

Control Number: 44849



Item Number: 29

Addendum StartPage: 0

DOCKET NO. 44849

§

§ §



APPLICATION OF VM NEIGHBORS WATER GROUP FOR EXEMPT UTILITY REGISTRATION PUBLIC UTIPIEX COMMISSION

OFTEXAS CLERK

JOINT CORRECTIONS TO THE PROPOSED ORDER

COMES NOW the Staff of the Public Utility Commission of Texas (Staff), representing the public interest, together with VM Neighbors Water Group (VM Neighbors) (collectively, the Parties) and files these Joint Corrections to the Proposed Order. In support thereof, the Parties show the following:

I. BACKGROUND

On February 28, 2018, the Administrative Law Judge issued a Proposed Order to be considered at the March 29, 2018 open meeting, and directed parties to file corrections or exceptions to the proposed order on or before March 21, 2018. Therefore, this pleading is timely filed.

II. PROPOSED CORRECTIONS

On November 1, 2017, Staff filed a final recommendation in this matter and attached a proposed tariff. VM Neighbors requested changes to that tariff, and after conferring with Staff, the Parties filed an agreed revised tariff. This agreed revised tariff was intended by the Parties to replace any previous version of VM Neighbors' exempt utility tariff. In reviewing the tariff attached to the Proposed Order, it appears that the tariff attached to Staff's final recommendation was used instead of the Parties' agreed revised tariff. The tariff attached to the Proposed Order further differs from both previously filed tariff versions, as it assigns VM Neighbors the Exempt Utility Registration Number of N0076, instead of N0075 as assigned by Staff.³ The Parties respectfully request that the agreed revised tariff filed be used in place of the tariff currently

29

Page 1 of 2

¹ Commission Staff's Final Recommendation (Nov. 1, 2017).

² Supplemental Response and Agreed Revised Tariff (Dec. 13, 2017).

³ Proposed Order at 0008 (Feb. 28, 2018).

attached to the Proposed Order. Parties have attached a copy of the agreed revised tariff that they request be adopted as Attachment A to this pleading.

III. CONCLUSION

Parties respectfully request that the Commission adopt the tariff attached to this pleading as Attachment A

Dated: November 1, 2017

Respectfully Submitted,

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS LEGAL DIVISION

Margaret Uhlig Pemberton Division Director

Karen S. Hubbard

Managing Attorney

Erika N. Garcia

State Bar No. 24092077

1701 N. Congress Avenue

P.O. Box 13326

Austin, Texas 78711-3326

(512) 936-7290

(512) 936-7268 (facsimile)

Erika.garcia@puc.texas.gov

DOCKET NO. 44849 CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of this document will be served on all parties of record on November

1, 2017 in accordance with 16 TAC § 22.74.

Erika N. Garcia

ATTACHMENT A



EXEMPT UTILITY WATER TARIFF FORM Docket No. 44849

Exempt Registration No. N0075

VM Neighbors Water Group (Water System Name)		(254)576-1941 and (254)576-1314 (Phone Number)		
406 NE 6 th St. (Utility Address)		Hubbard, Texas 76648 (City, State, Zip Code)		
Rate Schedule 5/8" or 3/4" 1" 11/2" 2"	Monthly Minimum Charge \$25.00 (Includes 0 gallons) \$150.00 (Includes 0 gallons) \$200.00 \$300.00	Sallonage Charge \$3.00 per 1,000 gallons up to 8,000 gallons \$4.00 per 1,000 gallons, 8,001 to 15,000 gallons \$4.75 per 1,000 gallons thereafter		
FORM OF PAYMENT: The utility will accept the following forms of payment: Cash, Check X , Money Order X , Credit Card , Other (specify) THE UTILITY MAY REQUIRE EXACT CHANGE FOR PAYMENTS AND MAY REFUSE TO ACCEPT PAYMENTS MADE USING MORE THAN \$1.00 IN SMALL COINS. A WRITTEN RECEIPT WILL BE GIVEN FOR CASH PAYMENTS.				
A REGULATORY ASSESS	ENTONE PERCENT O ECTED FROM EACH RETAIL CUSTON			
TAP FEE COVERS TH	E UTILITY'S COSTS FOR MATER	IALS AND LABOR TO INSTALL A STANDARD COVER UNIQUE COSTS IS PERMITTED IF LISTED		
OTHER EXTENSION FEE	S	\$ <u>0.00</u>		
BEEN DISCONNECTED F a) Non-payment of b) Customer's reque	FOR THE FOLLOWING REASONS: bill (not to exceed \$25 without est	justification)		
	BE CHARGED FOR CHANGING AN A	\$35.00 CCOUNT NAME AT THE SAME SERVICE LOCATION		

