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TARIFF CONTROL NO. 48307 core T TR
APPLICATION OF UNDINE § pUBLICAE HANTRSc8M&nidkion
TEXAS, LLC FOR A PASS-THROUGH § L camessie
RATE CHANGE § TR OF, AEXASRK

COMMISSION STAFF’S SUFFICIENCY AND

FINAL DISPOSITION RECOMMENDATIONS
COMES NOW the Commission Staff (Staff) of the Public Utility Commission of Texas
(Commission), representing the public interest, and files this response to Notice Setting Deadline
for Commission Staff Recommendation, Staff’s Sufficiency and Final Disposition
Recommendations. Staff recommends that the application and notice be found sufficient and that

the application be approved using rates calculated by Staff. In support thereof, Staff shows the

following:

I. BACKGROUND

On April 23, 2018, Undine Texas, LLC (Undine) filed an application for a pass-through
rate change pursuant to 16 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) § 24.21(b)(2)(A)(vii). Specifically,
Undine requests approval of a pass-through rate increase as a minor tariff change in order to
recover an increased well pumpage fee imposed by North Harris County Regional Water Authority
(NHCRWA) from $2.90 per 1,000 gallons to $3.40 per 1,000 gallons.! NHCRWA'’s increased
fee is effective April 1, 2018.2 Undine’s proposed rate increase to account for the higher
NHCRWA pumpage fee would rise from $3.41 per 1,000 gallons to $5.28 per 1,000 gallons and
the increase would also include recovery for line loss.3 Undine’s proposed increase applies to the
Cypress Bend Subdivision, Public Water System No. 1010119, and Undine requests an effective
date of April 1, 2018.4

On April 26, 2018, the Commission Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) issued Notice Setting

Deadline for Staff’s Recommendation requiring Staff to file a recommendation on the application

! Application at 1-2 (Apr. 23, 2018).
2id atl.
31d at2.
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and notice, as well as propose a procedural schedule, by May 23, 2018. Therefore, this pleading
is timely filed.

I1. APPLICATION AND NOTICE SUFFICIENCY RECOMMENDATION
Staff has reviewed Undine’s application and notice and determined that they are both
sufficient. Staff notes that although Undine’s notice provided for a higher rate than Staff
recommends herein, no further notice should be required because the approved rate would be lower
than noticed. Therefore, Staff recommends that the application be found administratively

complete and that no further notice be required.

III.  FINAL DISPOSITION RECOMMENDATION

As indicated by the attached memorandum of Kathryn Eiland of the Commission’s Water
Utility Regulation Division (Attachment A), Staff has reviewed Undine’s application for a pass-
through rate change. Although Undine’s application seeks a rate change to $5.28 per 1,000
gallons, Staff recommends that the rate be set at $4.00 per 1,000 gallons. Undine’s rate increase
request included line loss of 35.6%, which exceeds Staff’s recommended maximum line loss of
15%. Undine included no justification for a line loss recovery greater than 15%. An amended
tariff is attached herein reflecting Staff’s recommended $4.00 per 1,000 gallons rate change
(Attachment B).

If the Commission approves Staff’s recommended rate and Undine has already begun
charging a rate at $5.28 per 1,000 gallons, Staff recommends that Undine be ordered to refund any
overcharges charged to its ratepayers since the rate change took effect. Staff recommends that
Undine be ordered to file a notarized affidavit attesting to the calculation, issuance, and amount of

any such refunds within 45 days of the issuance of the final order in this docket.

IV. COMMENTS ON PROCEDURAL SCHEDULE
Because Staff recommends that Undine’s application be approved using the amount

calculated by Staff, Staff does not propose a procedural schedule for further processing.

V. CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated herein, Staff respectfully recommends that Undine’s pass-through
rate change be approved using the amount provided by Staff. Staff also recommends that Undine

be ordered to issue a refund of any overcharges and to file an affidavit attesting to such refund.
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Dated: May 23, 2018

Respectfully submitted,

PuBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS
LEGAL DIVISION

Margaret Uhlig Pemberton
Division Director

Katherine Lengieza Gross
Managing Attorney
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‘Matthew A. Arth
State Bar No. 24090806
(512) 936-7021

(512) 936-7268 (facsimile)
1701 N. Congress Avenue
P.O. Box 13326

Austin, Texas 78711-3326
matthew.arth@puc.texas.gov

TARIFF CONTROL NO. 48307
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of this document will be served on all parties of record on May 23,

2018, in accordance with the requirements of 16 TAC § 22.74.
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Matthew A. Arth
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Attachment A

Staff Memorandum



PUC Interoffice Memorandum

To: Matthew Arth, Attorney
Legal Division

Thru: Debi Loockerman, Financial Manager
Water Utility Regulation

From: Kathryn Eiland, Financial Analyst
Water Utility Regulation

Date: May 23,2018

Subject: Tariff Control No. 48307; Application of Undine Texas, LLC for a Pass-
Through Rate Change

On April 23, 2018, Undine Texas, LLC (Applicant), Certificate of Convenience and Necessity
(CCN) No. 10835, filed an application to implement a pass-through rate change pursuant to 16
Texas Administrative Code (TAC) § 24.21. The pass-through adjustment is for an increase in
the well pumpage fee billed by North Harris County Regional Water Authority (NHCRWA).
The increase results in a fee from NHCRWA of $3.40 per 1,000 gallons, effective April 1, 2018.

The Applicant requests a pass-through rate change from $3.41 to $5.28 per 1,000 gallons for
Cypress Bend subdivision (PWS # 1010119) to account for NHCRWA’s higher fee. This
proposed increase also includes recovery for line loss. The Applicant provided the following:

Documentation showing an increase in the water pumpage fee by NHCRWA;
Historical documentation of line loss for one year of 35.6%;

Calculations and assumptions used to determine the new rate;

A copy of the notice to customers for the Cypress Bend subdivision; and

A copy of the rate pages of its tariff for the Cypress Bend subdivision.

bR D

Staff reviewed the application and confirmed that NHCRWA fees increased effective April 1,
2018. The Applicant calculated the pass-through rate change using 35.6% line loss. Staff’s
recommends a maximum line loss recovery of 15%. This policy is in place in order to conserve
water and encourage management to fix leaks. The Applicant provided no explanation for the
35.6% line loss. Accordingly, Staff recalculated the pass-through rate using the maximum
amount of 15%, which is indicated in the formula below. .

AG={G/(1-L)}
AG = {$3.40 /(1 - .15)}
AG = {$3.40/ .85)
AG = $4.00

Additionally, Applicant’s notice to customers identified a pass-through rate change of $5.28.
Despite Staff’s recommendation that the rate be set at $4.00, Staff recommends that the notice be
found sufficient since the amount Staff calculated was less than $5.28. Staff does not
recommend that the Commission order the Applicant to re-notice customers.
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Staff also identified that the Applicant’s tariff was not correctly updated to include the new pass-
through equation as requested in Control No. 47005. The attached amended tariff includes the
update related to Tariff Control No. 47005.

Based on the above information, Staff recommends that the Commission do the following:

A. Approve a pass-through rate change of $4.00 using Staff’s recommended calculation;

B. Provide a copy of an approved tariff to the Applicant (attached); and

C. Require that the Applicant issue refunds to customers for any pass-through rate change
amount collected in excess of the $4.00 per 1,000 gallons rate.
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Attachment B
Amended Tariff (Rate Schedule Sections)



WATER UTILITY TARIFF
Tariff Control No. 48307

Suburban Utility Company P.O. Box 455
(Utility Name) (Business Address)
Spring, Texas 77383 (281) 444-7747
(City, State, Zip Code) (Area Code/Telephone)

This tariff is effective for utility operations under the following Certificate of Convenience and
Necessity:

10835

This tariff is effective in the following county:

Harris County

This tariff is effective in the following cities or unincorporated towns (if any):
N/A

