

Control Number: 48220



Item Number: 8

Addendum StartPage: 0

DeAnn T. Walker
Chairman

Arthur C. D'Andrea Commissioner

Shelly Botkin Commissioner

John Paul Urban
Executive Director



RECEIVED

2018 JUN 21 AM 11:39

Public Utility Commission of The caserk

To: Bret W. Fenner, P.E.

B & D Environmental, Inc.

200 Harbor Circle

Georgetown, TX 78633

Commission Staff – Water Utility Regulation Division

Commission Staff – Legal Division

Re: Tariff Control No. 48220 – Application of J & S Water Company LLC for a Pass-through

Rate Change

NOTICE OF APPROVAL

This Notice addresses J & S Water Company, LLC's application for a pass-through rate change due to an increase in water use fees imposed on the utility by the North Harris County Regional Water Authority (NHCRWA). NHCRWA's rate increase to \$3.40 applies to the Five Oaks, Maple Leaf Gardens, and Oakland Village subdivisions and took effect on April 1, 2018. J & S also requested approval of a pass-through true-up adjustment clause.

On May 11, 2018, the Commission approved an interim pass-through rate of \$4.00 per 1,000 gallons and required J & S to reissue notice to customers with the correct prior approved pass-through rate and tariff control number.

On June 13, 2018, Commission Staff recommended that the administrative law judge (ALJ) deem the supplemented application and revised notice sufficient. The ALJ deems the supplemented application and revised notice sufficient.

Commission Staff stated that J & S did not support the need for a true-up adjustment clause. Commission Staff noted that under 16 Texas Administrative Code § 24.21(b)(2)(C)(v) and (b)(2)(d) a true-up adjustment is applied when a utility passes through multiple costs from multiple entities. J & S passes through one charge from one utility. Commission Staff recommended denial of the request. The ALJ denies the request for a pass-through true-up adjustment clause.

In addition, Commission Staff recommended the Commission approve as final a pass-through gallonage rate of \$4.00 per 1,000 gallons of groundwater. Accordingly, the Commission approves as final a pass-through rate of \$4.00 per 1,000 gallons to J & S customers in the Five Oaks, Maple Leaf Gardens, and Oakland Village subdivisions. The revised tariff pages provided by Commission Staff are attached to this Notice.

Signed at Austin, Texas the 215T day of June 2018.

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS

GABRIEL P. SOTO

ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE

q \cadm\docket management\water\tariffs - pass through adj\48xx\\48220-3app docx



WATER UTILITY TARIFF Tariff Control Number: 48220

J&S Water Company, L.L.C. (Utility Name) (Business Address)

1905 N. Battle Bell Road

Highlands, TX 77562 (City, State, Zip Code)

(281) 590-4359 (Area Code/Telephone)

This tariff is effective for utility operations under the following Certificate of Convenience and Necessity:

12085

This tariff is effective in the following counties:

Harris, Chambers, and Liberty

This tariff is effective in the following cities or unincorporated towns (if any):

None

This tariff is effective in the following subdivisions:

Arbor Oaks (PWS #1011493), Five Oaks (PWS #1011832), Maple Leaf Gardens (PWS #1011493), Oakland Village (PWS #1010049), Windfern Meadows (PWS #1011493), and Woodland Acres (Subdivision and Mobile Home Park) (PWS #0360027)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

The above utility lists the following sections of its tariff (if additional pages are needed for a section, all pages should be numbered consecutively):

SECTION 1.0 - RATE SCHEDULE	2
SECTION 2.0 - SERVICE RULES AND POLICES	
SECTION 3.0 - EXTENSION POLICY	.11

APPENDIX A: DROUGHT CONTINGENCY PLAN APPENDIX B: APPLICATION FOR SERVICE

Arbor Oaks, Five Oaks, Maple Leaf MH,

Oakland Village, & Windfern Meadows

(Utility Name)