RATE SCHEDULE (Continued)

LATE CHARGE\$5.00 FOR BILL NOT RECEIVED BY DUE DATE. (SELECT EITHER \$5.00 OR 10%).	0
RETURNED CHECK CHARGE \$25.0	
CUSTOMER DEPOSIT <u>\$0.0</u>	0
METER TEST FEE (Not to exceed \$25)	<u>)()</u>
METER RELOCATION FEE	

The attached Service Rules are part of this tariff.

CUSTOMER NOTICE: THIS UTILITY SERVICE PROVIDER IS EXEMPT FROM MANY OF THE REQUIREMENTS FOR UTILITIES, BUT IT STILL MUST COMPLY WITH THESE SERVICE RULES. THE COMMISSION WILL NOT REVIEW RATE CHANGES UNLESS PROTESTED BY AT LEAST 50% OF THE CUSTOMERS WITHIN 90 DAYS AFTER THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE RATE CHANGE.

REQUIRED SERVICE RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR EXEMPT UTILITIES

<u>Rate Changes</u> - Rates can be changed no more than once per year without the approval of the Commission. Customers will be given a notice of rate change which states the effective date of the rate change, the old rates, the new rates, the Commission's address and a statement that written protests can be submitted to the Commission.

Application for and Provision of Water Service

All new applicants will be given a copy of this Exempt Utility Tariff.

Where service has been disconnected for nonpayment of a bill, service will be reconnected within one working day after the customer has met the requirements for reconnection.

The customer will be responsible for furnishing and laying the necessary customer service line from the utility's point of connection on the customer's property to the place of consumption. Customers may be required to install a customer owned cut-off valve on the customer's side of the meter or connection.

Refusal of Service

This exempt utility is <u>not required</u> to have a designated service area and is <u>not obligated</u> to serve every applicant for service but is required to provide service in a nondiscriminatory manner.

Customer Deposits

Refund of deposit - If service is not connected, or after permanent disconnection of service to a customer, the utility will promptly refund, within 30 days, the customer's deposit or the balance, if any, in excess of the unpaid bills for service furnished.

Every service applicant who has previously been a customer of the utility and whose service has been discontinued for nonpayment of bills, meter tampering, bypassing of meter or failure to comply with applicable state and municipal regulations or regulations of the utility shall be required, before service is resumed, to pay all amounts due the utility or execute a deferred payment agreement, if offered, and may be required to pay a deposit if the utility does not currently have a deposit from the customer. The burden shall be on the utility to prove the amount of utility service received but not paid for and the reasonableness of any charges for such unpaid service, as well as all other elements of any bill required to be paid as a condition of service restoration.

Meter Requirements, Readings, and Testing

One meter or connection may be required for each customer. The exempt utility will, upon the request of a customer, and, if the customer so desires, in his or her presence or in that of his or her authorized representative, make a test of the accuracy of the customer's meter. The test may be made using a container of known volume.

A meter test will cost \$25.00. Following the completion of any requested test, the utility will promptly advise the customer in writing of the results. If the meter is in error by more than 3% the meter should be replaced at the utility's expense. Meters will be read at (preferably monthly) intervals.

