocks another vehicle from exiting,

th) smafie lane o1 designated no patikung” area,

{1 1s'naspace marked for anather resident or apartment,

(3 wonthe grass, idewalk, or patic;

{k} blocks a garbage truck from access to a dumpster,

(I} has na current hicense or registration, and we have
given you at feast 10 days’ rotice that the vehicle wall
e towed if not removed, or

() 15 notmoved to allow parking lot maintenance.

22, Relsase of Resident.
22.1 Generatly. You may have the right under Texas law to

terminadte the Lease eatly in certain situations involv-
ing family violence, certain sexual offenses, or stalking.
Qtherwise, unless you're erditled to termunate this Lease
under Par S, 17, 23, 31, or 35, you won't be reteased from
this Lease for any reason—mncluding voluntary or involun-
tary schoal withdrawal or transfer, voluntary or invofuntary
job transfer, marnage, separation, divorce, reconcilation,
loss of coresidents, toss of employment, bad health, prop
erty purchase, or death.

22.2 Death of Sole Resident, If you are the sole rendent and

die during the L.ease term, an authonzed representative of
your estate may terminate the Lease without penalty by
giving at least 30 days' written notice Your estate will be
hable for your Lease obligations untif the latter of- A} the
termination date or B} removal of all possessions in the
apartment, Your estate will also be liable for all charges and
damages urtd the apartment 1s vacated, and any remaval
or starage costs.

1G thus Lease No security system is failsafe. Even the best
system can’t prevent crime Always act as if secarity sys-
tems don’t exist since they are subject to malfunction,
tampering, and human error. The best safety measures
are the ones you take as a matter of common sense and
habit.

24.2 Your Duty of Due Care. You, your occupants, 4nd your

guests must exercise due care for your own and others’
safaty and secunty, especally in using smoke alarms and
other detection devices, door and window locks, and other
safety or securty cevices Window screens aze not for se-
curity or to keep people fror falling out of windows

24.3 Alarm and Detection Devices.

tA) What we'tl do, We'll furrish smoke alarms or other de-
tectron devices required by law or city ordinance We
may install additional detectors not so required We'tt
test them and provide working battenes when you
first take posszssion of your apartment. Upon request,
we'll provide, as required by law, a smoke ala’m capa-
ble of alerting a person with a heanng-impairreent dis-
ability

(B) Your duties. You must pay for and replace batteries as
necded, urless the law provides otherwise We rnay re-
place dead or missing batteres at your expense with-
out pno: potice tu you You must immediately report
alarm or detector malfunctions to us Neither you nor
others may disable alarms or detecrors. if you damage
or disable the smoke alarm, or remove a battery with-
out replacing it with a working battery, youmay be i-
ableto us under Texas Property Code sec. 92,2611 for
$100 plus one month's rent, actuai damages, and at-
torney’s fees. You'll be lrable to us and others if you fall

23, Military Personnel, to report raifunctions, or fail to report any loss, dam-
23.1 Termination Rights. You may have the right under Texas ace, or fines resulting from fire, soke, o water

faw to terminate the Lease in certain situations involv- 24.4 Loss. Urless atherwise required by law, we're not lable to

23.5D: ges for False Repr

Ve stiely ﬁ&‘~

ing military deployment or transfer. You may terminate

the Lease f you enbist, ate drafted into, or are commis-

sioned nthe U'S Armea Forces You a'so may tenminate

the cease if

(a) you are {3} a member of the U.S. Arred Forces or Re-
serves on active duty, or i2) a member of the Nationat
Guard called to active duty for rore than 30 daysinre
sponse to a naticnal emergency declared by the Presi-
dent; and

i) you (1) receve orders for a permanent change of station,
12} receve orders to deploy with a mulitary unit or as an
wndividual in support of a military operation for 90 days
ormore, or (3) are reheved or released from active duty

23.2 How to Terminate Under This Par. 23. You must fur-

rush us a copy of your milttary orders, such as permanent-
change-of station orders, call-up arders, or deplayment
orders lor letter equvalenti. Miitary permission for base
housing doesn't constituie a permanent-change-of-sta-
tion arder You must delwer to us your wr tten termination
notice, after which the Lease will be terrunated under this
military clause 30 days after the date your next rental pay
ment s due After your move-out, we'll return your sect.-
nty deposit, less lawful deductions

23,3 Who May Be Reteased. For the purposes of ths Lease, or-

ders described in (b) under Par 23 1 above will relezse only
the resident who gualifies under both (a) and {b) above
and recewves the orders dunng the Lease ternm, plus that
resident’s spouse or jegal dependents living in the res-
dent’s household A coresident who is not the snouse or
dependent of 3 mifitary resident cannot termirate under
this ilitary clause

23.4 Your Representations. Unless you state otherwise n

Par 8, you reprasent when sigrung this Lease that:

1} you do not already have deploymant or chanrge-of-sta-
on orders,

(b} you will not be retining from the military during tne
Lease tarm; and

{© theterm of your enhistment or obbgation wili not end
before the Lease term ends

You must notify us immediately if you are caled to active
duty o receive deployment or permanent-change-of sta-
tonorders.

. Liquidated damag-
es for mak nq a false representation of the above will be
the ameunt of unpaid rent for the remainder of the Lease
term when and if you move out, nunus rents from others
received in mitigation under Par 326.

24. Resident Safety and Loss.
24.1 Disclaimer. We disclaim any express or implied war-

ranties of security. We care about your safety ard that of
other occupants and guests, You agree 1o make every ef-
fort to follow any Secunty Guidelines Addendum attached

any resicent, guest, or occupant for personal injury or dam

2age, loss of personal property, or loss of business or person-
alircome, from any cause, including fice, srake, ran, flood,
water leaks, hall, ice, snow, lightning, wind, explosions, in

terruption of utiities, pipe leaks, theft, vandalism, and neg-
Tigent or mtentional acts of residents, occupants, or guests
We have no duty to remove any ice, sleet, or snow but may
remove any amount with or without notice. Unless we in-
struct otherwise, duning freezing weather you must for 24
hours a day {A) keep the apartment heated o at ieast 50
Fahrenheit, B) keep cabinet and closet doors open, and
{C) drip hot- and cold-water faucets You'll be habile for any
damage to our and others’ property caused by broken
water pipes due to your violating these requirements

24.5 Crime or Emergency. Immedtately dial 911 or caii local

medical-emergency, fire, or police personnel i case of
acadent, fire, smoke, suspected crimmal activity, or any
other emergency involving imnunent harm You should
then rontact our represantative None of our security mea-
sures are an express or imphed warranty of secunty—or a
guarantee against crme or of reduced nisk of crime Unlecs
otherwise provided by law, we're not liable to you, you-
occupants, or your guests for imjury, damage, or 10ss to per-
sor o1 property caused by enminal conduct of othe per
sons, including theft burglary, assault, vancahsm, or other
cnmes Even if previousty provided, we're not oblged to
furrush secunity personnel, patrols, highting, gates, fances,
or other farms of secanty unless required by law, We're not
responsble for obtaimag crnminal-history checks en any
residents, eocupants, guests, or contractors 'n the apart-
meat caramuoaity H yay, your 0ccupants, of yout guests
are affected by a cnme, you must make a written report to
the appropriate local law-enforcement agency and to our
representative You must also give us the law-enforcement
agenty's incident-report number upon request

25. Condition of the Premises and Alterations,
25.1 As-Is. We disclaim allimnplied warranties. You accept the

apartment, fixtures, and furniture as 1s, except for condt
tions mateniatly atfecting the health or safety of ordinary
persons You'll be given an Inventory & Condition form on
arbefore move-n Within 48 hours after move-m, you must
note on the form all defects or damage, sign the form, and
retumnitto us Otherwise, everything will be considered to
e i a clean, safe, and goad working condizior

25.2 Standards and impr ts, You must use customary

diigence in maintaining the apartment and net damaging or
littering the common areas. Unless authorized by law or by
us In whting, you must not da any repairs, pamnting, wallpa-
pe~rg, carpating, clectrical changes, or otherw.se alter our
property. Mo holes or stichers are allowed inside or outside
the apartment Unless our rufes state otherwise, we'll perm:
areasonable number of small nad holes for hanging pictures
on sheetrock walls and grooves of wood-paneled wafls No
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water furniture washing machines, extra phone or television
ouJtlets, alarm systems, or lock changes additions, or rekey-
Irg Is permitted unless allowed by law or we've consented in
writing. ¥ou may nstall a satellite dish or antenna, but only
if you sign our sateliite-dish or antenna lease addendum,
which complias with reasonable restrictions allowed by ted-
erallaw You must not alter, camage, or remove our prop-
erty, including alarm systems, detection devices, furriture,
telephone and telev's on wiring, screens, focks, and secunty
deyices When yous move in, we'll suoply fight bulbs for fix-
tures we furnish, mduding exterior fixtures operated from
nside the apartment, after that, you'll replace them at your
expense with bulbs of the same type and wattage. Your im-
provements 10 the apartment {made with or without our
consent] become ours unless we agree otherwise m writing.

25.3 Fair Housing. In accordance with fai-housing laws, we'll
rigke reasonable accommodations Yo our rutes, policies, prac-
tices, or services We'lt allow reasonable modifications under
these laws to give disabled persons access to and use of this
apartrrent community ‘Ne may require you to sigr ar adden-
dum regarding the mglementation of any accommodat.ons
or medifications, as well s your restoration pbiigations, If any.

26 Requests, Repairs, and Malfunctions.

26.1 Written Requests Required, If you or any occupant
needs to send a notice or request-—for exampte, far re-
paits, installations, services, awnership disclosure, or
security-refated motters——it must be written, signed,
and delivered to our designated representative in ac-
cordance with our polictes fexcept in case of fire, srmoke,
gas, explasion, overflowing sewage, uncantroflable run-
ning water, electrical shorts, crime in progress, or fair-hous-
ing accommeodation or modification) Our wntten rotes on
your oral request do not constitute a written request from
you. Qur complying with or sesponding to any oral request
regarding securty or any other matter doesn't waive the
strict tequiremant “or written notices under this Lease

26 2 Required Notifications. You must promptly notify us in
writing of witer leaks, mald, electneal problems, matfunc-
toning hghts, broken or missing {ocks orlatches, and other
conditions that pose a hazard to praperty, health, or safety

26.3 Urllities, We may change or install utility ines or equip-
ment serving the apartment if the work 15 dore reason-
ably without substar hally increasing your utility costs We
may turn off equipment and nterrupt utilities as needed
to avold progerty damage ot ta perform work, If utilitios
malfunction or are damaged by fire, water, or simdar cause,
you must notify our rapresentative immediately

26.4 Casualty Loss and Equipment Repair. We'll act with cus-
tormary diligence ta maxke repairs and reconnections, taking
mto consideration when casuaity-nsurance proceeds are re-
cewved Unless required by statute after a casualty foss, or dur-
ing equipment repair your rent will not avate in whole orin
part Air-conditionmg problerns are normally not emergen-
cies if ar-conditioning or other equipment malfunctions,
you must noufy us as spon as possible on a business day

26.5 Our Right ta Terminate. fwe beleve that fire or catastrophi
damage  substantial, or that performance of needed repairs
posas 2 danger ta you, we may termimate this Lease by giving
you atleast 5 days wittten notic 2 We also have the right to ter-
minate this ease duting the Lease term by giving you at least
30 days written notice of termination if we are demolishing
your apartment or closing it and 1t will no fonger be used for
residential purposes for at least 6 months if the Lease s so ter-
minated, we'll refund prorated rent and all deposits, jess law
ful deductions We may also remove and dispose of personat
propesty if we beleve it causes a heaith or safety hezard.

