

Control Number: 48313

Item Number: 3



New Ulm Water Supply Corporation RECEIVED

P. O. Box 73, New Ulm, Texas 78950

2023 APR -6 AM 9: 25

Phone: 979-992-3699 Email: nuwsc@industryinet.com

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION FILING CLERK

Ronald Long, President Doug Bergez, Vice President Esther Hartman, Secretary/Treasurer

Susan Stone, Director Steven McBride, Director

"This corporation is an equal opportunity provider and employer."

March 21, 2023

Public Utility Commission of Texas Central Records 1701 N Congress PO Box 13326 Austin, Texas 78711-3326

Re: Tariff for New Ulm WSC, CCN No. 12417, in Austin County and Colorado County

Dear Tariff Clerk:

Pursuant to Texas Water Code Section 13.136(c) and 16 TAC Section 24.21(j), enclosed is two copies of the revisions to our existing tariff for New Ulm Water Supply Corporation provided for informational purposes.

- 1. Page 50, Section G, Page 1, 4. Customer Service Inspection Fee
- 2. Pages 52-53, Section G, Pages 3-4, 16. Monthly Charges. a. Base Rate, 1) Water Service
- 3. Page 53, Section G, Page 4, b. Gallonage Charge, 1) Water:

Sincerely,

Anastasia Gregoire

Manager

New Ulm Water Supply Corporation

Tariff Update for

New Ulm
Water Supply Corporation
510 Elm Street
P. O. Box 73
New Ulm, Texas 78950-0073
979-992-3699

Email: <u>nuwsc@industryinet.com</u>

TARIFF NO. 48313

Approved March 21, 2023

SECTION G. RATES AND SERVICE FEES

Unless specifically defined in this Tariff, all fees, rates, and charges as stated shall be non-refundable.

- 1. Additional Assessments. In the event any federal, state or local government imposes on the Corporation a "per meter" fee or an assessment based on a percent of water/sewer charges, this fee or assessment will be billed and collected as a "pass through" charge to the customer.
- 2. Assessments. If at the end of the fiscal year, or in the event of emergency repairs, the Board of Directors determines the total amount derived from the collection of water or wastewater charges to be insufficient for the payment of all costs incident to the operation of the Corporation's system during the year in which such charges are collected, the Board shall make and levy an assessment against each Member of the Corporation as the Board may determine or as may be required by Rural Development, so that the sum of such assessments and the amount collected from water and other charges is sufficient to fully pay all costs of the operation, maintenance, replacement and repayment on indebtedness for the year's operations. (See Article XVIII of USDA Model Bylaws, Section 1 Rev. 12-2011 or your Corporations bylaws or other governing documents)
- 3. Customer History Report Fee. A fee of \$5.00 shall be charged to provide a copy of the Member's record of past account information in response to a Member's request for such a record.
- 4. Customer Service Inspection Fee. A fee of \$75.00 will be assessed each Applicant before permanent continuous service is provided to new construction.
- 5. Easement Fee. When the Corporation determines that private right-of-way easements and/or facilities sites are necessary to provide service to the Applicant, the Applicant shall be required to make good faith efforts to secure easements in behalf of the Corporation and/or pay all costs incurred by the Corporation in validating, clearing, and retaining such right-of-way in addition to tap fees otherwise required pursuant to the provisions of this Tariff. The costs may include all legal fees and expenses necessary to attempt to secure such right-of-way and/or facilities sites on behalf of the Applicant. (See Section E. 28.; Section F. 8. b.)
- 6. Equipment Damage Fee. If the Corporation's facilities or equipment have been damaged by tampering, by-passing, installing unauthorized taps, reconnecting service without authority, or other service diversion, a fee shall be charged equal to the actual costs for all labor, material, and equipment necessary for repair, replacement, and other Corporation actions. This fee shall be charged and paid before service is re-established. If the Corporation's equipment has not been damaged, a fee equal to the actual costs for all labor, material, equipment, and other actions necessary to correct service diversions, unauthorized taps, or reconnection of service without authority shall be charged. All components of this fee will be itemized, and a statement shall be provided to the Member and tenant if an Alternate Billing Agreement is in place. If the Corporation's facilities or equipment have been damaged due to negligence or unauthorized use of the Corporation incurs losses or damages, the Member shall be liable for all labor and material charges incurred as a result of said acts or negligence.
- 7. Equity Buy-In Fee. In addition to the Membership Fee, each Applicant for new service that requires a new service tap shall be required to achieve parity with the contributions to the construction or acquisition of the Corporation's assets related to capacity that have been made previously by existing Members. This fee shall be assessed immediately prior to providing service on a per-service unit basis for each service requested and shall be assigned and restricted to that property for which the service was originally requested. This fee shall be set aside for future capacity improvements such as line upgrades, new tanks, treatment, or production. The formula applied to such fee calculated annually after receipt of the system audit is as follows:

- 5) Engineering fee;
- 6) Any additional site-specific equipment or appurtenances necessary to provide water or waste water service as determined by the Corporation under the terms of Section F. of this Tariff (incudes tap (fee(s)).
- c. Standard and Non-Standard Service Installations shall include all costs of any pipeline relocations as per Section E. 3. e. of this Tariff.
- 8. Late Payment Fee. Once per billing period, a penalty of \$3.00 or 10%, whichever is larger, shall be applied to delinquent bills. This late payment penalty shall not be applied to any balance to which the penalty was applied in a previous billing period but shall be applied to any unpaid balance during the current billing period.
 - NOTE: The Corporation cannot charge political subdivisions and state agencies the late payment fee. (Texas Government Code Chapter 2251.021 and Sec. E.13.)
- 9. Line Extension Reimbursement Fee. An approved Applicant may have to pay, on a prorated basis, a line reimbursement fee to the Corporation for the purpose of reimbursing a member or other entity that made the initial capital outlay to extend service to that area.
- 10. Membership Fee. At the time the application for service is approved, a refundable Membership Fee must be paid for each service requested before service shall be provided or reserved for the Applicant by the Corporation. The membership fee cannot be more than 12 times the minimum monthly base rate.
 - a. The Membership Fee for water service is \$200.00 for each service unit.
 - b. The Membership Fee for wastewater service is \$200.00 for each service unit.
 - c. Membership fee for oversized or Master Metered Accounts shall be based on multiples of meter size equivalence. (See Chart in Subsection 16 below.)
- 11. Meter Tampering and Damage to Property Penalty. In addition to the Equipment Damage Fee, the Corporation may charge a penalty for "Tampering" as defined in Section E. 22. The penalty may only be assessed against the person who committed the Tampering. The penalty cannot be assessed against the Member for the Tampering committed by their tenant. The penalty shall not exceed six (6) times the Base Rate.

12. Monthly Charges.

a. Base Rate

1) Water Service - The monthly charge for standard metered water service is for a 5/8" X 3/4" meter. The 5/8" X 3/4" meter charge is used as a base multiplier for larger non-standard meters in accordance with the following chart based on American Water Works Association maximum continuous flow specifications:

Meter Size	5/8" x 3/4" Meter Equivalents	Monthly Rate
5/8" x 3/4"	1.0	\$35.00
3/4"	1.5	\$52.00
1"	2.5	\$87.50
1 1/2"	5.0	\$175.00
2"	8.0	\$280.00
3" DISP	9.0	\$315.00
3" CMPD	16.0	\$560.00
3" TURB	17.5	\$612.50
4" CMPD	25.0	\$875.00
4" TURB	30.0	\$1050.00