REQUIRED SERVICE RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR EXEMPT UTILITIES (Continued)

Billing

Bills from the utility will be mailed at intervals specified in the service agreement. The due date of bills for utility service will be at least sixteen (16) days from the date of issuance. The postmark on the bill or, if there is no postmark on the bill, the recorded date of mailing by the utility will constitute proof of the date of issuance. Payment for utility service is delinquent if full payment, including late fees, is not received at the designated payment location by 5:00 p.m. on the due date. If the due date falls on a holiday or weekend, the due date for payment purposes will be the next work day after the due date.

<u>Late Fee</u> - A late penalty may be charged (if listed on the tariff) on bills received after the due date. The utility must maintain a record of the date of mailing to charge the late penalty.

Each bill will provide at least the following: The total amount due for water service, the due date of the bill and a telephone number (or numbers) for customers to call if they have questions.

Metered Service

If service is metered the bill must also state the date and reading of the meter at the beginning and end of the period for which the bill is rendered, and the numbers of gallons consumed.

Service Disconnection and Disputed Bills

If a customer or applicant for service files a complaint about all or a portion of the bill, the utility will promptly investigate the matter and advise the complainant of the results. Service may not be disconnected pending completion of the investigation. If the complainant is dissatisfied with the utility's response, the utility must advise the complainant that he/she has recourse through the Public Utility Commission of Texas complaint process. Pending resolution of a complaint, the Commission may require continuation or restoration of service.

The utility will maintain a record of all complaints which shows the name and address of the complainant, the date and nature of the complaint and the adjustment or disposition thereof, for a period of two years after the final settlement of the complaint.

The exempt utility is encouraged, <u>but not required</u>, to offer a deferred payment plan to a customer who cannot pay an outstanding bill in full and is willing to pay the balance in reasonable installments. However, a customer's utility service may be disconnected if a bill has not been paid or a deferred payment agreement entered into within 26 days from the date of issuance of a bill and if proper notice of disconnection has been given.

Notice of disconnection must be a separate mailing or hand delivery.

Utility service may also be disconnected without notice if an imminent hazard to the utility system exists.

The utility is required to reconnect service after a customer who has been disconnected for nonpayment pays a delinquent bill and any other applicable fees in accordance with this tariff and any applicable service agreement. The utility may permanently disconnect service to an existing customer only if authorized to in writing by the Commission after notice has been issued.

REQUIRED SERVICE RULES AND REGULATIONS FOR EXEMPT UTILITIES (Continued)

Reconnection of Service

Service will be reconnected within 24 hours, unless otherwise stated on the service agreement, after the past due bill, reconnection fee and any other outstanding charges are paid or correction of the conditions which caused service to be disconnected

A reconnection fee will be applied to the customer's account for reconnection of service. Payment of all service charges and fees must be received by 5:00 pm of the regularly scheduled work day in order to have water service reconnected that day. When service has been disconnected for nonpayment of a bill, service will be reconnected within one working day after the customer has met the requirements for reconnection, including paying the past-due bill, reconnection fee, and any other outstanding charges.

Service Interruptions

The utility will make all reasonable efforts to prevent interruptions of service. If interruptions occur, the utility will re-establish service within the shortest possible time.

Ouality of Service

The utility will provide properly treated and disinfected water and facilities with sufficient pressure and capacity for reasonable consumer uses unless otherwise stated on the service agreement.

Standard Extension Requirements

All practices and policies related to the extension of service to new applicants or restoration of service must be reasonable and nondiscriminatory.

Specific Utility Rules (May not conflict with Commission required Rules. Attach additional pages if needed.)

