

Control Number: 45570



Item Number: 308

Addendum StartPage: 0



Mr. Faulk's Direct Line: (512) 322-5817 Email: cfaulk@lglawfirm.com

RECEIVED

816 Congress Avenue, Suite 1900 Austin, Texas 78701 Telephone: (512) 322-5800

Facsimile: (512) 472-0532

www.lglawfirm.com

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION FILING CLERK

2016 SEP -1 PH 2: 58

September 1, 2016

Naomi Hudgins Filing Clerk **Public Utility Commission** 1701 North Congress Avenue, Room 8-100 Austin, Texas 78711

Re:

PUC Docket No. 45570, SOAH Docket No. 473-16-2873.WS - Application of Monarch Utilities I, L.P. to Change Water and Sewer Rates/Tariff, CCN Nos. 12983 and 20899

Dear Ms. Hudgins:

In SOAH Order No. 4, in Docket No. 45570, Application of Monarch Utilities I, L.P. to Change Water and Sewer Rates/Tariff, CCN Nos. 12983 and 20899, the Administrative Law Judges set interim rates effective September 1, 2016 and ordered Monarch Utilities I, L.P. to file interim tariff pages with the Public Utility Commission's docket clerk. Accordingly, Monarch is providing the enclosed revised tariff pages for section one of its water and sewer tariffs effective September 1, 2016. Please file-stamp and return the extra copies to the courier delivering this filing.

Yours truly,

William A. Faulk, III Attorney for Applicant, Monarch Utilities I, L.P.

Attachment

3176/18/7178127

SECTION 1.0 - RATE SCHEDULE

Section 1.01 - Rates

Interim Rates Effective September 1, 2016

Meter	Monthly Minimum	. Gallonage Charge	
Size	Charge (Includes o		
1	gallons)		
5/8"	\$45.23		
3/4"	\$67.84	\$6.85 per 1,000 gallons from 0 to 2,000	
1"	, \$113.07	\$8.44 per 1,000 gallons 2,001 to 10,000	
1-1/2"	\$226.14	\$9.57 per 1,000 gallons 10,001 to 20,000	
2"	\$361.82	\$10.19 per 1,000 20,001 and thereafter	
3"	\$678.41	;	
4"	\$1,130.68		
6"	\$2,261.37		
. 8"	\$3,618.18		

FORM OF PAYMENT: THE UTILITY WILL ACCEPT THE FOLLOWING FORM(S) OF PAYMENT:

Cash X Check X, Money Order X, MasterCard X, Visa X, and Electronic Fund Transfer X

The Utility may require exact change for payments and may refuse to accept payment made using more than \$1.00 in small coins. A written receipt will be given for cash payments. At the customer's option, any billing transaction or communication may be performed on the internet. This includes the utility sending paperless bills by email.

^{*} Pursuant to SOAH Order No. 4, in Public Utility Commission Docket No. 45570, Application of Monarch Utilities I, L.P. to Change Water and Sewer Rates/Tariff, CCN Nos. 12983 and 20899, Monarch's current effective rates were set as Interim Rates effective September 1, 2016.

Section 1.02 - Miscellaneous Fees				
TAP FEE				
TAP FEE (unique costs permitted by PUC rule)				
LARGE METER TAP FEE				
RECONNECTION FEE THE RECONNECT FEE WILL BE CHARGED BEFORE SERVICE CAN BE RESTORED TO A CUSTOMER WHO HAS BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS:				
a) Non-payment of bill				
TRANSFER FEE\$45.00 The transfer fee will be charged for changing an account name at the same service location when the service is not disconnected.				
LATE CHARGE				
RETURNED CHECK CHARGE \$25.00				
CUSTOMER DEPOSIT – RESIDENTIAL\$50.00				
CUSTOMER DEPOSIT – NON-RESIDENTIAL1/6TH EST. ANNUAL BILL				
METER TEST FEE (actual cost of testing the meter up to)				

SEASONAL RECONNECTION FEE

Base rate for meter size times number of months off the system not to exceed six months when leave and return within a twelve-month period.

METER RELOCATION FEE <u>Actual cost to relocate that meter</u>
This fee may be charged if a customer requests relocation of an existing meter.

LINE EXTENSION AND CONSTRUCTION CHARGES:

Refer to Section 2.12 Specific Utility Service Rules and Section 3.02 Utility Specific Extension Policy for terms, conditions, and charges.

GOVERNMENTAL TESTING, INSPECTION AND COSTS SURCHARGE CLAUSE:

Increases in inspection fees and water testing costs imposed by state or federal law may be passed through as an adjustment to the monthly base rate charge under the terms and conditions of 30 TAC 291.21(k)(2) after notice to customers and upon written approval by the PUC.