27. Animals.

27.1 No Animals Without Consent. No animals {including
mammals, reptiles, birds, fish, rodents, amphibians,
arachnids, and insects] ore alfowed, even temporarily,
anywhere in the apartment or apartment community
unless we've givenwritten permission. )t we altow an any-
mal, you must sign a separate animal addendum and, ex-
cept as set forth in the addendum, gay an animat deposit
An animal depasit s considered a general secunty deposit
The ammal aadendu ndudes information governing an-
mals, induding assistance or service animals We'll autho-
11ze an assistance or support animal for a disabled person
without requinng an animal deposk We may require var-
fication of your eusability and the need for <uch an an'mal
You must not feed stray or wild apimais,

27.2 Violations of Animal Palicies.

(A} Charges for violations. If you or any guest or occy-
pant violates animal restrictions (with or without your
knowledge), vou'll be subject to charges, damages,
eviction, and othey remedies provided in this Lease.

rules, you'll pay an initial charge of $100 . G0 peram-
mal {nat to exceed $100 per animal) and a daly charge
of 510,00 par anemal {not to exceed $10 per day
per amimal) from the date the amimal was brought into
your apartment until it is removed If an arymal has
been w the apartment at any time dunng your term of
occupant ¢ (with or without our consent), you mast pay
for all cleaning and repait casts, ircluding deflea.ng, de-
odorizing, and shamooowrg

{B) Removal and return of animal. We may remove an
unauthorized animal by (31 igaving, in a conspicuous
place in the apartment, a written notice of oJr intent
to remove the animal within 24 hours, ard (2] fallow-
ing the procedures of Par 28 We may keep or kenrel
the arumal, o turn it over to 2 humane society, local
authority or rescue organzation When keeping or
kennebng ar arimal, we won't be hiable for loss, harm,
sickness, or death of the animal unless due to our neg-
ligence You must pay for the anumal's reascnable care
ang kennealing charges We'll return the amimal to you
upon request if it has not already been turned ave-to a
humane society, local authonty or rescue organization.

28, When We May Enter. If you or any guest or cccupant s pres-
ent, then repawers, servicers, contractors, government repre-
sentatives, lenders, appraisers, prospective residents or buy-
ers, irsurance agents, parsons authorized to erter under your
rental application, or our representatives may peacefully enter
the apartment at reasonable times for reasonable business pur-
poses. f nobody 15 in the apartment, then any such person may
enter peacefully and at reasorable times by duplicate or master
kay {or by breaking a window or other means when necassary)
for reasonable business purposes f wntten notice of the entry
is left 18 a conspicuous place i the apartmentimmediataly after
the entry, Law officers with a search or arrest warrant or those n
hot pursuit may be allowet! 1o eriter, We are under re obligation
to erter only when you are present, and we may, but a“e under
no obligation to, give prior notice or make appoirtments

29. Muftipie Residents £ach res dept s jointly and sevaraily iabte
for alf Lease obligations If you or ary guest or occupant violates
the Lease or rules, all resicents are considered to have violat-
ed the Lease Qur requests and notices induding sale noticos)
to any resident constitute notice £o all residents and occupants,
Notices and requests from any resident or occupant constitute
notice from all residents Your notice of Lease termmation may
be given only by a resident ' ev.ction susts, each teadent 1
cons.dered the agent of all other residents .n the apartment for
service of process Any resident who defaults under this Lease
vl indemnify the nondefaulting residents and their guarantors

Replaceme

34, Replacements and Subletting.

30,1 When Allowed, Replacing a resident, subletting, hcens-
ing or assigning a resident’s nghts is allowed only when
we consent in writing. If a departing or remamning resident
finds 2 replacement resident acceptable to us before moy-
Ing out and we expressly consent to the *eulacement, sitb-
letting, or assignirent, then
(e} areletting charge will not be due,

(b} a reasonatsie admmistrative (paperwors) fee will be
due, and a rekeying fee will be due f rekeying 1 re«
quested or required; and

) the daparting and remaining ressdents will remain -
able for all Lease obhgations for the rest of the ongmal
Lease term

30.2 Procedures for Replacement. If we approve a eplace-
inentresident, then at our option: (A) the replacemen( res-
ident must sign this Lease w th or without an increase in
the total secur.ty deposit, or (B) the remaning and replace
ment residents must sign an entirely new Lease Unless we
agree otherwise in wr ting, the departing resident’s secu-
rity deposit will automatically transter to the replacement
resident as of the date we zpprove The departing resident
wiil a0 longer have a aght to occupancy or to a securnty-
deposit retund, but will rarain liabie for the remainder of
the original Lease term unless we agree otherwise mwrit
ing—even if a newLeace 15 sigred

30 3 Rental Prohibited. You agree that you won't rent, eroffer
to rent or icense all or any part of your apartment to any-
one alse untess otherwise agteed 1o by us .+ wrtng You
agree that you won't accept arything of value from any
one else for the use of ary part of your apartment. You
agree not to list any art of your apartment on any .odg-
Ing rertal wabsite 0> with any person of service that adver-
tises dweilngs for rent

If you violate the animal restsictions €r other animal
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Responsib s of Owner and Resident

31. Our Responsibilities.
31.1 Generally. We'll act with customary diligence to.

@) keep common areas reasonably clean, subject to
Par 26,

(b} maintain fixtures, hot water, heating, ard air-condi-
ticning equipment,

(e} substantally comply with alt appl.cabie faws regarding
satety, samtation, ard fair housing; and

) make all reasonable repairs, subject to your obhgation
to pay for damages for which you're iable

The time, manner, method and means of performing mam

tenance and repars, rcuding whether or which vendors

‘o use, are within our sale discretion.

31.2 Your Remedies. if we violate any of the above, you may

possibly termunate this Lease and exercise other reme-
dies under Texas Property Code Sec. 92.056 by foilowing
this procedure:

{a) all rent rrust be current, and yau must make a wnt-
ter request for repair ot remedy of the condition—after
which we'li Mave a reasonable time for repair or remedy,
if we fail to do 5o, you must make a second written re-
quest for the repair or remedy to make sure that there
has been no nuscommun.cation between us)—after
which we'll have a reasanable time to repar or rem-
edy; and

if the repa’r or remedy stifl hasn't been accomphsned
within that reasonabie ime period, you may immediate-
'y rarminate “his | ease by gving us a final written notice
You also may exercise other statutory remedies, includ-
ing those under Texas Property Code sec. 92.0561,

(b}

g

31.3 Request by Mail. Instead of giving the !wo written re-

quasts refarred to above, you may give us one request by
certified mad, return receipt requested, by registered mail,
Gr by any trackable mail or delivery method through the
pastal service or a pnvate deuvery service—after which
we'll have a reasonabtle time to reparr or remedy. *Reascn-
able ime” accounts for the nature of the problem and the
reasonable availability of matenials, labor, and utilities Your
rent must be current when you make any request We'll re-
furd security deposits and prorated rent as required by law

32. Default by Resident.
32.1 Acts of Default. Youll be in default of (A you don't timely

pay rent or other amounts you owe, (B) yau or any guest or
accupant violates this Lease, apartment rules, or fire, safety,
bealth, or criminal lawws, regardiess of whether or where ar-
rest ar conviction ocaurs; {C) you abandon the apartment,
{D) you give incorrect or false answers in a rertal apphica-
tion, (£} you or any occupant 1s arrested, charged, detaned,
convicted, or given deferred adjudication of pretrial diver-
sion for 7} an offense involving actual or potential physical
fxarm to a parson, or volving the mamufacture or delivery
of a controlled substaree, moryuana, or drug paraphema-
fia as defined in the Texas Controlled Substances Act, or {2)
any sex-related crime, including a misdemaanor; (F) any -
legal drugs or paraphernalia are found in your apartment;
or (G) you ar any occupant, in bad faith, makes an inwald
habitability compfaint to an official or employee of a utility
company or the govesnment

32.2 Eviction. If you default or hold over, we may end your

right of occupancy by giving you at least a 24-hour writ-
ten notice to vacate. Notice may be given by (R} reguiar
matl, (B} certified mail, return receipt requested; (C) per-
sonal delivery to any resident; {D) personal delivery at
the apartment to any occupant over 16 years old, (E} affix-
ing the notice to the inside of the apartment’s mam entry
door, or {F; sacurely affixing the notice to the outside of
the apartraent’s main entry doar as allowed by law. No-
tice by mal under (A) or (B} will be considered delivered
on the earlier of actual delivery, or 3 days after the notice
1s depostted in the U S. Postal Service with postage. Termi-
nation of your possession rights or a later reletting doesn't
release you from hability for future rent or other Lease obl
gations After giving notice to vacate or filing an eviction
suit, we may still acceptrent or other sums due; the filing
or acceptance doesn't waive or diminish our rght of evic-
Lion or any other contractual or statutory nght. Accepting
money at any ime doesn’t watve our nght to damages, to
pastor future rent or other sums, or to our continuing with
eviction proceedings In an eviction, rent is owed for the
full rental period and will not be prorated.