6" CMPD	50.0	\$1,750.00
6" TURB	62.5	\$2,188.00
8" CMPD	80.0	\$2800.00

- 2) Sewer Service The monthly charge for standard sewer service on a per tap basis is a base rate of \$37.50
- b. **Gallonage Charge** In addition to the Base Rate, a gallonage charge shall be added at the following rates for usage during any one (1) billing period.
 - 1) Water:
 - \$4.75 per 1,000 gallons for 0 to 5,000 gallons
 - \$5.75 per 1,000 gallons for 5,000 gallons to 10,000 gallons
 - \$6.75 per 1,000 gallons for 10,000 gallons to 15,000 gallons
 - \$7.75 per 1,000 gallons over 15,000 gallons
 - 2) Sewer:
 - \$4.00 per 1 000 gallons for 0 to 5,000 gallons
 - \$5.00 per 1,000 gallons for 5,000 to 10,000 gallons
 - \$6.00 per 1,000 gallons for 10,000 to 15,000 gallons
 - \$7.00 per 1,000 gallons over 15,000 gallons

Sewer billing will be based on the winter month's average for water usage. The following months are used to calculate the winter month's average for sewer rates: November, December, January, and February. For new customers, sewer billing will be based on the system-wide, winter month's average.

- 3) The Corporation shall, as required by Texas Water Code Section 5.701, collect from each of its retail customers a regulatory assessment equal to one-half of one percent of the charge for retail water or wastewater service. This charge shall be collected in addition to other charges for utility service. This fee is collected on all charges pertaining to Section G.16. Monthly Charges of this Tariff. (16 TAC 291.76(d))
- 13. Meter Test Fee. The Corporation shall test a Member's meter upon written request of the Member. (See Meter Test Authorization and Test Report Form in Section J) Under the terms of Section E. of this Tariff, a charge of \$35.00 shall be imposed on the affected account.
- 14. Non-Disclosure Fee. A fee of \$10.00 shall be assessed to any Member or tenant requesting in writing that personal information under the terms of this tariff not be disclosed to the public.
- 15. Other Fees. All services outside the normal scope of utility operations that the Corporation may be compelled to provide at the request of a Member or the general public shall be charged to the recipient based on the cost of providing such service.
- 16. Owner Notification Fee. The Corporation shall assess a fee of \$10.00 per notification to a Member of a renter/lessee delinquent account status prior to disconnection of service. (See Miscellaneous Transaction Forms.)
- 17. Reconnect Fee. The Corporation shall charge a fee of \$75.00 for reconnecting service after the Corporation has previously disconnected the service for any reason provided for in this Tariff except for activation of service under Section E. 1. b. Re-Service.
- 18. Regulatory Assessment. A fee of 0.5% of the amount billed for water/sewer service will be assessed each customer; this assessment is required under Texas law and TCEQ regulations. NOTE: The regulatory assessment is not to be collected from state agencies, wholesale customers, or buyers of non-potable (not drinkable) water. (Ref. TCEQ RG-199 revised Sept. 2017; TCEQ Section 291.76 (c))

SECTION G. RATES AND SERVICE FEES

Unless specifically defined in this Tariff, all fees, rates, and charges as stated shall be non-refundable.