SUPPLEMENTAL EMERGENCY SERVICE FEE

Applicable to nonresidential water service customers that require supplemental service over and above their existing water service from time to time. Usage to be determined by customer. The minimum diameter for supplemental service meter shall be 2 inches.

PURCHASED WATER AND/OR DISTRICT FEE PASS THROUGH CLAUSE – ALL WATER SUPPLY SUBJECT TO FEE:

Changes in fees imposed by any non-affiliated third party water supplier or underground water district having jurisdiction over the Utility shall be passed through utility-wide as an adjustment to the water gallonage charge according to the following formula:

AG = G + B/(1-L), where

AG = adjusted gallonage charge, rounded to the nearest one cent:

approved gallonage charge (per 1,000 gallons);

change (per 1,000 gallons) due to purchased water/district gallonage changes; and

L = system average line loss for preceding 12 months not to exceed 0.15.

PURCHASED WATER AND/OR DISTRICT FEE PASS THROUGH CLAUSE – PORTION OF WATER SUPPLY SUBJECT TO FEE:

Upon notice from a water supplier of either an increase or decrease in the cost of purchased water, the Utility shall provide notice to customers and the Commission of its intent to implement rates imposed by any non-affiliated third party water supplier or underground water district having jurisdiction over the Utility shall be passed through Utility-wide as an adjustment to the water gallonage charge according to the following formula:

Adjustment to the gallonage rate = AG = (CP/GB) x 1,000 Adjustment to the minimum bill = AMB = GMB x AG

CP = CP1 - CP0 = change in cost of purchased water;

CP1 = Cost of purchased water during the most recent 12 month period at the new rate:

CPo = Cost of purchased water during the most recent 12 month period at the previous rate;

GMB = Number of gallons in the minimum bill, divided by 1,000; and

GB = Number of gallons billed to customers in excess of the amount included in the monthly minimum bill for the 12 month period

used above.

TEMPORARY WATER RATE:

Unless otherwise superseded by PUC order or rule, if the Utility is ordered by a court or governmental body of competent jurisdiction to reduce its pumpage, production or water sales, the Utility shall be authorized to increase its approved gallonage charge according to the formula:

TGC = cgc + (prr)(cgc)(r)
(1.0-r)

Where:

TGC = temporary gallonage charge;
cgc = current gallonage charge;
r = water use reduction expressed as a decimal fraction (the pumping restriction); and
prr = percentage of revenues to be recovered expressed as a decimal fraction. For this tariff, prr shall equal 0.5.

To implement the Temporary Water Rate, the Utility must comply with all notice and other requirements of 30 TAC 291.21(1).

METER TAMPERING, DAMAGE OR SERVICE DIVERSION PENALTY:

One time penalty per occurrence for tampering with or damaging a water meter or any appurtenance thereto including locks and meter boxes or service diversion of one hundred dollars (\$100.00).

FRANCHISE FEE PASS THROUGH CLAUSE:

Charges a municipality makes for use of streets and alleys pursuant to Tax Code §182.025 or other applicable state law not to exceed 2% or the actual amount charged by the municipality shall be passed through utility-wide as an adjustment to the water gallonage charge according to the following formula:

AG = G + B, where,

AG = adjusted gallonage charge, rounded to the nearest one cent;

G = approved gallonage charge (per 1,000 gallons); and
B = projected franchise fees payable (per 1,000 gallons).

SECTION 1.0 - RATE SCHEDULE

Section 1.01 - Rates

Interim Rates Effective September 1, 2016*

METER, SIZE	MONTHLY MINIMUM RATE	GALLONAGE . CHARGE
5/8"	\$67.80	
3/4"	° \$101.71	
1"	\$169.51	
1 1/2"	\$339.02	\$2:38 per 1,000 gallons
2"	\$542.44	
3"	\$1,017.07	ganons ,
4"	\$1,695.12	•
6"	\$3,390.25	
8"	\$5,424.39	·

Residential sewer service will be billed year round using that service connection's average winter water consumption during December, January and February. Single family residential service connections without a historic average will have an imputed average of 5,000 gallons until they have established an average. A new single family residential customer may request a true-up based on their first actual winter average for the months that an imputed average was applied. Such request must be made within 60 days of the billing date of the customer's first bill with their actual winter average. Multi-family residential service connections without a historic winter average will have an imputed average of 5,000 gallons per residential unit until they have established an average.

Non-residential service connections will be billed on actual monthly water consumption without the use of winter averaging.

^{*} Pursuant to SOAH Order No. 4, in Public Utility Commission Docket No. 45570, Application of Monarch Utilities I, L.P. to Change Water and Sewer Rates/Tariff, CCN Nos. 12983 and 20899, Monarch's current effective rates were set as Interim Rates effective September 1, 2016.