32,3 Acceleration, Unless we elect not to accelerate rent, ail

monthly rent for the rest of the Lease term or renewal pe-
riod will be accelerated automatically without notice or
demand {before or after acceleration) and wiil be mmeds-
arely due and delinguent ff, without our written consent,
{A] you nove out, rernove property in prepaiing to move

out, or you or any occupant gives oral or weitten notice of
intent to move out before the Lease term or renewal pe-
riod ends, and (B) you haven't pawd all rent for the entire
Lease term or renewal pentod Such conduct 1s considered
a default for which we need not give you notice Remain-
ing rent will 3'so be accelerated if you're judicially evicted
or move out when we demand because you've defaulted.
Acceleration is subject to our mitigat-on abiigations below

32.4 Holdover. You or any octupant, myitee, or guest must not

hold over beyord the date contained in your m ove-out
natice or gur notice to vacate {or beyond a different move

out date agreed ta by the parties in wnung) If a holdove-
occurs, then {A} haldover rent 15 due in advance or a da'ly
basis and may become delinguent without notice or de-
mand; {B) rent for the holdover pariod will be ircreased by
25% over the then-existing rent, without notice, 'C} you'lt
be liable 1o us (subject ta our mitigation duties) for all rent
for the full term of the previously sigred L2ase of a new
resident who can't occupy because of the hoidover, and
(D) 4t our option, we may extend the Lease term—for
up to one month from the date of notice of Lease exten-
sion - by delivening written natice to you or your apart-
ment while you continue to hoid over

32.5 Other Remedies. We may report anpaid amounts te cred-

it agencies as allowed by law. If we or our debt coltectar
tries to collect any money you owe us, you agree that we
aor the debt collector may contact you by any legal means,
sncluding texting, caling your cell phone, 3nd using an au-
tomated dialer If you defau't, you will pay us, in adcition
to other sums due, any amounts stated to be rental dis
counts or concessions agreed to In wnting Upon your de-
fauit, we have all other legal remedies, mcluding Lease ter-
mmnation and statutory lockout under Texas Property Code
sec 92 0081, except as lockouts and liens are prohibited
by Texas Government Code sec. 2206.6738 for owners
supported by housing-tax-credit ali i A prevail-
ing party may recover reasonable attorney’s fees and all
other hitigation costs fiom the nonprevail'ng parties, ex-
cept a party may not recover attorney’s fees ard liigation
costs tn connaction with a party’s claims seeking person
al-njury, sentimental, exerplary or punitive damages We
may recover attorney’s fees in connection with enfarcing
our nights under this Lease Alt unpaid amounts you owe,
including judgments, bear 18% interest per year from the
due date, compounded annually You must pay all collec-
tlon-agency fees if you fail to pay sums due within 10 days
after we mail you a lettey demanding payment and stating
that co lection-agency fees will be added if you don't pay
all sums by that deadline

32.6 Mitigation of Damages If you move out early, you'l be

subject to Par 10 and all other remedies We'll exercise
customary dil gerice to relet and minimize damages, We'li
credit all 1ater rent that we actually receive from subse-
quent resicents agaist your hab.dity for past-due and fu-
ture rent ard other sums due

General Clauses

33, Other Important Provisions.
313.1 Representatives’ Authority; Waivers; Notice. Currep-
e fie hading m s

g g per. l, em-
ployees, and agents) have no quthority to waive, amend,
or terminate this Lease or any part of itunless in writing,
and no authority to make promises, representations, or
agreements that impose security duties or other obll-
gations on us or our representatives, unless in writing.
Any dimensions and sizes provided to you relating to the
apartment are only approximatrons or estimates, actual di-
mensions and sizes may vary No action or omisston by s
will be considered a waiver of our rights or of any subse-
quent violation, default, or time or place of perfarmance
Our choice to enfarce, not enforce or delay enforcement
of written-notice requirements, rental due dotes, accel-
eration, liens, or other rights1sn’t awaiver under any cir-
cumstances. Exceptwhen notice or derrand 1s required by
law, you waive any notlce and demand for performance
from us if you defauit ¥ anyone else has guaranteed per-
formance of this Lease, & separate Lease Guaranty for each
guarantor must be executed Written notice to or from our
managers constitutes nut.ce to ot fromus Any person giv-
g a notice under this Lease should keep a copy or record
of it. Fax or electronic signatures are binding All notices
must be signed. Notice may be giver efectronically by us
to you if allowed by law. if allowed by law and ir accor
dance with our policies, electronic notice from you to us
must be addressed to the emai address we provide far na-
tice purposes cr submitted through an online portal,
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33.2 Miscellaneous. All remedies are curulative Exercising
one rcmedy won't consbiute an election or waiver of ather
remedies Al provisions regarding our nonliabifity of non-
duty apply to our employees, agents, and management
compantes No emp'ayee, agent, or management compa-
ny is personally lianle for any of our contractual, statutory, or
other obligations roerely by virtue of acting on our behaif,
This Lease binds subisequent owners. This Lease is suborch-
nate to existing and future recorded martgages, unless the
owner's lender chooses atherwise. Alf | ease obhgations
must be performed 11 the county where the apartment s
located If you have insurance covenng the apartment or
your personal belong ngs at the time you or we suffer ar al-
lage a loss, you agree to wawve any insurance subrogation
aghts All notices and decuments may bein English and, at
our option, In any other language that you read or speak.
“he term “including” in this Lease should be interpreted to
mean “including but not fimited to

33.3 Saverability. If any provision of this Lease 1s invalid or un-
enforceable under applicable law, ¢ won'tinvahidate the re-
mainder of the Lease or change the mtent of the parties
Ne.ther an invalid clause ror the omissten of mibals on any
page mvahdates ths Lease,

34, Payments. Payment of each sum due 15 anindependent covenant
When we receive money, other than sale proceeds undet Par 1101
water payments subject to government regulation, we may apply

t at our option and without notice first to any of your unpaid obii-
gations, then ta currert rent, We may do so regardless of notations
an checks or maney orders and regardless of when the obligations
arose Al surns other than rent and fate charges are due upon our de-
mand After the due date, we do not have to accept any payments

35. TAA Membership. We represent that, at the time of signing this
Lease, we, the management company representing us, or any
locator service that procured you is a member in good standing
of both the Texas Apartment Association and the affiliated local
apartment assocation for the area where the apartment .s located
The member i either an owner/management-company rember
or an associgte member dosng business as a locator service {whose
name and address must be disclosed on page 8}, If nat, the follow-
ng applies: (A} this Lease is voidable at your option and is unen-
forceable by us lexcept for property damages): and (8} we may not
recover past or future rent or other charges The above remedies
also apply If both of the following occur {1) the Lease 1s autornaty-
cally renewed on a month-to-month basis more than once aftar
memberstup in TAA and the local assocriation has lapsed, and (2
neither the owner nor the management company 1s a member of
TAA and the locat assocration during the third automatic renew
at A signed affidavit from: ~he affiiated local apartment associa-
tion attesting to nonmembership when the Lease or renewal was
sigred will be condusive evidence of nonmembership Govern-
mental entities may use TAA forms f TAA agraes in wnting

When Moving Out

36, Move-Out Notice.

36.1 Requirements and Compliance. Your move-out notice
doesn’t retease you from liability for the full term of the
Lease or renewal term. You'll stili be hable for the antire
Lease term if you move out early except under Par 9,17,22,
23,01 31 Your move-out notice must comply with each of
the foliowing:

{a) We must receive advance written notice of your move-
out date You must give notice i advance by at feast
the number of days required in Par 3 or in spedial provi-
sions—even if the Lease has become a manth-to-month
lezse, Unless we require more than 3¢ days’ notice, if you
give notice on the first day of the manth you intend to
move out. It wilf sufice for move-outon the tast day of that
month, as lang as all other requirements below are met,
Your move-out notice must be in writing An oral
maove out notice will not be accepted anc will not ter
minate your Lease
{€} Your move-out notice must not tertunae the Lease
sooner than the end of the Lease terrm or renswal penod
i we require you to give us more than 30 days’ wntten
notice to move out before the end of the Lease term, we
will give you | written reminder not less than 5 days nor
more than 90 days before your deadhine for giving us
your written move-out notice. If we fail to give a remind-
er notice, 30 days’ written notice to move-out s required,

36.2 Unacceptable Notice. Your notice is not acceptable if
1t doesn’t comply with all of the above. We recommend
that you use our written move-out farm to ensure that you
provide all the informatisn needed You must get from us
a written acknowledgment of your notice if we fail to give
a reminder notice, 30 days' written notice to move out 15
required If we terminate the Lease, we ust give you the
same advance notica—unless you are in default

g

=

37. Move-Out Procedures, Themave-out date can't be changed un-

3

less we and you both agree in wniting You won't mave aut before
the Lease term of renewal penod ends uniess all rent for the ercre
Lease term or renewal penod is pawd in full Early move-out may re-
sultinreletting charges and accelerabion of future rent under Par, 10
and 32 You're prohiited by law from applying any security depos-
it torent You can't stay beyond the date you're suppesed to move
out All residents, guests, and occupdnts must surrender or aban-
don the apartment before the 30-day penod for depasit refund be-
gins. You must gve us and the U S Postal Service, in wnting, each
resident’s forwarding address

8. Cleaning. You must thoroughly clean the apartment, nciuging

doors, windows, furniture, bathrooms, k.tchen apphances, pa-
tios, balconies, garages, cavports, and storage raoms You must
follow move-out cleaning istructions I they have been pro-
vided If you don't clean adequate’y, you'li be hable for reason-
able cleaning charges—including charges for cleaning carpets,
drapenes, furniture, walls, etc. that are solled beyond normal
wear {that 1s, wear or soiling that occurs without negligence,
carelessness, accdent, or abusel,

39, Move-Out Inspection. You shouid meet with our representa-

tive for a move-out Inspection. Our represeatative has no au-~
thonty to bind or fimit us regarding deductions for repaus,
damages, or charges. Any statements or estinates by us or our
representative are subjact to aur correction, modification, or ais
approval befare final accounting or refunding

40. Security Deposit Deductions and Other Charges, You'll be

4

-

hable for the tollowming charges, if apphcable: urpaid reat, unpaid
utiiies, unreimbursed service charges; repairs or damages caused
by negligence, catelessness, acadent, or abuse, ncluding stickers,
scratches, tears, burns, stains, or unapproved holes, replacement
cost of our property that was in or attached to the apsrtment and is
missing; replacing dead or missing alarm ot detection-device bat-
teries at any time; stilities for repairs or cleaning, tnps to let in com-
vany representatives to remove your telephone, Internet, telewn-
sion services, of rental items 6if you so request or ave imoved out),
trips to open the apartment when you or any guest 57 occupant §
missing a key; unretumed keys; missing or burned-out sght bulbs,
remaving or rekeying unauthonzed security devices or alam sys-
tems; agreed reletting charges, packing, removing, of stonng prop-
arty removed or stared under Par 14, remaving ilfegally parkeo
vehicles, special tnps for trasn removal caused by parkea vehicles
blocking dumpsters; fzlse securty-alarm charges unless due o our
negligence; animak-related charges under Par 6 and 27; govern
ment fees or fines against us for violation (by you, your occupants,
r your guests; of local ordinances relating to alarms and detection
devices, false alarmis, recycling, or other matters; late-payment and
returned-check charges; a charge fnot to exceed $150} for our tme
and nconvensence in ous kawiul removal of ananimal or in any vald
eviction proceeding against you, plus attorney's fees, court costs,
and filing fees actually paid; and other sums due under this Lease.
You'lt be hable to us for: {A) charges for replacing any keys and ac
cess devices referenced i Par. 5 if you dont return them all on or
before your actual move out date; (8} accelerated rent if you've vi-
olated Par 32, and {() a reletting fee . you've viclated Par. 10 We
may also deduct from your security deposit our reasonable
costs incurred in rekeying security devices required by faw if
youvacate the apartment in breach of this Lease.