This tariff is effective in the following subdivisions and public water systems:

Beaumont Place (PWS ID#1010098): Castlewood Subdivision (PWS ID#1010111); Cypress Bend
Subdivision (PWS ID#1010119); Reservoir Acres Subdivision (PWS ID#1010197)

TABLE OF CONTENTS
The above utility lists the following sections of its tariff (if additional pages are needed for a
section, all pages should be numbered consecutively):

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE.......c.cooiiiiiiiii e 2
SECTION 2.0 -- SERVICE RULES AND POLICIES ... 4
SECTION 3.0 -- EXTENSION POLICY ...cooiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii i 11

APPENDIX A -- DROUGHT CONTINGENCY PLAN
APPENDIX B — SAMPLE SERVICE AGREEMENT
APPENDIX C - APPLICATION FOR SERVICE



Suburban Utility Company Water Utility Tariff Page No. 2

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE

Section 1.01 - Rates

Meter Size Monthly Minimum Charge Gallonage Charge

5/8" x 3/4" $23.00 (Includes 0 gallons) $2.15 per 1000 gallons up to 20,000 gallons
3/4" $23.00 $2.40 per 1000 gallons from 20,001 to 35,000 gallons
1" $57.50 $2.65 per 1000 gallons from 35,001 to 50,000 gallons
1" $115.00 $3.00 per 1000 gallons from 50,001 gallons and up
2" $184.00 *Plus Pass Through fees below
3" $345.00

*Pass Through For Cypress Bend Subdivision:

$4.00 per 1000 gallons additional fee will be added as a Pass Through charge by North Harris
County Regional Water Authority (NHCRWA) for the customers in Cypress Bend Subdivision.
Tariff Control No. 48307

$0.99 per 1000 gallons (which is $0.8526 plus line loss of 15 percent) will be added as a Pass
Through charge by the City of Houston for customers in Castlewood Subdivision.
Tariff Control No. 44762

FORM OF PAYMENT: The utility will accept the following forms of payment:

Cash_X |, Check_ X , Money Order_X Credit Card__, Other (specify)
THE UTILITY MAY REQUIRE EXACT CHANGE FOR PAYMENTS AND MAY REFUSE TO ACCEPT PAYMENTS
MADE USING MORE THAN $1.00 IN SMALL COINS. A WRITTEN RECEIPT WILL BE GIVEN FOR CASH
PAYMENTS.

REGULATORY ASSESSMENT ..ottt e 1.0%

PUC RULES REQUIRE THE UTILITY TO COLLECT A FEE OF ONE PERCENT OF THE RETAIL MONTHLY BILL
AND TO REMIT FEE TO THE TCEQ.

Section 1.02 - Miscellaneous Fees

TAP FEE ..o ettt ettt ettt eas e e e e e, $600.00
TAP FEE COVERS THE UTILITY'S COSTS FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR TO INSTALL A STANDARD
RESIDENTIAL 5§/8" or 3/4" METER. AN ADDITIONAL FEE TO COVER UNIQUE COSTS IS PERMITTED IF
LISTED ON THIS TARIFF.

TAP FEE (UNIQUE COSES) teiiviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiteeeiteeeiieesreeeeseeeesteeesaneaessseaessstessseeesnseessabraesanneees Actual Cost
FOR EXAMPLE, A ROAD BORE FOR CUSTOMERS QUTSIDE OF SUBDIVISIONS OR RESIDENTIAL AREAS.
TAP FEE (Large meter)......cooouiiiiioiiceeeer ettt Actual Cost
TAP FEE IS THE UTILITY'S ACTUAL COST FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR FOR METER SIZE INSTALLED.
CUSTOMER DEPOSIT RESIDENTIAL (Maximum $50).........ccccviiniiniiniiiiniiciiciican, $50.00
COMMERCIAL & NON-RESIDENTIAL DEPOSIT................. 1/6TH OF ESTIMATED ANNUAL BILL

Tariff Control No. 48307



Suburban Utility Company Water Utility Tariff Page No. 3

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (Continued)

RETURNED CHECK CHARGE ..ottt o s $25.00
RETURNED CHECK CHARGES MUST BE BASED ON THE UTILITY'S DOCUMENTABLE COST.