- 1. Additional Assessments. In the event any federal, state or local government imposes on the Corporation a "per meter" fee or an assessment based on a percent of water/sewer charges, this fee or assessment will be billed and collected as a "pass through" charge to the customer.
- 2. Assessments. If at the end of the fiscal year, or in the event of emergency repairs, the Board of Directors determines the total amount derived from the collection of water or wastewater charges to be insufficient for the payment of all costs incident to the operation of the Corporation's system during the year in which such charges are collected, the Board shall make and levy an assessment against each Member of the Corporation as the Board may determine or as may be required by Rural Development, so that the sum of such assessments and the amount collected from water and other charges is sufficient to fully pay all costs of the operation, maintenance, replacement and repayment on indebtedness for the year's operations. (See Article XVIII of USDA Model Bylaws, Section 1 Rev. 12-2011 or your Corporations bylaws or other governing documents)
- 3. Customer History Report Fee. A fee of \$5.00 shall be charged to provide a copy of the Member's record of past account information in response to a Member's request for such a record.
- 4. Customer Service Inspection Fee. A fee of \$75.00 will be assessed each Applicant before permanent continuous service is provided to new construction.
- 5. Easement Fee. When the Corporation determines that private right-of-way easements and/or facilities sites are necessary to provide service to the Applicant, the Applicant shall be required to make good faith efforts to secure easements in behalf of the Corporation and/or pay all costs incurred by the Corporation in validating, clearing, and retaining such right-of-way in addition to tap fees otherwise required pursuant to the provisions of this Tariff. The costs may include all legal fees and expenses necessary to attempt to secure such right-of-way and/or facilities sites on behalf of the Applicant. (See Section E. 28.; Section F. 8. b.)
- 6. Equipment Damage Fee. If the Corporation's facilities or equipment have been damaged by tampering, by-passing, installing unauthorized taps, reconnecting service without authority, or other service diversion, a fee shall be charged equal to the actual costs for all labor, material, and equipment necessary for repair, replacement, and other Corporation actions. This fee shall be charged and paid before service is re-established. If the Corporation's equipment has not been damaged, a fee equal to the actual costs for all labor, material, equipment, and other actions necessary to correct service diversions, unauthorized taps, or reconnection of service without authority shall be charged. All components of this fee will be itemized, and a statement shall be provided to the Member and tenant if an Alternate Billing Agreement is in place. If the Corporation's facilities or equipment have been damaged due to negligence or unauthorized use of the Corporation incurs losses or damages, the Member shall be liable for all labor and material charges incurred as a result of said acts or negligence.
- 7. Equity Buy-In Fee. In addition to the Membership Fee, each Applicant for new service that requires a new service tap shall be required to achieve parity with the contributions to the construction or acquisition of the Corporation's assets related to capacity that have been made previously by existing Members. This fee shall be assessed immediately prior to providing service on a per-service unit basis for each service requested and shall be assigned and restricted to that property for which the service was originally requested. This fee shall be set aside for future capacity improvements such as line upgrades, new tanks, treatment, or production. The formula applied to such fee calculated annually after receipt of the system audit is as follows:

- 5) Engineering fee;
- 6) Any additional site-specific equipment or appurtenances necessary to provide water or waste water service as determined by the Corporation under the terms of Section F. of this Tariff (incudes tap (fee(s)).
- c. Standard and Non-Standard Service Installations shall include all costs of any pipeline relocations as per Section E. 3. e. of this Tariff.
- 8. Late Payment Fee. Once per billing period, a penalty of \$3.00 or 10%, whichever is larger, shall be applied to delinquent bills. This late payment penalty shall not be applied to any balance to which the penalty was applied in a previous billing period but shall be applied to any unpaid balance during the current billing period.
 - NOTE: The Corporation cannot charge political subdivisions and state agencies the late payment fee. (Texas Government Code Chapter 2251.021 and Sec. E.13.)
- 9. Line Extension Reimbursement Fee. An approved Applicant may have to pay, on a prorated basis, a line reimbursement fee to the Corporation for the purpose of reimbursing a member or other entity that made the initial capital outlay to extend service to that area.
- 10. Membership Fee. At the time the application for service is approved, a refundable Membership Fee must be paid for each service requested before service shall be provided or reserved for the Applicant by the Corporation. The membership fee cannot be more than 12 times the minimum monthly base rate.
 - a. The Membership Fee for water service is \$200.00 for each service unit.
 - b. The Membership Fee for wastewater service is \$200.00 for each service unit.
 - c. Membership fee for oversized or Master Metered Accounts shall be based on multiples of meter size equivalence. (See Chart in Subsection 16 below.)
- 11. Meter Tampering and Damage to Property Penalty. In addition to the Equipment Damage Fee, the Corporation may charge a penalty for "Tampering" as defined in Section E. 22. The penalty may only be assessed against the person who committed the Tampering. The penalty cannot be assessed against the Member for the Tampering committed by their tenant. The penalty shall not exceed six (6) times the Base Rate.