. Deposit Return, Surrender, and Abandonment.

41.1 Your Deposit. We'll mail you your security-deposit refund
Jess lawful deductions) and an temized accounting of any
deductions, no later than 30 days after surrende~ or aban-
donment, uniess faws provide otherwise

41.2 Surrender. You have surrendered the apartmert when (A
the move-out date has passad and no one s living In the
apartment in our reasonable Ldgment, or 1B apartment
<eys and access devices listed in Par § have been turned in
to us—wh'chever happens first,

41.3 Abandonment. You have abandoned the apartment
when all of the tollowing have occurred, () everyone ap-
pears to have mnved out In our reasonable judgment, {B)
clothes, furniture, and personal belongings have been sub-
stantially removed in our reasonable judgment, {C) you've
beer in default for nonpayment of rent fot 5 consecative
days, or water, gas, o1 electric service for the apariment not
connected in our name has been terminated or transferred,
and (D) you've not responded for 2 days to our notice ieft
on the inside cf the mam entry door stating that we consid-
er the apartment abandored An apartment s also consid-
ered abandoned 10 days after the death of a sole resicant

41,4 The Ending of Your Rights. Surrender, abandominent, or
Judicral eviction ends your nght of possesston for alt pur-
poses and gives us the immediate right to clean up, make
repairs in, and refet the apartment; determine any security-
deposit deductions; and remuve property left in the apart-
ment. Surrender, abandonment, and judicial eviction affect
your 1ights to property left n the apartment (Par 14}, but
don't affect our iitigaticr obiigatons (Par 32}

Yaur mvals ﬁl.%
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SUMMARY OF KEY INFORMATION

The Lease will control if there’s a conflict with this summary.

® Address 1124 Rutland Drive e o Unit# . 094
® Beqinning date of Lease (Par 3) __ 11/01/2019 ® Endingoateof Lease (Pac 3} 01/31/2021
® Number of days notice for termination (Par. 3, 60 B Consent for guests stayng more than 3 days (Par 2)
® Total security deposit (Par. 4) $ 500.00 ” Ammal deposit (f any! $.....200.00 _

W Security deposit (Par 4) 03 does OR & does notinclude an animal deposit.

W Security deposit refund check will be by (Par 4) {check one) B ore check jontly payable to all restaents wdefaults,
OR 0 one check payable to and maled to

B & of keys/access devices (Par. 5ifor_2_unit, 1 mailbox, __ other par ing .
W Your mave-out notice will terminate Lease on (Par 5) (check one} "Hast day o manth OR ®exact da« desigrated in notice

B Check hare 73 if the dwelling is to be furrushed (Par 5) » Check here T if there i a concession addendum
M Rent to be paid (Par 6) check gif that apply) &1 at the onsite manager’s office, ® through our online paymenr site, OR
B at ,_tse._ﬂm CreeksEd gai( n.com e e
# Check here f included in monthly rent 7Y gmge ) storage, [=1 carport, O washeridryer or Bother
& Total monthly rent {Par 6} $_..1130.900 ® Prorated rent {Par 6) for icheck ane)
M Late charges if rent s not pa o on or before (Par 6} __3rd BfirstmonthOR Jsecondmonth $ _
W nttial late charge (Par 6} $_. __or 10 % ® Daly (ate charge {Par 6} 4 U ¢ G
W Retumed-check charge ‘Par 6} 5__ .50 B Ammal violation charges (Par 27)

Intal5 __ 100.00  Daly $ __ 10.00 _

| Monthly aumal rent {if any) S

8 Monthly pest control (f any} S 5 o Monthly trash / wast= (f any} 5. 13.00

® Utihues paid by owner Par 7) (check all thatnpplyr T electncity, (3 gas. () water, TJ wastewater, 1 trash/recycling,
3 cablessatellite, 1 mastar antenna, 7 Internet, £ stormwatesdrainage, U other I

B Utility connection charge {Par. 12) $___.15.600 _ % You are (check one} B required o buy msurance OR

B Agreed rclettr g charge Par 10) $ 960,50 0 nat required {0 buy nsurance {Par 8

M Special provisions (Par 9 Refer to_the community policy. Limataticons: no BBO gralls, trash or

other waste cutside. Only Patio furniture, plants, bicycles allowed outside. Water/

sewer/gas-1xl $60, 2x1 and 2x2 $70. Trash $13; pest control $5 due with rent, A fee

will be charged upon payment with money order/check/cc/dekit. After the 9th an.

Eviction Hold-Off Agreement required along with fee non-refundable. First floor

Signatures and Attachments

42. Attachments. We wiil provide you with 2 copy of the Lease a5 43, Class Action Waiver. You agree that you will not participate \n any
required by statute This may be in paper format, in an elec- class action claims against us or our representatives You must file
tronc format if you request it, or by e-mail if we nave commu- any claim against us individually, and you expressly waive your abil-
nicated by e-mail about this Lease Qur rules and community ity to bring, represent, join or otherwise maintain a class action,

policies, if any, will be attached to the Lease and given to you s : N P
atsigning When an inventory and Condrion form is complet- collective action or similar proceeding against us in any forum.

ed, both you and we should retan a cony The items checked - .
below are attached 10 and Decome a part of this Lease and are YOU UNDERSTAND THAT, WITHOUT This WAIYER, YOU COULD

binding even if not initialed or signed B A PARTY N A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT, BY SIGNING THIS
{3 Access Gate Addendum LEASE, YOU ACCEPT THIS WAIVER AND CHOOSE TQ HAVE ANY.
& Additional Spedial Provistons CLAIMS DECIDED E PROVISION, I+
OYAllocation Addendum for (T electnaty O water O gas 43 SHALL SURVIVE THE TERMINATION OR EXPIRATION OF THIS

£3 central system costs {7 trash/recycling (J cable/satellite LEASE
M stormwater/drainage {3 services/goverrment fees )
BAnmal Addendum Residentinitials LY

AApartment Rules or Community Pohicies Vou are {#gaily bound by this decument. P| read it carefally.
B Asbestos Addendum (if ashastos is present) guy dound ¥ M= O e e

®Bed Bug Addendurr A facsimile or electronic signature on this Lease 15 a5 binding as an arigi-

Rtarly Termination Adderdum naisignature.

gf&f\’z’ég E;':gigg;ﬁgﬁ;:’ Storage Unit Addendum Bafore submitting a rental application or signing a Lease, you may

Rinventory & Condition Form take 2 copy of these documents to review and/or consult an attarnsy.

®Lead Hazard Informat on and Disclosure Addendum Additional provisions or ch may be madeinthe Leaseif agreed toin

OLease Contract Addendum for Un'ts Participanng in wtiting by all parties

DE: ::: g‘:t';gegsgéﬁﬁ gﬁg;?;;:ﬁ? :A%?:{ﬁgr:a;:; You are entitled to receive a capy of this Lease after itis fully signed. Keep

BLegal Description of Apartment (optional, if rental term it n a safe place, This [rase is the entire agreement between you and us,
longer than one year You are NOT relying on any oral reprasentations.

OMilitary SCRA Aduendum

B Mold Information and Prevention Addendum

Y Move-Out Cleaning mstruchions

2 Notrce of Intent to Move Out Form W 10/18/2019

&1 Parking Permut or Sticker (quantty ____J Rame of Restdant) Date signed

¥ Rent Concession Addendum

® Renter's or Liahility insurance Addendum oL e .

7 Repair or Service Request Torm {Name of Rasident) Date signed

B Satellite Dish or Antenna Addendum

O Secunty Guidelines Addendum

Resident or Residents icli ugn beiow)

® PUC Tenant Guide to Water Altacation {Name of Residert) Date signed
{7 Utility Submetering Addendum 2 electricity 1 water

- gas Name of Residens; Date signed
o Other No__Smoking Addendum ¢ ? 9

¥ Other Carrying Handquns

TIOther_ (Name of Resident) i Date signed
O0ther___ . N J—
Name, address and telephune rumber of ‘ocaror service {if applicable  (Name of Besident) T DateSigned

~—miust be completed to venfy TAA membership urder Par 35}
e s i i e e et e n o e Owner or Owner’'s Representative (signing on hehalf of owner)

Hrnntie? Fontina:

- - Address and phone number of owner’srepresentative for notice purposes

After-hoursphonenumber {532} 832-7885 1124 Rutland Drive
iAlways call 911 tor police, fire, or medical emergencies | Austin, TX 78758

Date formisfilled out same gsontopofpage 1) 10/11/2019 | (512)832-74885
vueE mig& I _ V] e Moon eSignature Services Document 10" 194602327 | rm 1908 1428 1levsed Septorbee 2043 23ge5 9




LEASE ADDENDUM FOR ALLQCATING WATER/WASTEWATER COSTS

w

»

Addendwm “his i an acderdom o the TAA Lease Curtraut for Apt Mo 084 __rws G8C _Cross Creek Realty LLC

e e - e s . apartrents
n . Auvstin = Yoxs Thatarns of fys sdderdum wil contral the Yo e, 0f the Lsates andd this neder g contict

Reasen for al Wher aater and wastewater bills am patd 100 percery by tha Dronerty owner, eacients have no INCa hve 20 corserve willer This -esuis 0 3

waste of our REALe’S Natural wRc roes AnG adds 10 the evarhead of the property ~a « that arually mears hkgeer rec Is Allar atior 31 xater of's savas moray fx res.cents
bacause i eNCOUraGoa them 1o corsmve witer ard wastawater We as ownecs sisg Fave INCentieg *C 20rS8-v6 CACALSE We O3 "syl @0 Dy w0 pay A por~ion of the
o2 sater BUS) (X e @it s 2t ont CoOmmunty