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE

Section 1.01 - Rates

Meter Size	Monthly Minimum Charge	Gallonage Charge
5/8" or 3/4" 1" 1½" 2" 3" 4" 6"	\$ $\frac{23.44}{58.60}$ (per connection for all water meter sizes) \$ $\frac{58.60}{117.20}$ \$ $\frac{187.52}{351.60}$ \$ $\frac{586.00}{1.172.00}$	\$5.50 per 1,000 gallons over the minimum

***Gallonage Charge: Gallonage charge of \$5.50 per 1,000 gallons includes North Harris County Regional Water Authority's ground water fee surcharge of \$4.00 per 1,000 gallons. (Tariff Control No. 48220)

FORM OF PAYMENT: The utility will accept the following forms of payment:

Check X, Money Order X, Credit Card X, Other (specify) THE UTILITY MAY REQUIRE EXACT CHANGE FOR PAYMENTS AND MAY REFUSE TO ACCEPT PAYMENTS MADE USING MORE I'HAN \$1.00 IN SMALL COINS. A WRITTEN RECEIPT WILL BE GIVEN FOR CASH PAYMENTS.

Phone Payment Fee*: A fee of five percent (5%) of the amount paid will be charged for all phone payments.

PUC RULES REQUIRE THE UTILITY TO COLLECT A FEE OF ONE PERCENT OF THE RETAIL MONTHLY BILL.

Section 1.02 - Miscellaneous Fees

TAP FEE COVERS THE UHLITY'S COSTS FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR TO INSTALL A STANDARD RESIDENTIAL CONNECTION. AN ADDITIONAL FEE TO COVER UNIQUE COSTS IS PERMITTED IF LISTED ON THIS TARIFF

THE TAP FEE IS BASED ON THE AVERAGE OF THE UTILITY'S ACTUAL COST FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR FOR NON-RESIDENTIAL CUSTOMERS

RECONNECTION FEE

THE RECONNECT FEE MUST BE PAID BEFORE SERVICE CAN BE RESTORED TO A CUSTOMER WHO HAS BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS (OR OTHER REASONS LISTED UNDER SECTION 2.0 OF THIS TARIFF).

a)	Nonpayment of bill (Maximum \$25.00)	<u>\$25.00</u>
h)	Customer's request that service be disconnected	\$50.00

J & S Water Company, L.L.C

Arbor Oaks, Five Oaks, Maple Leaf MH,

Oakland Village, & Windfern Meadows

(Utility Name)

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (Continued)

TRANSFER FEE \$50.00
THE TRANSFER FEE WILL BE CHARGED FOR CHANGING AN ACCOUNT NAME AT THE SAME SERVICE LOCATION WHEN THE SERVICE IS NOT DISCONNECTED.
LATE CHARGE (EITHER \$5.00 OR 10% OF THE BILL)
RETURNED CHECK CHARGE
CUSTOMER DEPOSIT RESIDENTIAL (Maximum \$50)
NON-RESIDENTIAL CUSTOMER DEPOSIT 1/6 TH of estimate annual billing
METER TEST FEE
METER CONVERSION FEE

PASS THROUGH ADJUSTMENT CLAUSE:

The utility may pass on only to those customers served by a system subject to the jurisdiction of the North Harris County Regional Water Authority (NHCRWA) or systems receiving purchased water from the City of Houston Groundwater Reduction Plan (COH GRO), any increase or decrease in its underground water district pumpage fee or purchased water fee, thirty (30) days after noticing of any change to all effected customers and filing notice with the PUC as required by 16 TAC 24.21 (h). The change per customer shall be calculated as follows:

AG = G / 1 - L

Where:

AG = adjusted gallonage charge, rounded to nearest one cent

G = new gallonage charge (per 1.000 gallons)

L = line loss for the preceding 12 months, not to exceed 15%

 $(A \times B) / C + L [A \times B) / C] = increase or decrease to existing gallonage rate$

Where:

A = Utility's annualized change in cost of water subjected to district's fee

B = Average number of gallons

C = 1,000 gallons

L = Percentage system wide line loss for the preceding 12 months, not to exceed 15%