12. Monthly Charges.

a. Base Rate

1) Water Service - The monthly charge for standard metered water service is for a 5/8" X 3/4" meter. The 5/8" X 3/4" meter charge is used as a base multiplier for larger non-standard meters in accordance with the following chart based on American Water Works Association maximum continuous flow specifications:

Meter Size	5/8" x 3/4" Meter Equivalents	Monthly Rate
5/8" x 3/4"	1.0	\$35.00
3/4"	1.5	\$52.00
1"	2.5	\$87.50
1 1/2"	5.0	\$175.00
2"	8.0	\$280,00
3" DISP	9.0	\$315,00
3" CMPD	16.0	\$560.00
3" TURB	17.5	\$612,50
4" CMPD	25.0	\$875.00
4" TURB	30.0	\$1050.00

6" CMPD	50.0	\$1,750.00
6" TURB	62.5	\$2,188.00
8" CMPD	80.0	\$2800.00

- 2) Sewer Service The monthly charge for standard sewer service on a per tap basis is a base rate of \$37.50
- b. Gallonage Charge In addition to the Base Rate, a gallonage charge shall be added at the following rates for usage during any one (1) billing period.
 - 1) Water:
 - \$4.75 per 1,000 gallons for 0 to 5,000 gallons
 - \$5.75 per 1,000 gallons for 5,000 gallons to 10,000 gallons
 - \$6.75 per 1,000 gallons for 10,000 gallons to 15,000 gallons
 - \$7.75 per 1,000 gallons over 15,000 gallons

2) Sewer:

- \$4.00 per 1 000 gallons for 0 to 5,000 gallons
- \$5.00 per 1,000 gallons for 5,000 to 10,000 gallons
- \$6.00 per 1,000 gallons for 10,000 to 15,000 gallons
- \$7.00 per 1,000 gallons over 15,000 gallons

Sewer billing will be based on the winter month's average for water usage. The following months are used to calculate the winter month's average for sewer rates: November, December, January, and February. For new customers, sewer billing will be based on the system-wide, winter month's average.

- 3) The Corporation shall, as required by Texas Water Code Section 5.701, collect from each of its retail customers a regulatory assessment equal to one-half of one percent of the charge for retail water or wastewater service. This charge shall be collected in addition to other charges for utility service. This fee is collected on all charges pertaining to Section G.16. Monthly Charges of this Tariff. (16 TAC 291.76(d))
- 13. Meter Test Fee. The Corporation shall test a Member's meter upon written request of the Member. (See Meter Test Authorization and Test Report Form in Section J) Under the terms of Section E. of this Tariff, a charge of \$35.00 shall be imposed on the affected account.
- 14. Non-Disclosure Fee. A fee of \$10.00 shall be assessed to any Member or tenant requesting in writing that personal information under the terms of this tariff not be disclosed to the public.
- 15. Other Fees. All services outside the normal scope of utility operations that the Corporation may be compelled to provide at the request of a Member or the general public shall be charged to the recipient based on the cost of providing such service.
- 16. Owner Notification Fee. The Corporation shall assess a fee of \$10.00 per notification to a Member of a renter/lessee delinquent account status prior to disconnection of service. (See Miscellaneous Transaction Forms.)
- 17. Reconnect Fee. The Corporation shall charge a fee of \$75.00 for reconnecting service after the Corporation has previously disconnected the service for any reason provided for in this Tariff except for activation of service under Section E. 1, b. Re-Service.
- 18. Regulatory Assessment. A fee of 0.5% of the amount billed for water/sewer service will be assessed each customer; this assessment is required under Texas law and TCEQ regulations. NOTE: The regulatory assessment is not to be collected from state agencies, wholesale customers, or buyers of non-potable (not drinkable) water. (Ref. TCEQ RG-199 revised Sept. 2017; TCEQ Section 291.76 (c))