Your payment due date. Pavment of vour allocated maler wastewater bill is dus 18 Gays atter 11e date £ s postmarked or hand dakvsrad " your apartmant You g7es
el ar deliver Dayment 1@ tha plncm Indicated on your b 80 that pay rant 15 reze 2d nc fater than thes due aate You wilt pay 2 lata harge o S percent of your war’
wrastavater il I w don * “eces treply Daymaent it y0u are a's 1 paying the warsr oiff, we may not cut ~if your water bul we may @t acrately eeeroise ali other aafur
raned o5 ncludirg eviction —Ls® ke 1ale payment of et

Allscatisn praceduzes, Y2ur avhly ront undet the TAA Laase Contract does 1707 1146 a ehargs for water ed wastrwaler instead, yod i Lo “ecomng a sepacte
ull from s 832k month tor sucr utht 2s. We may Include this tem as & separate and istact chargs a3 part of a Mua=em b i We will 3)cCie the montily mastsemater
waler wa ter DINs) for the opa mminity, basad 20 ar afiocation mett ad apgrovad by the Puhike M ity Corpmusmion of Texas LG ard descrbed below

The 1ot aten melhod that we v u3e 16 calculating yorr bit 5 noted below and dan~r med 2 ‘he followirg suadivsion of Secton 24 124 of the PUC rules (hnck aoly
ang)

5 stdsson i

actual octupancy”

1 siersior 4 rabd oot pancy IPLC averaga for aumber of Jccupants n g

T sebots sun ) avecage otcunanty (PUC average for numbar of badroormss it
O subdamsen ) carberanon of 8c2ual 0CCUPaNCY 2w Wt e of the wpEITMAM oY
1 sutxtusicy fup subimstersd hotaold watar, ratio to tots]

Tha Jerma date on whch ha whilty Soreany sends ts mortnlfy 15 11e us *or the walarwastewdter rrastameter 15 abod’ e day of the o't . Withir 10 days
thereaftor we w )l 17yt allucate (hat mastorrate D ameng oW enCents Dy atocated bithngs.

Comxion axex deduction We wili Casulate your allocated shase of the Masiarmetered wale /s agiewater bill ACCorGINg to Ll rules Be'ors calr af 5g your porton of
the bifl, we will deduet for mgation of ncscanrg and all other cormmor araa sses, ai raquirsd by PUC rules We mifl alws crduet “or any Ut ty omoary base changas.
#1d custor ¥r servce Shargas se that you woe't Le paving any part of such charges for vacant units. No administrative or otber fees wi' be added »c *ve tatal nastermeter
waterAvatesater it st to be alveated unless eyrwly allowed by PLG raies. No ather amaunis wil he ncudec in the o 8<cept your unpa.d 7a arers and Aoy \ate
‘aas you ncur 1 we fad 10 pay wur masteroatar B W the Lty company 0N e and NCur peraites o 'ntemst NO DOIoe of such aroun § A be ¢ ctided m your bilt

Change of allocatien fermula, The ahove adecation formuia for determimng your she o of the mastermstercd water/was'swater il cannat be cnanged axcept as
foflows (1) the new forrata 's one approved by the PUC {2} you rece.ve nolee of *he rev ‘oraole 2t least 35 days before d takes affesr, and (3} you agre va the change
10 signed leasa renmyal o signed Mitual sgreeTeat

Previeus aversye. As #Gunec uwiar PLC r.Aes you are notifisd thst ine average monthly bill for & Feafling urits in the previces Calendar yaar was

Dar v, varying fom S of e lor tha owast to gheat manth’s uits for iy uait it the aparoert commuedy for s amoc W such
irformiation m avatsbe The above Amour\s g0 wt raflsct fulwe charges i Lt ity company weer atss weather szealiacs, %2l waltr 20 sLM" On, Rsidents’ water
ons mpton Fabts ste

Right te exarmane racords. Dunng regular woskday offic hours, you may axamne (1) our waterwastewter bi's koin i 2 Un bty Compay 12) our caiculauens ¥ vour
rrondly allocatons, avd $3) say other intormatsors avafabla B9 you urder PUC s Pleass g ve ull 7easonsole ahance notice to gatber re data Any d spates r2'atmg
1t compulabion of e St will he hatween yOu wrE s,

RUC Water aflocatken b g 5 egulated by the PUG. A copy nt the rufes s attached Yhis addenaiam compues with those rulés

Consarvation efferiz We agres t6 use ous best sflods 1o cepaw any water eaks nsule of cutaic® your «aartmier 1o laser “han 7 days aftes eaming of trem v agres
1 use your best effors 1o Consones water ana nobfy s nt eaks
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Water allocation and submetering is regulated by the Texas Public Utility Commission (PUC). In accordance
with PUC rules, a copy of the applicabie rules are provided to you below:

SUBCHAPTER H' WATER UTILITY SUBMETERING AND ALLOCATION

$24.121, Genera] Rules and Definitions

(8} Purposeandscope The prowslons of this subchapter are intended to establish
& comprehensive regulatory system 1o assure that the practices nvolving
submeterad and allocated billing of dweking units and multiple use farilities for
water and sewer utiity service ars it and regsonable and indude appropnate
safeguards for tenants.

(b Application, The provisions of this subchapter apply o apa-tment 1ouses
cordomipiums, multiple use facihties, and manufactured home rental
communities hilling for water and wastewater utility service on 3 submetered
ot aflocated bass

() Defini ons, The following wosds and terms, when used i this subchapter,
have the following meannas, uniess the context dearly ind.cates otherwise
(1} ABocated utifity service - Water or wastewater utikty service that1s master

meterad to an owner by a reta. public utility and allocated totenanis by

the owner

Apartment house - A bulding o buildings containing five or more

dwedling units that ane cecupsed primartly for nantransiantuse, includ'ng

a residantial condominum whather rented or gwner occupied, and If 2

dwelling untt 5 rented, having rental paid at intervais of one montn or

fonger.

{3 Customer service charge - A customer service charga [s a raze thatis not
dapendent on the amount of water used through the master mater

{47 Dwelling unit - On# or more raoms i an apartment house ar
condormmnum, sustable for occupancy s a residence, and cortanmg
kitchen and bathroom faciines, # unt 1n a muttipie use factity, ora
manufactureg home in a manofactured home rental community

(3)  Dwelling urut base charge - A flat rate ot fee charged by a retail public
utility for each dwelling untt recorded by *ne retanl pubhe uriity

{8) Master meter - A mater used to measire, for brliing purposes, all water

usage of an apartment house, condorrinum, multiple use fac'lity,

or manu‘actured home rental cormuntty, including cormmon areas,
common faciities, and dwetling units

Manufactured home rental community - A property on which spaces

are vented for the occupancy of manufactured homes for nontrarslent

resiential usa and for wrich rental s pard at intervals of oe month or
longer

(B8)  Multple yse facility - A commercial of Industnal park, office complax,

of marna with five or more umits that are occupled primanty for

nontransient use and are rented at 'ntervals of one month of longer

Occupant - A tenant or other prrson authorlzed under a written

agreement 1o occupy a dwell ng

{10} Cwnrer - The legal titlehoider of an apartment house, a manfactured
hore tantal community, or 2 mult ple use facdity, 3 condorminium
aswntration, or any indnadual, Sirm, of corpotation that purportsto be the
{andlord of tenunts n 4n apactment house, manufactured home rental
community, ar multiple use facility,

(11} Pont of use submeter - A device lacated in 1 plumbing system to
rnsasure the amount of water used at a specific polnt of use, fixture, of
anpllance, Including a sink, toslet, bathtub, or clothes washer.

112) Submetered ut'lty service - Water utility service thatis master metered
for the owner by the retasd public utllity and rdsvicdually metered by
the owner at each dwelling unit, wastewater ut ity service based on
submetered water utllity service, water utility service measured by
pomt-of-use submeters when al of the water used n a rwelling unit is
measured and totaled, or wastewater utiity service based on total water
use as measured by point-of-use submeters.

{13) Tenant - A parson who vwrs s entitled (o occupy @ dweliing unit or
multiple1 use faciity unit to the exclusion of others and, f rent 1s paid,
who Is abligated to pay for the occupancy under a written or oral rental
agreement

(14) Unilry service - For purposes of this subchapter utility service includes
only drink ng water and wasrewarer

{2

o

9]

524.122. Owner Registration and Racords.

fa)  Registration. An owner wha intends to bil tenarts for submetered or aliovated
unfity service or who changes the method used to bt tenants for uthty service
shall register with the commission sr a form prescribed by the comrission

b} Water quantity measurement Except as providad by subsections ic} ard {d)
of this section, a manager of 2 condommnium or the owner of an apastment
house, manufactured home rental commuraty, or multiple use “aciity, on which

©

[}

1)

i

(g

construction began after January 1, 2003, shall provide for the measarement of

tha quantity of wazer, if any, consumed by the occupants of mach umt trough

the instailation of

(1) submaeters, owned by the property nwner srmanagar, for sach dwalling

umit or reatal unt, or

individual meters, owned by the wtaif public utiity, for cach uweliing

unit or rantal unft

Plumbing system requirernent An owner of an apartment nouse on which

construction began after January 1, 2003, and that provides government

assisted of sunsidized rental hausmg to low or very low ncome resrdants shall

install a plumping system in the spartment bouse that is compatibie with the

I of sub for thy t of the quantity of water, if any,

consumag by the occupants of each it

Instaliation of indwidual meters O~ the raquest by “he property cwner or

manager, a retait publkc vtility shatl «nstall individual meters ewned by the

utihity 1 an apartment house, manuaciured home rental carnmasnity, multiple

use faclhty, or concommium on which tonstruction bagan after January 1,

2003, uniass the retast public ity detarmines that nstallatson of metars s

not ‘zastble If the retasl public utiity determines that mstaliaton of meters s

not feasible, the property owner or manager shail install a plurbing systens

that 1s campatibte w th the ins allation uf submeters or ndmdual meters A

et publle athity may chargs reasonable casts to instal mdmdoal meters

Recards. The awner shali make the followmng records available for aspection

by the tenant o tha comirussion of commussion staff at the on site manager s

office durnng normal busiriess nours in accordance with subsection (g} of this

section The owner may require thet the request by the tenant be In wntieg

and include

(1} acurrent and complete copy of TWC, Chapter 13, Subchapter M,

{2)  acurant and compieta copy of this subchapte”,

{3} 3currentropy of the reta public utiny's rate structure applicable to e
owner's bill,

{4} miormation or Ups on how tenants can reduce water usage

(3! the bilts from the rezail public utihty to the Dwner,

{6 for allocated bilting.

