
Control Number : 45538

Item Number: 2

Addendum StartPage : 0



DOCKET NO. 45538

APPLICATION OF MEDALLION § PUBLIC UTILITY Cft '9NP,,, 12: 37
TELECOM FOR A SERVICE §
PROVIDER CERTIFICATE OF § OF TEXA^' ^LIT,! r` ^ ,PSS,^p1
OPERATING AUTHORITY § ^fL^1i

^
^ GLE^^K

ORDER NO. 1
SETTING PROCEDURAL SCHEDULE, ESTABLISHING PROCEDURES,

AND ISSUING A PROTECTIVE ORDER

On January 22, 2015, Medallion Telecom filed an application under PURAI

§§ 54.151-54.156 for approval of a service provider certificate of operating authority (SPCOA)

to provide resale telecommunications services throughout the State of Texas.

1. Procedural Schedule

Under PURA § 54.155, the Public Utility Commission of Texas (Commission) must

grant or deny a certificate within 60 days after the filing of the application, except that the

Commission may extend the 60-day period for good cause. Accordingly, the following

procedural schedule shall apply in this docket:

Filing date 01-22-16
Commission Staffs recommendation on eligibility and Applicant's requested name 01-29-16
Commission order certifying eligibility and Applicant's requested name 02-01-16
Applicant's response to recommendation on eligibility & name resolution, if needed 02-02-16
Texas Register publication 02-05-16
Commission Staff's recommendation on deficiencies/completeness 02-05-16
Commission Order on deficiencies/completeness 02-11-16
Intervention and comment deadline 02-12-16
Commission Staffs final recommendation 02-19-16
Deadline to request a hearing 02-19-16
Order approving or denying application 03-22-16
Day 60 03-22-16

II. Procedures

The Commission's procedural rules apply in this docket, unless otherwise specified. The

Commission's rules are available at: www.puc.texas.gov.

' Public Utility Regulatory Act, Tex. Util. Code §§ 11.001-66.016 (West 2007 & Supp. 2015) (PURA).
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A. Filing

All pleadings must state the docket number assigned to this proceeding. Parties shall file

seven (7) copies of all pleadings. All documents must be filed by 3:00 p.m. on the date due

unless otherwise ordered. Responses to any motion or other pleading shall be filed within three

(3) working days after the filing of the motion or other pleading.

B. Service

A copy of documents filed with the Commission must be served on all parties according

to 16 Tex. Admin. Code § 22.74 (TAC). The Commission will send documents to a party by first

class mail unless the party requests express delivery and provides an express delivery account

number. Parties should contact Ms. Keva Roundtree-Williams at (512) 936-7249 to arrange

express delivery. The Commission will only send documents to one address per party. Any

corrections to the Commission's service list should be directed to Ms. Williams. The following

presumptions reading the time of receipt shall apply unless the presiding officer is notified of the

actual time of receipt:

Service Method Presumed Time of Receipt

In person or by agent Date of filing

Courier receipted delivery No later than the day after filing

Fax by 3:00 p.m. on a working day Same day

Fax on a non-working day or after 3:00 p.m. on a working day Next working day

Regular mail, certified mail, or registered mail Within three days after filing

C. Extensions of Time for Filing

In addition to complying with 16 TAC § 22.4(b), motions for extension of time to file a

document shall propose a new date or dates and shall state whether the parties agree to the new

date or dates. If the requested extension requires an extension of the 60-day period in this

docket, the motion shall indicate this and state good cause for extending the 60-day period.

D. Discovery

Parties may obtain formal discovery only through oral depositions. The parties may

informally request information, but the Commission will not resolve any disputes regarding

informal discovery.
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E. Ex Parte Communications

Ex parte communications with the administrative law judge are prohibited. Parties

should communicate with the administrative law judge only through written documents filed

with the Commission's Filing Clerk and served on all parties.

III. Protective Order

Should the need for a protective order become necessary in this proceeding, a request

shall be filed not later than February 1, 2016.

C(A
SIGNED AT AUSTIN, TEXAS the day of January 2016.

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS

SUSAN E. GOODSON
ADMINISTRATIVE LAW JUDGE
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