FORM OF PAYMENT: The utility will accept the following forms of payment: Cash X, Check X, Money Order X, MasterCard X, Visa X, Electronic Fund Transfer X THE UTILITY MAY REQUIRE EXACT CHANGE FOR PAYMENTS AND MAY REFUSE TO ACCEPT PAYMENTS MADE USING MORE THAN \$1.00 IN SMALL COINS. A WRITTEN. RECEIPT WILL BE GIVEN FOR CASH PAYMENTS. AT THE CUSTOMER'S OPTION, ANY BILLING TRANSACTION OR COMMUNICATION MAY BE PERFORMED ON THE INTERNET. THIS INCLUDES THE UTILITY SENDING PAPERLESS BILLS BY EMAIL.
REGULATORY ASSESSMENT
Section 1.02 – Miscellaneous Fees
TAP FEE (Gravity sewer, street or easement installation)
TAP FEE (Pressure sewer, non-rock installation)
TAP FEE (Pressure sewer, rock installation) \$3,776.00 TAP FEE IS BASED ON THE AVERAGE OF THE UTILITY'S ACTUAL COST FOR MATERIALS AND LABOR FOR STANDARD RESIDENTIAL CONNECTION PLUS UNIQUE COSTS AS PERMITTED BY PUC RULE AT COST.
TAP FEE (Large Connection Tap)
ACCOUNT SET UP FEE\$25.00 FEE TO SET UP ACCOUNT FOR NEW CUSTOMER APPLYING FOR SEWER SERVICE ONLY.
RECONNECTION FEE THE RECONNECT FEE WILL BE CHARGED BEFORE SERVICE CAN BE RESTORED TO A CUSTOMER WHO HAS BEEN DISCONNECTED FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS: a) Non-payment of bill (Maximum\$25.00)\$25.00 b) Customer's request\$50.00 or other reasons listed under section 2.0 of this tariff.
TRANSFER FEE\$45.00 THE TRANSFER FEE WILL BE CHARGED FOR CHANGING AN ACCOUNT NAME AT THE SAME SERVICE LOCATION WHEN THE SERVICE IS NOT DISCONNECTED.
LATE CHARGE
RETURNED CHECK CHARGE \$25.00
CUSTOMER DEPOSIT RESIDENTIAL (Maximum \$50)\$50.00

COMMERCIAL AND NON-RESIDENTIAL DEPOSIT...... 1/6TH ESTIMATED ANNUAL BILL

SERVICE RELOCATION FEEActual cost to relocate that service connection THIS FEE MAY BE CHARGED IF A CUSTOMER REQUESTS RELOCATION OF AN EXISTING SERVICE CONNECTION.

SEASONAL RECONNECTION FEE:

BASE RATE TIMES NUMBER OF MONTHS OFF THE SYSTEM NOT TO EXCEED SIX MONTHS WHEN LEAVE AND RETURN WITHIN A TWELVE MONTH PERIOD.

LINE EXTENSION AND CONSTRUCTION CHARGES:

REFER TO SÈCTION 2.12 SPECIFIC UTILITY SERVICE RULES AND SECTION 3.02 UTILITY SPECIFIC EXTENSION POLICY FOR TERMS, CONDITIONS, AND CHARGES.

GOVERNMENTAL TESTING, INSPECTION AND COSTS SURCHARGE CLAUSE: INCREASE IN INSPECTION FEES AND WATER TESTING COSTS IMPOSED BY STATE OR FEDERAL LAW MAY BE PASSED THROUGH AS AN ADJUSTMENT TO THE MONTHLY BASE RATE CHARGE UNDER THE TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF 30 TAC 291.21(k)(2) AFTER NOTICE TO CUSTOMERS AND UPON WRITTEN APPROVAL BY THE PUC.

FRANCHISE FEE PASS THROUGH CLAUSE:

Charges a municipality makes for use of streets and alleys pursuant to tax code §182.025 or other applicable state law not to exceed 2% or the actual amount charged by the municipality shall be passed through utility-wide as an adjustment to the sewer gallonage charge according to the following formula:

$$AG = G + B$$

Where:

AG = adjusted gallonage charge, rounded to the nearest one cent:

G = approved gallonage charge (per 1,000 gallons) and

B = projected franchise fees payable (per 1,000 gallons).

PURCHASED SEWER PASS THROUGH CLAUSE:

Changes in fees imposed by any non-affiliated third party wholesale sewer service provider shall be passed through utility-wide as an adjustment to the sewer gallonage charge according to the following formula:

$$AG = G + B$$

* Where:

AG = adjusted gallonage charge, rounded to the nearest one cent:

G = approved gallonage charge (per 1,000 gallons) and

B = change in purchased sewer service gallonage charge (per 1,000 gallons).