(2]

(A} the formula, occupancy factors, f any, and percentages used to
calcuiate temant bills,

(B} the tntal number of orcupants or sGuivalent occupants f an
equivalancy factor 15 used under 524 124{e)(2) of this title (elating
to Charges and Calcylations), and

€)  the square footage of the tenants dweiling unit of rentat space and
the total square [uotage of the epartment house, mansfactured
horve -ental community, or mult ple use faclity Jsed for Bring f
dweihing uri size or rental space 15 u<ed,

{7 for submetered billing'
{A)  the cakulation of the average cost per gallon htes, or cube foot,
(B} if the unitof measure of the submeters or paint of-use subnieters
differs from the unit of measure of the master reter, a chart for
converting the tenant’s sUBMSter measurement to that used by
he retad public utility,
(€} alt suometer readings and
(0} aif submeter test resuits,
8)  the total amount billed to all tenan's each month,
{91 totat revenues collected from the tenants each month o pay for water

and wastewater service: and
(19} any orher nformation nacassary for a tenant to calculate and venfy a
water and wastewater bill.
Recards retention. Each of the records reguired under subsection (e} of this
section shall be maintained for the turient year and the previous calendar year,
axcept that all subumetsr test resuits shatl be maintained until the submeterjs
perianently remaved fram service
Avalabiiity of records
1) tthe records required under subsection {e) of this section are maintained
at the on-site manage+’s office. the owner shall make the tecords avaiizble
for inspection at the on-site manager’s office watnn three days after
recenang @ written request
I¥ the records required under subsecticn {e: of this section are not
routinely mantained at the on-site managers office, the ownec shall
provide copres of the records to the on-ste manager within 13 days
of recerving a wr tten request flom a tenant or the commussion o7
commuission staf?,
1f there 8 no on-site rranager, the owner shalt make copres of therecards
available at the tenant’s dweiling und at a trvie agreed upon by the tenant

B
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wtthar 30 days of the owner recery ng 2 wr tten 7eguest from the tenant
{4) Topes of the records may bie provided by mai if sostarked by midnight
of the last day specified i paragraph (1), (23, or (31 of this subsection

§24.123. Rental Agrecment

a)

bt

<)

=

(o)

Rental agresment content The fental agreement betweaen the owner amd

tenant shall clearly state in writing

£ thetenant wiltbe billed by the owner for submetered or al'ocated utility
services, whichever s apphcable,

(2 whien utiity services will be included in the bill ssued by the owner;

{31 any disputes refatng to the cormnputanion of the tenant's bill or the
accuracy of any submetenng device will be between the ténantand the
awner,

(4)  the average monthiy biil for 31l daeting units in the previous calandar
year and the highast and lowest man-h's bills for that period,

15} of not submetered, a ciear description of the formuta used to allacate
utility services,

(6)  information regarding Dilhng such as metar reading dates, ithng dates,
and due dates,

(7]  tha petiod of time by which ownet will ispair Jeaks 1n the Yenant's unt
and in common 3reas, f cormon areas are not submetered;
(8] the tenant has the oyt tu seceive information from the owner 1o ver fy
the utiity balt: and
for manufactured nome renta communites and spariment houses, the
service cnaiga percantage permited under §24,1 24{d)(3) {refated ©
Charges and Calcalauons) of thus title that will be bifed to tenants
Aequirement ta pravkie rules At the thme 2 rental agreement §s ciscussed
the owner shall provide 2 copy of this subchanter or a capy of the rules t©
the tenant 1o inform the tenant of hus rights and the gwner's responsioiities
unger this subchapter
Tenant agreement to billing methed changes An owner shall not change
the rmethod by which a t2nantis billed unless the tenant has agreed ta the
change by signing a lease o7 other written agreement The owner shall provide
nouce of the proposed change xt 'wast 15 days prior to implementing the new
method
Changs from submetered to aliocated bifling. An owner shali no’ change from
submetered billing to altocated billing, axcept after receving written approval
from the commyssion after a demonstration of good causa and i the rental
agraement raquirements under subsections {a), (b}, and i} afthls section have
been met Good cause may include
(1) squipment failures, or
(2)  meter readmg or billing problems that could not feasbrly be corrected
Walver of tenant rights prohibited Arental agreement provision that purports
10 walve a terant’s tights or an ewnac's mespansibriities under this subchaptar
fs void

{9]

§24.124. Charges and Caiculations.

el

5

4

]

)

Prohiblted charges Charges bif'ed to tenants for submetersd or allocated
utritty service may only mclude bills for water or wastewater from the retai
pubtic utifity and must not include any fees billed to the owner by the rutad
public utliity for any deposit, disconnect, reconnect, late payment, o- other
similar fees.
Cwelthng unit base charge If the retad public utitity’s rate structure ricludas a
dwelling ung base tharge, the owner shall bedi each dwealling unit for the base
zharge appheabie to that unit The owner may notbill tenants for any dwelling
anit base charges appiicable to unaccupred dwelling units
Customes service charge i the tetuil public unlity s rate structure includes 3
customer service charge, the owner shall oilf each dwelling unit the amount
of the Lustomer service charge divided by the 1o1al number of dweliing units,
nefuding vacant vnis, that can recewve service through the master metar
servtiy the tenaots
Calculations for submetered ut Iy service, The tenant’s submeterea charges
must include the dwelbog wnst base charge and custorer service charge, of
applicable, and the gafienage charge and must be caleulated each month as
fallows
{1} water utihty service the retail pubhic utibty’s total monthly charges
for water sarvice (ess dwel ing unit base chargey oF customer service
charges, If applicable), divided by the total monthly water consumption
measured by the retail public utiity ta ohtam an average water cost
per gailon, hter, or culne *oot, muitiplied by the tenant’s mon:hly
zonsumption or the volumatig rate charged by the ret public utshity

to the awner multiplied by the tenant’s monthly witer consunptivn,

(&) wastewater utility service the retard public utilty’s total monthly
charges for wastowater service (less dwelling unit base charges of
customer service chatges o apphicable). divided by the toral monthly
water consumption measured by "he retail public utlity, mubtplied by
the tenant’s monthly ot the vol ate
charged by the retall publl. unihity to the owner muthiplied by the tanant’s
monthly water consurnpton;

service thargefor ranufactured b rental orth or

manager of apartrrant house a manufactured home rental commuimty

or apartmer house may charge a service charge 1 an amount notto
exceed 9% of the tenant’s charge for submetared water and aastewater
service, excapt when;

(A} the rasident resides in @ umt of an apartment house that has
recarved an aflocation of low neoms housing tax credits under
Texas Governmmat Code, Chapter 2306 Subchapter D7, or

{B} the apartment resident recetves tenant-tased voucher assistance
under United States Housing Act of 1937 Secvion B, {42 Unitea
States Code § 1437f} and

4y fnal bill on move-out for submetered service f @ tenant moves out
dunng @ billing penad, the owner may calcutaie a finad bill for the *snant
before the owner recawves the bill for that pencd from the reta | public
wtiity. If the owner Is billing using the avarage water or wastewater
cost per galion liter, or cubic foot as descrbed in paragraph (1) of this
subsection, the owner may calculate the tenant’s bl by calculatng the
tenant’s average volumetrk -ate for the last three months and multiplying
that average volumetric -ate by the tenant’s consumption for the biliing
penod

Calcutations for allocated utdity servies

1) Before an owner may allocate tha retal public utility's v aster meer biff
for water and sewer service to the tenents, the owrer <hali first deduct
{Ay  dweliing unitbase tharges of customer sarvice chargs, f applicable,

and

By common areausage such as nstalled landscape mgat on systems,

poois and faundry rooms, if any, o5 follows

L of o) common areas 278 separately metered of submetared
deduct the dctual eommen area usage

(a3 sf common areas that are served through the raster mater
1hat provides water to the dwelf ng units are nat separately
meetersd o7 submetared and there 15 an instatied landscape
wtigation system, deduct at least 25% of the reted public
bl ty's mastar metes billy

(i} it alf water uged for an mstalied tandscape irngation system
15 ramered ar submeteted and there are other common
arzas such as pools or lundry reoms that are not metered
or submetered, deauct atleast 3% of the retall public ubhty's
master meter bitl, or

(v) ¥ coryman areas that are served thiaugh the mavier meter
that provides water ta the dweiling units are 1ot separately
metersd or submetared and there is po instalted landscape
frngatics system, deduct at least 5% of the retait pubhic utid Ty's
rmaster reter bil

2} Tucakulate 2 tenants b il
1A} for an apartment house, the owner shad multiply the amcunt

established i paragraph (1) of this subsection by

1 thenumberof occupants 1n the tenant s dwelling unit drvided
by the total number of occupants i all dwelling units at the
baginning of the month far which bils ae being rendered;
or

) the number of occupants in the terant s awelling unit using
a ratio occupancy formula divided by the total number of
occupans in all dweiling units at the baginning of the retad
public utthty’s bill-ng period using the same ratio occupancy
farmula to determine the total The rabio occunancy formula
will reflect what the owner believes more accurately
represents the water use i urits that are occugaad by multiple
tenants. The rato occupancy formula that 1s sed must assign
a fracuonal portion per terant of no less tha= that on the
foliowang scale
) dwelbng unit with one occupant =1,
{0 dwelkng urit with twe occupants = 1 6:

(&
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4B awellng unit with three occupants = 2 2,0t
v} dwelling unst with riore than twee occupants =
22+ 0 4 per wach addmonal necupant puer these, or

{1} the average number of brcupants par badroom, which shall
be determined by the following eccupancy formula, The
formi st must caleulate the avarage number of occupants in
all dweiling urits based on the number of bedrooms i the
dweling unit 3ccording 10 the scale below, notwithstanding
the actual number of occupants ir each of the davelfing unit's
bedrooms or all dwelling units
( dwelfing unit with an efficiency = 1,

{1y dwelling unit with one bedroor = 1 6,

1 dwelling urit with two bedrooms =2 8;

V) dwelting unit with threa bedrooms = 4 + 1 2 for sach
additioral bedroom, or

fiv} afactor usingacomoination of square ‘potage and occupancy
in which no more t 1an 50% s based on square footage, The
square footage poriion must be based on the total square
footage iving area of the dwelling unit as a percantage of
the total square footage iving arca of all dwelking units of
the apartment house, or

the ndividuslly submetered hot or cold water usage of the

tenant’s dwelling unit divided by 2. submetsred hot or cold

water gsage i all dwelling un.ts,

B a condominsum manager shall muttiply tha amount established
n paragraph (1} of this subsection by any of the factors yader
subparagraph (A} of this paragraph or may follow the methods
outtined i thel condamimum contract,