WATER SERVICE APPLICATION	N/AGREEMENT Date:			
Exempt Utility Name Business Address Street City, State, Zip (AC) Telephone	VM Neighbors Water Group 406 NE 6 th St. Hubbard, TX 76648 (254)576-1941			
APPLICATION FOR WATER SERVICE				
Name of Applicant/Customer: Service Location: Billing Address: City, State, Zip:				
Check Applicable Items: Residential Commercial	OwnerTenant			
The Exempt Utility agrees to sell and deliver water to the Applicant/Customer and the Applicant/Customer agrees to purchase and receive water from the Utility in accordance with the rules and regulations required by the Public Utility Commission of Texas which are included in its Exempt Utility Tariff and any other rules or requirements contained in this agreement.				
It is the responsibility of the Applicant/Customer to notify the utility of any change of ownership, change of use, or change of billing address. For the Applicant/Customer's protection in case of emergencies, Applicant/Customer shall ensure that the utility has phone numbers on file to reach the Applicant/Customer if the Applicant/Customer is to be unavailable for any length of time.				
Water will be disinfected. The Applicant/Customer acknowledges that the utility does not treat or disinfect the water, and the water quality is represented on the attached water quality report. The Applicant/Customer agrees that any additional water testing the Applicant/Customer desires will be at his or her expense.				
Water will will not be measured by meters which are furnished, installed, owned and maintained by the Utility. The meter and/or connection is for the sole use of the Applicant/Customer to serve water to one dwelling, business or property. The Applicant/Customer shall not share, resell, or submeter water to any other dwelling, business, property, etc., without the specific written authorization of the Utility and in compliance with applicable laws and regulations.				
meter to the utility's water main on to to both the Utility and the Applic reasonable times to its property ar limited purposes of reading the wat of the Applicant/Customer's facility	water service meter/connection and the pipe necessary to connect the the property of the Applicant/Customer at a point mutually agreeable cant. The Applicant/Customer will allow the Utility access at all and equipment located upon Applicant/Customer's premises for the ter meter, repairing or replacing existing facilities and the inspection ies to check for illegal connections or unsafe plumbing practices or with the requirements of the Texas Commission on Environmental or Public Water Systems."			
to the Applicant's point of use wh	l, at his own expense, a service line from the water meter/connection nich includes/does not include a cutoff valve on the ter/connection. The Applicant/Customer will be responsible for			

maintenance and repair of the Applicant/Customer's service line. The Applicant/Customer shall hold the Utility harmless from any and all claims or demands for damage to real or personal property occurring from the point the Applicant/Customer ties on the water meter/connection to the final destination of the line installed by Applicant/Customer.

The Applicant/Customer agrees to grant to the Utility an easement/right-of-way for the purpose of installing, maintaining and operating such pipe lines, meters, valves, and any other equipment which may be deemed necessary for the provision of Utility service to that Applicant/Customer. The Utility will attempt to restore the Applicant/Customer's property to its original condition after installation or repairs. This easement may be in such form as is required by the Utility. The Applicant/Customer agrees not to interfere with the Utility's employees in the discharge of their duties. The Applicant/Customer will not permit anyone except the Utility's employees to tamper with or interfere with any of the utility's equipment installed on the Applicant/Customer's premises.

The Applicant/Customer shall not operate the utility's meter shut-off located on the supply-side of the water meter. The Applicant/Customer will only use the shut-off valve on customer's side of the meter. The Applicant/Customer shall not attached any ground wire to any plumbing connected to the Utility's distribution system.

The Applicant/Customer shall not connect any other source to any water lines served by the Utility's public water supply system. Applicant/Customer shall disconnect from any other source of water prior to connecting to the Utility's system, and shall eliminate any present or future cross-connection in the Applicant/Customer's system.

Non-Standard Service

Will the Applicant/Customer's use of water place unique, non-stand or require any special facilities?	dard service demands upon the system
No Yes If yes, please describe.	
OTHER AGREEMENTS OR REQUIREMENTS FOR SERVICE	
The service applicant has been provided a copy of the utility's Exthe rates in the tariff and abide by the requirements in this service from most of the requirements for water utilities as long as service exempt Utility Tariff. The Commission will not review rate charge written protests from at least 50% of the customers within 90 change.	e agreement. This utility is exempted ce is provided in accordance with the anges by the utility unless it receives lays after the effective date of a rate
Applicant/Customer's Signature	Date//
\$ Tap Fee Collected	\$ Deposit Collected
Service will be connected at the service location on or about	, 20
	Date//
Utility Representative	