Tariff Control No. 48220

SECTION 10 DATE SCHEDULE

	SECTION 1.0 RATE SCHEDULE			
Section 1.01 - Rates Meter Size	Monthly Minimum Charge	Callana a Claus		
Metel Size	Monthly Minimum Charge	Gallonage Charge		
5/8" or 3/4" 1" 1½" 2" 3" 4"	\$23.44 (per connection for all water meter sizes) \$58.60 \$117.20 \$187.52 \$351.60 \$586.00	\$1.50 ***per 1,000 gallons over the minimum		
6``	\$1.172.00			
O	Φ <u>1.172.00</u>			
FORM OF PAYMENT: The utility will accept the following forms of payment: Cash X, Check X, Money Order X, Credit Card X, Other (specify) THE UTILITY MAY REQUIRE EXACT CHANGE FOR PAYMENTS AND MAY REFUSE TO ACCEPT PAYMENTS MADE USING MORE THAN \$1.00 IN SMALL COINS A WRITTEN RECEIPT WILL BE GIVEN FOR CASH PAYMENTS. Phone Payment Fee*: A fee of five percent (5%) of the amount paid will be charged for all phone payments.				
REGULATORY ASS PUC RULES REC BILL	SESSMENTQUIRE THE UTILITY TO COLLECT A FEE OF ONE PER			
Section 1.02 - Miscel	laneous Fees			
TABEE		¢<00.00		
TAP FEE COVE	RS THE UTILITY'S COSTS FOR MATERIALS AND LA ONNECTION AN ADDITIONAL FEE TO COVER UNIQU	ABOR TO INSTALL A STANDARD		
NON-RESIDENTIAL	L TAP FEE	Actual Cost		
THE TAP FEE IS	B BASED ON THE AVERAGE OF THE UTILITY'S ACT N-RESIDENTIAL CUSTOMERS.			
RECONNECTION F	FF			
THE RECONNEC BEEN DISCONN 2.0 OF THIS TAR	T FEE MUST BE PAID BEFORE SERVICE CAN BE REST ECTED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS (OR OTHER R IFF)	EASONS LISTED UNDER SECTION		
	ent of bill (Maximum \$25.00)			
b) Customer'	s request that service be disconnected	<u>\$50.00</u>		
TRANSFER FEE		\$50.00		
THE ΓRANSFER	FEE WILL BE CHARGED FOR CHANGING AN ACCOU			

LOCATION WHEN THE SERVICE IS NOT DISCONNECTED.

(Utility Name)

SECTION 1.0 -- RATE SCHEDULE (Continued)

LATE CHARGE (EITHER \$5.00 OR 10% OF THE BILL)
RETURNED CHECK CHARGE\$30.00 RETURNED CHECK CHARGES MUST BE BASED ON THE UTILITY'S DOCUMENTABLE COST
CUSTOMER DEPOSIT RESIDENTIAL (Maximum \$50)
NON-RESIDENTIAL CUSTOMER DEPOSIT 1/6 ^{fH} of estimate annual billing
METER TEST FEE
METER CONVERSION FEE

PASS THROUGH ADJUSTMENT CLAUSE:

The utility may pass on only to those customers served by a system subject to the jurisdiction of the North Harris County Regional Water Authority (NHCRWA) or systems receiving purchased water from the City of Houston Groundwater Reduction Plan (COH GRO), any increase or decrease in its underground water district pumpage fee or purchased water fee, thirty (30) days after noticing of any change to all effected customers and filing notice with the PUC as required by 16 TAC 24.21 (h). The change per customer shall be calculated as follows:

 $(A \times B) / C + L [A \times B) / C] = increase or decrease to existing gallonage rate$

Where:

A = Utility's annualized change in cost of water subjected to district's fee

B = Average number of gallons

C = 1,000 gallons

L = Percentage system wide line loss for the preceding 12 months, not to exceed 15%