(v)

3 for a manufactured home renta comimumty, the owner shal!
multipty the amount estanhshad n paragraph (1) of this subsection
by:

Iy any of the factors developea under subparagraph (A; of

this paragraph, or

{n the area of the individual rental space divided by the total
area of all rental spaces;ana

(D) for a rultiple use faciliny, the owner shall multiply the amount

cstabl shed in paragraph {1} of this subsection by
4 any of the factors develeped under subparagraph (4) of this
paragraph, or
he square footage of the rental space divided by the total
square footage of all rental spaces.
{3 Hatenantmovesinor out dunng abilfing prrnod, the owner may caiculate
a hilf for the tenant [f the tenant moves in dunng a biling penod, the
owner shail prorate the bill by cacutating a bill as i the tenant were there
for the whole month and then charging the tenant for only the numbet
of days the tonant hived in the urit divided by the number of days 'n the
month multiphed by the calcalated bill 1If o tenant moves out durng
a billing pertod befare the owner receives the bill ‘o that periad yom
the retal public utility, the owner may catculate a final b owner may
cakeutate the tenant's bill by caleulating the tenant’s average bill for the
fast three months and rutuplying that average bill by the number of
davs the tenant wis In the ynit diviced by the aumber of days tn that
menth
(f) Corversion to approved allocation method An ovner using an aliocation
formula other than those aopeoved in subsection {e, of th s section shall
imimediataly provide notice as required under §24 123(c} of this title (refating
1o Rental Agresment) and either
(1 adopt one of the methods i subsectlon {g) of this section, or
(2, wstall submeters ana begm billing on 3 submetered Basis; or
{31 discont'nue bitiing for vty sesvices

(0

§24.128. Billing.

(a}  Monthly billing of total chasges. The owner stiall bill the tenant 2ach month
for the totaicharges calculated undes 824 124 of this ttle (relating to Charges
and Cakeulations) If itis permitted in the rental agreement, an occupant of
DLLUPINTS who are not residing Ir ther ental umt for a period longer than
30 days may be excluded from the occupancy calculation and from paying &
water 30d sewer bill for that penod

{bY  Pendering bill,

{)  Allocated bills shall be rendered as promptly as possible afte the owner
recefves tha retail public utiity bil!

{2} Submeter bulls shalf be rendered as sromutly a5 possible sfter the owner
recenvs the setad public utifity bilt or according to the tme schedule in

(€]

id;

{e)

)

(g]

(1

m

im}

the rental agreermentyf the owner s ithing using the retail pubhc urilty's
rate,

Submeter reading schedule. Submeters or pamnt-of-use submeters shall be

taad within three days of the scheduled reading date of the rea | public

uthty's master meter or according to the schedula m the rental agreamant if
the ownes s biling using the retad publbc utifity’s rate.

Billing period

{1 Allocated bills shall be renderd for the same dilling period as that of

the retait puthc utility, genera'ly monthiy, unless service 15 provided for

Isss than that perod

Submete: hills shat! he rendered for the same billing perod 3s that of

the retail public utihty, generally manthly, unless service is provided for

iess than that penod If the owner uses the retall public utility's actual
rate, the biling penod may be an alternate biliing penod specified in the
rentds] agreement

Muiti-tern ol fsssued on a multifuemn Bill, tharges for submetered orallocated

uttlity service must be sepatate and distinet fram any other ¢charges on the

bill

information on bill The il must clearly state that the uthity service 15

submetered or alfocated, as apphicables, and must nclude ali of the fallowing

{1} totalamount due for submetenzd o allncated watag;

12} tatal amount due for 3 oe afiocated

{3} total amount due for dwelling unit base charge{s) or customer service
chatgefs) or bath, if appheable,

i4)  total armaunt due for water or wastewater usage, if appheable,

(51 the name of the retat publie utidity and a statemant that the byl] s not
from the retail public utiity;

16! name and address of the tenant (¢ whom the bill is appicable,

(71 name of the firm rendenrg the bill and the name or title, address, and
telephone number of the Arn o person 1o be rontactsd in zase of a
iling dispute, and

®  name, address, and telephone number of the party to whom payment
1s to be made

Infprmation on submetered service in addibiun to the nformation required

m subsection {f) of this seezion, abit for submetered service mustinclude ait

of tha fatlowing

{1} the total pumber of galans, hiters, or cub.c fest submetered ormeasured
by point- of use sLbmetass,

{2} the cost per gallon, ster, o cubi foot for mach service provided and

' total ameunt dus for a service charge charged by an owrer ot 2
manufactured home ~ental community, if applicable

Due date The due date on the bill may notbe less than 16 days aftar it malied
orhand def versd to the tenant, unless the due date falls on a federal hoiiday
or weekend, ir which cate the faliowing work day wilt be the due date. The
qwner shall record the date the Wil s maded or hand delverad A payment s
delinquent if not recaivad by the dus dats
Estimated bill An estunated bill may be rendered if a master meter, sunmeter,
or point of -use stimeter has been tampered with, cannot be read, or 's out
of order, and i1 such case, the bill must be distinctly marked as an astumate
an0d the subseguent il must reflect an ac ustment for actual Charges
Payment by tenant, Unless ut lity bells are paid ta a third-party bifling comparry
on hehalf of the swner, or uniess cleardy designated by the tenant, payment
must be applied first to rent and then to utilites
Overtilling and underbilling If a bill 15 ssued and subsequently found to be
In error, the owner shall calculate & brling adjustment ¥ the tenant « due
a refund, an adjustment must he calculated for all of that tenant's bills that
included overcharges If the overbiling or underbilling affects all tenants,
an adjustment must be calculated for all of the terants' blis if the tenant
was undercharged, and the causk was not due to submeter or pomt-of- use
submater srror, the ownes may calculote an adjustment for buls (sswed i the
previcus six months if the total undercharge s $25 or mora, the owner shalt
offet the tenant a deferced payment plan option, for the same lengrh aftime
as that of the underbiling, Adjustments for usage by a previous tenant may
rot be back billed 1o a current tenant.

Disputed bills In the event of @ dispute between a tenant and an owner

garding any bill, th the matter and reportthe rasults
of the investigation 1o the tenant In writing The investiqation and report must
bacompieted within 30 days from the date the tenartgives written notfication
of the dispute 1o the awner

Late fee A one-time penalty not to exceed 5% may be applied t delinguent

accounts If such a penalty is apafled, the bilt must inchcate the smount due

if the late penaity is incurrad Na late penalty may be applied unless agraed
to by the tenant n 2 written lease that states the percentage amount of sch
tate penaity

Q
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§24.127

fa)

s or Point-of-Use and Plumbing Fixtures.

ay

{3

(4]

5)

(]

o

s Of f- s

Same type submeters of port of-use submetars required All submeters
or point-of use submsters thicughotst a property must use the same unit
of measurement, such as galton, liter, o cubie foot.
Instalfation by owner The ovmer shall be responsible for provicing,
installing, and maintainng ¢/l submeters or point-of-use submeters
necessacy for *ne measuremrent of water to tenarts and to common
areas, d applicable
Submeter or point-of-use submater tects prior to mstallation, No
submeter o pomnt-of use subimeter may be placed n service unless s
accuracy has been estabhshed Ifany submeter or point-of-use submater
15 removed from service, it must be properly tested and calibrated before
being placed m service again
Accuracy regurements for submeters and pomnt-of-use submeters,
Submeters must be calibrated as close as posstble to the condition
of zero error and wetain the accuracy standrds eslabhshed by the
Amencan Water Works Association (AWWS) for water metars Point-of-
use submeters must be calihrated as clasely as possible to the conditlon
of zero error arc witrin the accuracy standards established by the
AmencanSociety of Mechanical Engne=rs (ASME} for point- of-use and
branch- water submetering systems
Location of submeters and point-of- b s S s and
point-of-use submeters abust be installed in accordance with applicable
plumb ng codes and AWWA standards for water meters of ASME standards
for point-of-use submeters, and must be readily accassible ta the tenant
and to the ownet for testing and mspectian where such acuwvities will
cause mink and Tee to the tenant
Submeter and pant of-use submetet *ecords The owner shall manzam
a record on each submeter or noint-0*Lse submeter which nchides
A ansdentifying number;
{8)  the nstailstion date {ard reroval date, ©applicable,
Q) date{s) the subimater or pont-of-use submetar was cabibrated or

tested;
0} copies of aff tests, and
{E} the current Jocat.or of the subrreter o porrt-of-use submeter
Submeter or point-of-use submeter test on raquest of tenent Upon
recetving a written request from the tenant, the owner snall either
(A)  provide svidence, at no charge ta the tenant, that the submetar

or pont-of- use submeter was calibrated or tested within the

(o]

@

(t0)

preceding 24 months and determined to he withain the ac_uracy
standards established by the AWWA for water maotes or ASME
standards for point-of-use submatars, or

{8) have the subnieter or pont-ofiise submeter removed and tested
and promptly advise the tenant of the test results

Bitling for submeter of pornt-af-use submeter test.

{A, The owner may not bil the tenart for testing costs © the submeter
fasls to meet AWWA accuracy standards for water meters or
ASME d for point-of-use sub PROJECT NO 4219C
PROPOSAL FOR ACOPTION PAGE 345 OF 379

{B] The cwnar may not bill the tenant for testing costs f there 1s
na evidence that the sub oF P f- b Was
calibrated ar wested within the preceding 24 mantns

{L})  Thecwner may sl the tepart for actaal testing costs {not to excaed
$25)if the submeter meets AWWA accuracy standards or the point
of-usa submeter peets ASME accuracy standards end evidence as
described i paragraph (73(A} of this subsection was provided to
the tenant

3ill adjustrent ous to submeter o point-of-use submeter error. If 3

sumneter does not meet AWWA dccuracy standards of a point of use

subrrater does not meet ASME accuraty standards and the tenant
was overbil'ed an adiusted by must be rendered 0 accordanes with

824 125(k. of this tizie (relating to &l ng). The owner may not charge

the tenant for any undecbiling that accurred because the submeter or

peint-of use submeter was i seror

Submeter or point-cf-use submeter testing fanihities and equipment

For submetzrs, an owner sl comply mT tha AWWA'S meter testing

requirements For pont-of-use metars, an owner shali camply vath

ASME's meter testing requiraments

Plumbing fixtures After Jariacy 1, 2003, before an owrer of an apartment
house, manufactured home rental community, or mult ple use facility or a
mandger of a condominium may Friplement a program 16 bal teranrs for
submetered or ailocated water service, the owner or marager shall aghere
to the following standards

1]

2

3

Texas Health and Safety Code, §372 002, ‘or sink o lavatory faucess

faucet aerators, and showerhedds,

perform a water leak audit of each dwelling uit or rentat Lnit and each

common area and epair any leaks found, ard

not later than the fist anmversary of the date ant owner of an apartment

house, manufactured home rental community, or multipls use faciity o

a manager of a condominium begms to bul} for submetered or allocated

wealer service, the owner or manager shall

{A)  remove any torlets that exceed a maximum flow ot 3.5 gallors per
flush, and

/BY istall toiets thet meet the standards prescribed by Yexas Faalth
and Safety Code, §372002

Pluntuny fixtue not applicable Subsection (o) of this section does no: apply
to & rranufactured home rental community owner wha does not awn the
manufactured homas located on the property of the manufactured home
rental communtty.