RECONNECTION FEE
THE RECONNECT FEE MUST BE PAID BEFORE SERVICE CAN BE RESTORED TO A CUSTOMER WHO HAS

BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS (OR OTHER REASONS LISTED UNDER SECTION
2.0 OF THIS TARIFF):

a) Nonpayment of bill (Maximum $25.00).......ccccovriiiiniiirin e e, $25.00
b) Customer's request that service be disconnected ............ccecvvieriiiieienenneniene $50.00
TRANSFER FEE ...ttt et e $35.00

THE TRANSFER FEE WILL BE CHARGED FOR CHANGING AN ACCOUNT NAME AT THE SAME SERVICE
LOCATION WHEN THE SERVICE IS NOT DISCONNECTED.

LATE CHARGE (EITHER $5.00 OR 10% OF THE BILL) ....cccoiiiiiiiiicecice $5.00
PUC RULES ALLOW A ONE-TIME PENALTY TO BE CHARGED ON DELINQUENT BILLS. A LATE CHARGE
MAY NOT BE APPLIED TO ANY BALANCE TO WHICH THE PENALTY WAS APPLIED IN A PREVIOUS
BILLING

METER TEST FEE ...ttt ettt et sttt em e $25.00

THIS FEE WHICH SHOULD REFLECT THE UTILITY'S COST MAY BE CHARGED IF A CUSTOMER REQUESTS
A SECOND METER TEST WITHIN A TWO-YEAR PERIOD AND THE TEST INDICATES THAT THE METER IS
RECORDING ACCURATELY. THE FEE MAY NOT EXCEED $25.

METER RELOCATION FEE ..., Actual Relocation Cost, Not to Exceed Tap Fee
THIS FEE MAY BE CHARGED IF A CUSTOMER REQUESTS THAT AN EXISTING METER BE RELOCATED.

METER CONVERSION FEE......oovvooeeeeveeeee, Actual Conversion Cost, Not to Exceed Tap Fee
THIS FEE MAY BE CHARGED IF A CUSTOMER REQUESTS CHANGE OF SIZE OF AN EXISTING METER OR
CHANGE IS REQURIED BY MATERIAL CHANGE IN CUSTOMER'S SERVICE DEMAND.

LINE EXTENSION AND CONSTRUCTION CHARGES:
REFER TO SECTION 3.0--EXTENSION POLICY FOR TERMS, CONDITIONS, AND CHARGES WHEN NEW
CONSTRUCTION IS NECESSARY TO PROVIDE SERVICE.

GOVERNMENTAL TESTING, INSPECTION AND COSTS SURCHARGE:
WHEN AUTHORIZED IN WRITING BY PUC AND AFTER NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS. THE UTILITY MAY
INCREASE RATES TO RECOVER INCREASED COSTS FOR INSPECTION FEES AND WATER TESTING. [30
TAC 24 21(K)(2)]

Tariff Control No. 48307



Suburban Utility Company Water Utility Tarift P age No. 3a

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (Continued)

PURCHASED WATER AND/OR DISTRICT FEE PASS THROUGH CLAUSE:
CHANGES IN FEE IMPOSED BY ANY NON-AFFILIATEDTHIRD PARTY WATER SUPPLIER OR UNDER
GROUND WATER DISTRICT HAVING JURISDICTION OVER THE UTILITY SHALL BE PASSED THROUGH AS
AN ADJUSTMENT TO THE WATER GALLONAGE CHARGE ACCORDING TO THE FOLLOWING FORMULA:

AG = {G/(1-L)}, where

AG = adjusted gallonage charge, rounded to the nearest one cent;
G = new gallonage charge (per 1,000 gallons);

L = line loss for preceding 12 months, not to exceed 0.15

Tariff Control No. 48307
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