] _Blue Mocn eSinature Services Document [D_194502327 |
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PUCTX Online Complaint CP2019120546

Public Utility Commission Of Texas
1701 N. Congress Avenue

P.0O. Box 13326

Austin, Texas 78711-3326

(868) 782-8477

www.puc.texas.gov

Water Compilaint Form
Date: 12/20/2019 5:19:43 PM
Complaint No: (P2019120546
WAocount Holder: Emma Carbajal Alternate Contact: Aaron Renaud (Legal Representation- Paralegal}
E-magl Address: arenaud®tria.org
Service Address: 1124 Rutland Drive Maifing Address: Texas RioGrande Legal Aid
] 4920 N1 35
Austin TX 78758 Austin TX 78751
Travis County
Day Phone: (512) 374-2749 Evering Phone:
Complaint Against: Creeks Edge Apartments Complaint Type: Allocation
Service Phong: Account Ho: Unknown

Comp&nt Information: Ms. Carbajal has been a tenant at Creeks Edge Apartments since 2018, which is managed by CSC Management LLC. Creeks Edge
utibizes a non-submetered allocation system for charging water costs. Since moving in, Ms. Carbajal has been charged $129 for gas,
water, sewer, and trash {Uploaded as Carbajal - Demand Letter, pages 5-9), until signing her new 10-11-19 lease, which how charges
$70, veith $13 for trash {Uploaded as Carbajal - CE Lease 10-11-2019}. The original $129 rate far exceeded that of other tenants in
similtarly sized units (with a typical rate being $75), including the rates for those who signed leases in 2019. We believe these charges
are a violation of the Public Utility Commissions aflocation rules in 16 Tex. Admin. Code. § 24.281{e}.

Ms. Carbajal and her legal representation disputed Ms. Carbajals charges in May of 2019 (Uploaded as Carbajal - Demand Letter),
managemeant responded claiming Ms. Carbajal was undercharged {Uploaded as Carbajal - Email re Offers_Redacted). Ms. Carbajal
seeks an end to unfair aliocation pracuces and reimbursement for the extra costs she has had to bear due to €SC Management LLCs
disparate utility practices.

Please note that the file Carbajal - Email re Offers has had privileged information redacted, such as names of other tenants, contact
information, negotiation offers, and other non-relevant policy issues.

Uploaded Files: File Size
USER_Carbojal__ £F Leowe_10_11_2019.0df 3558166
USER_CarbajalDemand_Letter.pdf 939683
USER_Carbagal__ Emad_re_Offers_Redacted.pdf 778707

Totak 3 5276561

Public Utility Commussion of Texas Page 1/1



EXHIBIT D



DeAnn Walker

Cheirman

Arthur C. D’Andrea

Commissioner

Shelly L. Botkin

Commissioner

Greg Abbott

Governor

John Paul Urban Public Utility Commission of Texas
1/17/2020
Ms Emma Carbajal
Texas RioGrande Legal Aid
4920 N IH 35

Austin TX 78751
RE: Complaint #CP2019120546
Dear Ms Carbajal:

On December 30, 2019 the Customer Protection Division (CPD) of the Public Utility
Commission of Texas (PUCT) forwarded your informal complaint to Cross Creek
Apartments. According to the Commission’s Informal Complaint Procedures, Cross Creek
Apartments is required to investigate and advise the Commission in writing of the results of
its investigation of the complaint within 15 days of the date forwarded by the Commission.
Review of our records show that Cross Creek Apartments response was not filed within the
time period provided for by the Rules.

CPD’s informal investigation has determined that the actions of Cross Creek Apartments
were inconsistent with Substantive Rule §24.277 (e)-Records for failing to respond to your
complaint,

We recommend that Cross Creek Apartments take the following corrective actions:

¢ Resolve the issues described in your complaint according to applicable Commission
Rules;

¢ Respond immediately to the complaint; and
¢ Provide CPD documentation of the actions taken to resolve the complaint.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact our Customer Protection Hotline at
(888) 782-8477 or visit us online at http://www.puc.texas.gov.

Sincerely,
n
Customer Protection Division

Public Utility Commission of Texas

cc: Cross Creek Apartments

@ Printed on recycied paper An Equal Qpporiunity Employer

1701 N, Congress Avenue PO Box 13326 Austin, TX 78711 512/936-7000 Fax: 512/936-7003 web site: www.puc.texas.gov
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THE DAVES LAW FIRM

3624 North Hills Drive, Suite B-100
Austin, Texas 78731

512.346.6000
John M. Daves Lorti P. Daves
Attorney Attorney
john(@thedaveslawtirm.com lotii@thedaveslawfirm.com

January 14, 2020

Ms. Maria Powers

Public Utility Commission of Texas
1701 N. Congress Avenue

P.O. Box 13326

Austin, Texas 78711

Re:  Complaint Number CP2019120546; Customer Emma Carbajal
Dear Ms. Powers:

I represent CSC Cross Creek Realty, LL.C dba Creeks Edge Apartments, regarding the referenced
matter. Please direct all further communications regarding this matter to me.

[ am in receipt of correspondence from the Customer Protection division of the PUC to my client
dated December 30, 2019 regarding the referenced complaint. Please accept this correspondence
as my client’s response.

Ms. Carbajal executed an Apartment Lease Contract dated August 3, 2018. That Lease was
effective through October 17, 2019 when Ms. Carbajal executed a new Lease with Creeks Edge
Apartments effective October 18, 2019. A copy of her current lease is attached. As part of the
original Lease Agreement, Ms. Carbajal agreed to pay $129.00 per month for gas, water, sewer
and trash services. Water, waste water, gas and trash charges are paid 100% by the owner on a
monthly basis. It is our understanding that the calculation was based on a percentage of the
apartment unit’s share of the total square footage of the apartment community, after removing
common area percentages.

On May 28, 2019, Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid made a demand to Creeks Edge Apartments on
behalf of Ms. Carbajal relating to her utility charges. This demand, as you can see by the
information submitted on behalf of Ms. Carbajal, included a wide range of other issues, many of
which have been resolved globally with all tenants. Negotiations ensued over the next several
months with respect to this issue and this tenant, including an offer by Creeks Edge Apartments to



compensate Ms. Carbajal for any potential overcharge of utilities. Although the offer was
tentatively accepted, negotiations have since failed. Nevertheless, Ms. Carbajal executed a new
Lease which reduced her utility allocation to $70.00 for water and wastewater, $13.00 for trash
and $5 for pest control. Creek’s Edge Apartments has diligently attempted to resolve outstanding
issues with Ms. Carbajal and is continuing with those efforts. Creeks Edge will supplement with
any relevant information if needed.

If you have any questions or need additional information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

CC: Jennifer Richards
Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid



EXHIBIT F



DeAnn Walker

Chairman

Arthur C. D’Andrea

Commissioner

Greg Abbott

Governor

Shelly L. Botkin

Commissioner

John Paul Urban Public Utility Commission of Texas

Executive Director

1/2312020

Ms Emma Carbajal

c/o Texas Rio Grande Legal Aid
4920 N IH 35

Austin TX 78751

RE: Complaint # CP2019120546
Dear Ms Carbajal:

The Customer Protection Division (CPD) of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (PUCT)
has received a response from Cross Creek Apartments regarding your complaint filed on
December 30, 2019. In your complaint you expressed concern regarding the amount being
charged for the allocated water by the complex. You contacted the complex regarding the
charges but have been unable to resolve the issue. You stated the initial lease showed a
charge of $129 for the utility services, and the new lease now charges $70 for water and
Sewer services.

The information you provided to CPD was sent to Cross Creek Apartments with a request to
research your complaint and file their response to your concerns. CPD has reviewed the
documentation presented by you and Cross Creek Apartments in order to ensure the company
has acted consistently with applicable Substantive Rules. According to the documentation
provided by Cross Creek Apartments, the initial lease was signed on August 3, 2018 and was
effective through October 17, 2019. The copy of the lease provided in the complaint did not
directly show the amount that would be charged for water, wastewater, or other utilities, nor
is a copy of the lease addendum included.

Cross Creek Apartments provided a copy of the current lease in effect, that was signed
October 11, 2019. Again a copy of the lease addendum pertaining to the water and
wastewater calculations was provided. The complex responded to an email in September
2019, which states the complex will be calculating the utility charges based on the Texas Red
Book, as the charges were billed based on a flat rate from the previous bills. The complex
determined by using the Texas Red Book the charges billed for your apartment were
underbilled.

@ Printed on recycied paper An Equat Opportunity Empioyper

1701 N, Congress Avenue PO Box 13326 Austin, TX 78711 512/936-7000 Fax: 512/936-7003 web site: www.puc.texas.gov



CPD’s review of the information provided by you and Cross Creek Apartments assisted with
our final resolution of the complaint. CPD has determined the complex failed to provide a
copy of the lease addendum, invoices received for water and wastewater, and the calculations
formula to allow verification of the billing. Furthermore, the complex cannot bill in
accordance with the Texas Red Book without first getting all of the tenants to sign a new
lease addendum stating the billing for water and wastewater is changing. The complex can
change the billing when leases are renewed or for any new tenants, with the information
being disclosed regarding the billing method and is included in the lease addendum. The
previous inconsistent ruling will remain as the complex failed to respond within 15 days per
Substantive Rule.

Based on the investigation CPD has determined that Cross Creek Apartments has not acted
consistently with Substantive Rules §24.279-Rental Agreement, §24.281-Charges and
Calculations, and §24.283-Billing.

Thank you for the opportunity to address your concerns. If we can assist you with future

utility concerns, please contact us toll free through our Customer Assistance Call Center at 1-
888-782-8477.

Sincerely,

Martin Garcia
Customer Protection Division
Public Utility Commission of Texas

cc: Cross Creek Apartments
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